The Stuff Headaches are Made Of

There I was reclining happily in bed with my Darth Vader-masked spouse by my side and my trusty canine at my feet.  Life was good.  I was soaking up the latest Kellerman mystery, when I came upon a word that surprised me.  The author said something like this…”the apartment complex was shaped like a rhombus.”  I nudged the masked wonder next to me in the ribs and pointed to the word “rhombus” on my Kindle and said to him, “Huh?  What’s that?”  Devoted Spouse responded, “It’s a geometric shape.”  I said, “Hmmm, I thought it was a monkey.”  “No,” Devoted Spouse replied, “that’s a rhesus.”  “No, I said, “that’s a peanut butter/chocolate candy.”  This went on for awhile.  He put his CPAP mask back on and I was on my own again.

I used the little pointer thingy on my Kindle to space down to the word “rhombus” and the definition was “parallelogram.”  Well, now we’re talking.  I remember from 10th grade Geometry what a parallelogram is.  I read on.  I went back to the word “rhombus.”  I stopped reading and imagined in my odd little head a building shaped like a parallelogram.  It made no sense.  I leaned over the masked man and waving my arms to get his attention, I yelled, “This makes no sense!”  He un-masked and rolled his eyes.  I told him I understood a parallelogram.  “So a rhombus is a type of parallelogram?” I asked.  “I still don’t really get this.”   He got out of bed, walked around to my side, reached into the nightstand, got out paper and pen, and proceeded to draw a parallelogram for me.  “Aha!” I proclaimed.  “There’s no way on God’s green earth that an apartment building would look like that…it would fall over on itself.  What a stupid description!”

I returned to my reading knowing full well the apartment building in question looked exactly as I pictured it in my mind and not as the author described it.  Devoted Spouse masked up again, EmmaLou, Golden Destroyer put her head back down, and life was good…sigh…

9 thoughts on “The Stuff Headaches are Made Of

  1. What a hoot! I’m glad to see you are writing again. I so enjoy reading your blog. Hope you are well.
    It’s good to see you sweetie – Miss you from Twittah – I just don’t have time so I deactivated and I hang out at Facebook instead. I’ll come visit your blog soon! xo

  2. LMAO Spent about fifteen minutes today trying to get a spelling for rhetoric. The dictionary said it didn’t have a word spelled like that. Found out I was right. Wish I had a significant other to ask questions like that.
    stupid dictionaries – drive me nuts. Next time just send me a comment – we’ll straighten it out. lol thx for stopping by!

  3. But think of this. There is “rhomboid”. As far as I know, there’s no “parallelogramoid”.
    oy so is the plural of rhombus rhombi? lol 🙂

  4. Lovely interlude. Scene created perfectly. Loved this: “I leaned over the masked man and waving my arms to get his attention, I yelled…”. Enjoyed the read
    hi sweetie – nice to see you again – so glad you enjoyed!! ta

  5. LOL. The “shape” of things to come… Headaches! Love to read your blog, Honey!
    smoochies to you from me & EmmaLou!

  6. It sounds like you all were having a great time. I love how we can just click on a word and get the spelling or definition for them. Although sometimes I just like to get out the dictionary and actually look up a word or just search for a word that I am thinking about using. I even miss using a set of encyclopedia books. Sometimes a computer just doesn’t cut it. Just not the same feel as a book.

    Anyway glad to see you are all doing okay and having a fun time together. Just no headaches please. I seem to have spent almost this whole winter being sick. I just cannot seem to get over whatever I caught before Thanksgiving. I will start to feel better and then back to whatever ails me. It might mean I better get my flu shot next year. I handled those winters better. Oh well, such is life.

    Give EmmaLou a big hug for me and tell DS to keep on keeping on.

    God bless.
    hi sweetie – you and I both had a rotten winter 😦 Hope you’re soon feeling much better! And yes, take that flu shot! xo

  7. Hey C&B, I sure do miss you!
    Just last month my Mr6 had to learn geometry, and I learned the difference between a trapezoid and a rhombus. And yes, they are both parallograms. Try saying that 10 times real fast.
    hey Sis – I’m trying to get back into blogging but just have so much going on it’s hard to find the time. Ack. I think I once dated a trapezoid…no wait, that’s not right…nevermind. 🙂

  8. Ah, at least you made it to parallelogram!! I am not sure if I would have got as far as you questioning it!!, but I do have a spouse that would have been like yours to draw me a picture and look at me and remind me of how awful I was in any form of math!!
    Hi Frank! I don’t know what I would have done without Devoted Spouse getting me through my math classes at university – I am so math-phobic. He does all the calculations in the family and sometimes has to help me with recipes. It’s pitiful. But then, that’s what our significant others are for…to balance us out, right? xo

  9. LMAO #Trapezoid
    Yeah, I know how short we all are with time….no time to blog…I share your angst.
    It’s on my list to do better at blogging. I have to remember to read my list. ack lol

Leave a Reply

