Did Someone Mention New Year’s Resolutions?

Here’s hoping y’all had a fabulous Christmas, Hannukah, etc.  I admit to being glad this year is almost over.  I don’t know about you, but I truly love new beginnings…the idea of starting fresh is so, well, refreshing.  Unfortunately, the novelty wears off in a few days and all the nifty ideas I have fall by the wayside.

Wayside…reminds me of weigh-side which reminds me it’s time for New Year’s Resolutions.  I haven’t made any in a long time.  Resolutions rarely are kept and once I fall off the resolution bandwagon, I never climb back on to reach the goal I set.  Why?  Like anyone else, I set those goals entirely too high and high expectations are rarely met.  In other words, you set yourself (or myself, as the case may be) up for failure.

This year…no resolutions.  However, I am cogitating on a few goals that I’d like to achieve.  Nothing too lofty, like be the write-in candidate for the Republican Party.  (snicker, snicker)  The whole Cronie family is going to strive for a healthier lifestyle in 2012 — yes, that includes little chubby EmmaLou, Golden Destroyer.  Healthier Lifestyle is workable and doable.  Diet?  not so much.  Besides, we all know the world is going to be destroyed in December 2012 according to the Mayan calendar…so by October I figure we’ll be partying like it’s 1999.  no, wait, that’s not right..sigh…

7 thoughts on “Did Someone Mention New Year’s Resolutions?

  1. Linda, the world will NOT end December 2012 because I’m supposed to retire in 2014. WTH
    Maybe you better take an early retirement girlfriend LOL LOL snort

  2. Isn’t it funny how we once thought 1999 was soooooooo far away then it seemed like all of a sudden it was here. And then remember how everyone thought the end was going to come when all the computers clicked over to 2000. But we now know that the Mayan’s were the only ones who truly knew when the end was coming, oh well at least they knew when their end was coming. Are any of them still around?

    Anyway you know how I feel about resolutions, they suck. I never make any because I suck at keeping them. I think that if I ever made any, I think I never kept them. And I am not any better with goals. I think I can make short term goals that need to be completed in about 10 minutes but other than that I suck at them too. And if I did not have a DVR I would probably never even remember to watch my TV shows. Crap, I think my memory is going, uh what was I writing about again. Oh okay, I now remember after writing so much stuff. I wanted to tell you that I hope you all have a great year of healthy eating and that precious EmmaLou does not have to wear that dang cone thing again. But if she does I hope that this time you take some video of those tricks you play on her and share them with us. Watching those would certainly be a goal worth doing. I just love that dog for some reason, she is just too cute. I hope she enjoys her healthy eating more than we do sometimes.

    I just want to wish you all a Happy New Year!!!!

    God bless.

    PS…Can I join your campaign for writing you in as a candidate. I keep changing my mind every few weeks other than sticking with the “not Romney” and “not Obuyme” vote. So I have just jumped on the “Vote for Crone” bandwagon, can you please have your campaign manager contact me, I know a lot of other people who will also vote for you. Seriously, DS better be prepared to be the First Dude. We need to have a “first” First Dude in our history books.
    dahlink of course you can write me in – I couldn’t do any worse than anyone else in office LOL Happy New Year!!!

  3. Okay, drink a big glass of water, feel healthy doing it and call it a day. 🙂

    I love new beginnings too. Just think, you can look forward to each day as one and not stress so much about a resolution for a whole year.

    Happy new year, my blogging friend.
    hi sweetie – can you believe it…it’s the first day of the New Year and already I’m behind. ack cheers!

  4. I love new beginnings, too! I’m doing a little trick this year – I came up with New Year’s Resolutions disguised as goals – some easily attainable and others not so much. But this time around, I’m going to blog updates.

    That’s right, come September, I’m going to be updating my progress on my New Year’s Resolutions. You never hear anyone doing that – I haven’t, anyway. That’s the trick – keep yourself accountable for it.

    Well, we’ll see if it works.

    Happy New Year!!

    Vote Crone in 2012!
    yes being held accountable is what helps!! I like it! I also like Crone in 2012. rofl Happy New Year my friend!

  5. I love the idea of no New Years Resolutions! Expect more, better for ourselves …simple !
    simple works for me…so I’m shooting for remaining simple-minded…no wait that’s not what I mean…nevermind…sigh…

  6. I agree. I don’t have a resolution either! There’s a weird psychology that comes with new year resolutions. I can rarely take them seriously so I end choosing something outlandish and keep the reasonable ones for the remainder of the year. So this year I vowed to maintain my happiness. Not so much a resolution as a decision.
    I like what you did! Good idea and much less stress. Hope your year is a happy one!!

Leave a Reply

