Who Let the Girls Out? Who? Who?

 

Most of my 17 faithful readers know I have been on this journey the past 6 months or so to get healthy which included joining Weight Watchers.  So far I have lost a little over 43 pounds and I’m almost at my goal.  Yay me. 

The problem is I’m becoming a totally obsessed nutcase woman who is on a mission.  I’m sick of this stuff — I’ve been up and down a pound here a pound there and I just want to reach goal and stop having to GET THERE.  Sheesh.

So Saturday morning (which is when I normally go to a Weight Watchers meeting and hoist myself onto that evil thing called “the scale”) I did something radical.  I completely lost my mind out of frustration because I simply HAD to see a “minus” not a “plus” in the pounds category.

Now normally I wear the very same outfit (yes it’s been washed) each week to the weigh-ins — that weigh (sorry) I know my weight is consistent.  I even went so far as to take those particular clothes and put them on my handy dandy little Weight Watcher food scale and weigh them.  Oh. Yes. I. Did.  She’s obsessed.

I went over the edge Saturday and I’m here to share this with you because I just know I’m the only person in the world who has stooped this low.  Saturday I put on my outfit (a very thin Ohio State tee-shirt & a lightweight pair of yoga capri pants) but I made one slight change.  I didn’t wear a bra. 

GASP!  I let the girls out.  Hey!  Ya know what?  Danged bras weigh somethin’, too.  I’m serious.  I was a little self-conscious but then remembered that the weigh-in folks are women and they don’t care if I wear a bra or not.  So I threw that puppy across the bedroom and let it hang off the bed. 

And when I weighed in, I had lost 1.6 pounds.  Woot!  Now, I know my bra doesn’t weigh that much — (how do I know that you ask…because I weighed it and it registers in ounces not pounds) but there was something psychological about not “adding” weight to me that day that made me lose the bra.

What am I gonna do for the next week???  I’m only 1.2 pounds away from my goal.  I’m seriously thinkin’ of going totally commando.  Just me, the tee, & the yoga pants.  That’s how badly I want to reach goal.  Yes, once again, I’ve gone over the edge.  Ya know…I bet I could lose at least a pound if I cut off all this danged hair….sigh…

14 thoughts on “Who Let the Girls Out? Who? Who?

  1. Another benefit to going BraLESS: It will pull the wrinkles from your face.

    Congratulations, Linda! We can see the finish line… Love ya!
    snort yeah that gravity is interesting!! mwah!

  2. LOL! Oh my!

    This is a great post! I must admit the picture at the top of the post grabbed my attention. So, if you’re going commando next week I wonder what the pic will be. 😉
    I’m thinking…I’m thinking…I’m thinking… I’m thinking I may not write about that one. ROFL!

  3. 43 pounds is awesome! I say not only go commando but don’t have breakfast.
    lol I never eat before a weigh-in. I don’t even drink a cup of coffee. If I could talk them into holding up a sheet to block me, I’d weigh “nekkid” – ROFL yikes – I want this bad!!! 😉

  4. Congratulations Girlfriend!!! I know you’ll meet your goal because you are one determined lady. Take EmmaLou for a couple extra walks around the block. And then come weigh in day leave your jewelry (and bra) at home !
    Oh sweetie – I NEVER wear jewelry, now no bra, I even take off my glasses!!! One day I took my hair out of its ponytail because the elastic band might weigh a half an ounce – talk about obsessed and nutcase!! They really giggled at me but understood. I’m sooooooooo close. I really did think about cutting off all this hair but Devoted Spouse was not crazy about that idea. I’ll get there I’m confident! I’m determined, and I’m also stubborn. But of course, no one knows that, do they? snort

  5. Congrats on your weight loss!

    Fun post!

    Wendy
    Thanks Wendy! I hear u know another of my “faithful” readers… too cool! Doncha just love social networking?? 😉

  6. You should pardon the expression but HANG in there kid.
    Steve I would expect no less from you my friend! ROFL

  7. Saw you tweeted that it was a McCafe day. Their frappe has 680 Calories in it. Starbucks is a lot less. Keep up the good work, we all need our treats and frapps are mine so I choose Starbucks over McCafe. I was drinking them until I found out the calories in one. Love my coffee.. I loved your post on the girls, as for me I lived the sixties and I’m so small you can’t tell when I’m wearing one or not.LOL
    NO NO NO SWEETIE I DIDN’T TWEET THAT – I RESPONDED to the ORIGINAL Tweeter and told him to enjoy it! I would NEVER touch anything from McDonald’s – let’s clear THIS up RIGHT NOW!!! I defend anyone else’s right to eat whatever they want – I CHOOSE NOT to drink McCafe. I don’t even like Starbucks. I drink Peet’s coffee and I take it black, thank you. lol 😉

  8. Congrats on the weight loss! To quote that long haired guy who looks like he wears lipstick (I can’t think of his name, Tony Something), “YOU CAN DO IT!!!!

    When I did WW, I made sure to wear heavy sweats on my very first weigh-in. And when I weighed in the next week, I wore thin running shorts and a tank top. That way I was guaranteed to have lost some weight. Yeah, yeah, it’s kind of cheating but as you pointed out, it’s the psychological aspect.
    Thanks hon – Tony….is that the exercise guy who ALWAYS wears that flippin’ baseball cap with a ponytail hanging outta it? I think that’s one of those caps where the hair is attached!!! I bought one as a gag gift for my husband about 10 years ago on his birthday!!! I think that Tony guy is actually bald. He’s NEVER without that stupid hat. ROFL I like how you think on the weigh-in clothes – you’re right it’s psychological and I’ll take anything that gets me through!!! 😉

  9. Congratulations on your weight loss. I know how difficult it is. ( I’ve lost 11 pounds in 12 days.). That’s funny about the clothes, because it drives me nuts when I get weighed at the doctor’s office and know it’s 5 pounds more. Way to go!
    Thx!! WOW 11 lbs in 12 days?? I’ve been working at this since March to get a little over 43 pounds off and you drop 11 in 12 days? Men…the weight just peels off. ROFL The funny thing is while I’ve done this my husband has had no choice but to go along with what I prepare since he doesn’t cook – and that lil stinker has dropped about 20 lbs too! And I’M THE ONE GOING TO THE DANGED MEETINGS. Life — so funny! thanks for stopping in sweetie – good to see you! And congrats on your own weight loss!!

  10. I am so pleased you are getting closer to your goal, it always makes me happy when nice things happen to nice people. I always weigh myself “au naturale ” and have in the past stood on tippy toes because everyone knows that take an ounce off 🙂 thank you for your funny post and putting a smile on my face.

    Oh my good friend I feel so bad and am really sorry for not visiting your lovely blog for some time now. I am just a bit muddled at the moment and cannot think straight but you are often in my thoughts 🙂

    Much love and many, many hugs
    Sandy xxx
    Thanks Sandy – my dear, dear friend – I’ve been HORRIBLE at visiting my friends’ blogs in the past few months. So don’t apologize because I’m twenty times worse than you!! My bloggy friends are gonna take me off their blog rolls if I don’t get my butt in gear and make some pithy comments soon — and I haven’t come to see you either. Bad Linda, bad. ROFL I love the stuffin’ outta you girl!!
    Oh btw when you weigh…hold your breath. I swear to you this is the truth — I got on the Weight Watchers scale one morning and it registered a certain number and I “lifted myself up higher” and “held my breath” and instead of it registering xxx.8 it suddenly registered xxx.6 and she wrote the lower number – we laughed so hard over that — I decided from then on I was going to stand tall and hold my breath!! (((hugs)))

  11. I’m not sure that is any way for a Queen to behave! Leaving her two royal subjects without support! 43 lbs is amazing. No doubt you are incredibly proud. Congrats that is an awesome accomplishment.
    ahem…The Queen’s girls are Queenly so all is well. They know to behave with the proper royal protocol. I don’t know about proud – I just know I look 20 years younger and feel lots healthier. Plus I look danged good – snort – woops that wasn’t very Queenly. wait… The Queen is no longer “dowdy” – there ya go. 😉

  12. Fantastic work, I hope you are jolly well proud of yourself? I would be – what you’ve achieved is massive. (Excuse the pun.) Now I’m wondering, for next week, just how long is the T-shirt – could it pass as a long short dress? haha!
    Sunshine xx
    will have to weight (sorry) and see!!! rofl 😉

  13. Congratulations on your great accomplishment! Your blog cracked me up! hehehehe. The things we will do. I never ate and always, always went to the bathroom before a weigh in! Every ounce counts!
    Truer words were never spoken — every ounce counts! Devoted Spouse fell on the floor in hysterics the night he caught me weighing my clothes on my Weight Watcher scale – he thought that was the funniest thing he’d ever seen until I showed him just how much difference there was between a pair of jeans and a pair of yoga capri pants. Then he thought what I was doing was a good idea. Aha! Not so dumb afterall… rofl

Leave a Reply

