It’s a Forest Gump Thang…

Was it Forest who quoted “mama says: stupid is as stupid does”?  Coz that was my day Thursday.  Stupid with a capital S.  If it wasn’t for the fact I was laughing so hard all day, I’d probably be curled up on the floor in the fetal position sucking my thumb.

I started stupid early; I woke up that way.  Then I spilled my coffee. Burned my hand.  Stupid.  While in work-mode, I noticed I  jotted down a meeting on my work calendar; actually, a mini-training.  Couldn’t locate back-up information, no email, no other notes or notices.  No clue where this originated and a sneaking suspicion it’s incorrect.  I had to email my boss  to ask her about it.  Great impression that made.  On-the-job-Stupid. 

Fixed Crock Pot chicken soup — felt the need for some soul food.  Had to make a Target run to pick up Devoted Spouse’s medicine.  When I came home guess what I found?  Un-huh…chicken soup alllllll over the counter.  Seems I put  an abnormally large chicken, assorted veggies and stock into a 6 quart Crock Pot when I should have used a larger Crock Pot.  Devoted Spouse stood there in the early a.m. watching me cut up onions and carrots and he heard me griping about the fact that the chicken was gonna be too large for the Crock Pot.  He said and I quote:  “There’s a huge hole in the inside of the chicken; use that to stuff the vegetables in and you’ll save space.”  I listened to him and his bright idea.   Top Chef  Stupid.  Chicken everywhere…

Fixed a quick lunch.  I sought solace in frozen pizza.  Dropped it on the family room floor coz the plate slipped out of my hand while I was trying to catch something somebody was saying on tv.  Not-Paying-Attention Stupid.  EmmaLou was in Major Snarf Mode and she got my lunch off that floor so fast I didn’t even need to use the Resolve on the carpet.  Unfortunately, about an hour later she yakked up my lunch on the same floor and that time I DID need the Resolve.  Dog Stupid.

Went on another errand — had a problem with my Smart Phone.  It ate one of my apps and I couldn’t get it back.  I walked in the phone store and approached this 20-something young man with arms full of colorful tattoos and a big smile. ( Wait…that didn’t come out right…HE had the arms full of colorful tattoos and a big smile – I had the Smart phone and a puzzled look.)   I told him my issue and he calmly re-loaded my app and showed me what to do if that happened again.  He spoke v-e-r-y slowly.  I wanted to slap the snot outta him for that.  Then he showed me another cool feature which I forgot by the time I got to my car and didn’t have the guts to go back inside and ask about.   Tech Stupid.

Afternoon meeting scheduled with one of my team members to go over a process I’m working on.  Up the stairs I ran to plug in the hot curlers and do something with these out-of-control tresses.  Picked up the hot curler container and promptly dropped it on the floor where it turned upside down, spilled out all the curlers and pins plus broke the plastic top.  Stupid and Clumsy.   Got half way to my meeting and had to call Devoted Spouse because I couldn’t remember if I had unplugged the hot curlers.  Runaway Stupid.

I know at one point in history people with leprosy had to announce loudly to the world ahead of, behind, and around their general area:  Unclean!  Unclean!  so people could get out of harm’s way.  Perhaps I need to walk around hollering Stupid!  Stupid Woman Comin’ Through!”  so it doesn’t rub off on anyone else…sigh…

7 thoughts on “It’s a Forest Gump Thang…

  1. I’ll bet you were glad when THAT day was over! Glad you were able to laugh about it. Maybe you got all the stupid out of your system for awhile, and the next week will be smooth sailing.
    yeah fortunately they don’t happen that often but when they do it’s just boom, boom, boom one thing after another and it’s hilarious. 😉

  2. I hate it when I have days like that! I look at it this way: I’m just getting all the dumb out of the way, so the rest of my week sails smoothly by. It doesn’t always work out that way, but I try to keep that glass half full!

    I hope the weekend is kinder to you!
    I like the glass half full too – that’s why I just keep laughing when I have those days! I look forward to a nice peaceful restful weekend! 😉

  3. Girl! Ya made me spit my coffee! Now I gotta clean that up and get another one! LOL! Take care my friend:D
    I’m in a straitjacket today so I do no further harm….lol snort

  4. Love this POST…SOUNDS like a day or two I should hve had a couple of weeks back – It might have made me laugh instead of feel like crying and screaming!
    I hope now you will have a great laugh about it!
    I figured it would hit home with a few of my friends! Let’s hope we ALL have very few of those days and when we do we can laugh our way through them. xo

  5. You’re the fourth person I’ve seen describing the same phenomenon. Houses are rebelling, neighbors are howling at the moon – it’s chaos everywhere.

    Maybe a new month will help. Hang on!
    I think the very long and bizarre winter is part of it – so I’m gonna blame Al Gore for my stupidity – he started it with his global warming stuff. ROFL

  6. We all have days like that, but I would say that you had the bumper crop day of stupid things happening.

    By the way, did I tick you off or something cause I haven’t seen you around my neck of the woods in forever.
    I adore you swee’pea – I simply haven’t had much time lately to get to ANYONE’s neck of the woods – please don’t take offense – have you noticed how few posts I get done here lately? I shall visit you soon I promise! xo

Leave a Reply

