Ow…Ow…Ow

pic courtesy of zorger.com

I was fine yesterday.  Really I was.  After my church Small Group meeting I came home tired, did my back exercises and it was aching so I took a Valium and went to bed.

This morning I wake up to the sound of yelling and couldn’t figure out what was going on — oh yeah…that was me yelling.  Massive super back spasm – the kind that takes your breath away back spasm.  I honestly thought Freddie Krueger was ripping his lovely nails through my side.  Ack.

Gingerly I managed to get out of bed & not wake up Devoted Spouse — me and EmmaLou made it downstairs and I found the stash of the good pharmaceuticals – said crap I don’t care if I have an empty stomach – gimme the drugs now.  Got icepack and hobbled to comfy chair in search of….well… comfort.

Then I had to pee.  Oh dear Gussie – that meant I had to actually get up and then get down and get up again and oh how I wished I had Depends.  Yes ladies and gentlemen it was a Kodak moment – or actually I should say I would have made a hit on YouTube.

Skipped 2d cup of coffee.  More ice.  Another Valium.  More moaning.

It was fun watching me get dressed 2day.  The things we take for granted….like being able to pull up one’s own shorts.  That should be easy.  I’m here to tell you a back spasm negates pulling up shorts – I managed but I’m not telling you the details of what I had to do with the cane to acquire my pants.  Ack.

It’s funny.  It has to be funny – coz that’s my life.  One minute I’m fine; the next I resemble Maxine at 110.  Criminy.  Did I mention I have some really good meds for this occasion?  giggling.

So – I’d write something very amusing for ya’ll today but my brain is literally fuzzed on drugs. 

Stop in tomorrow.   Oh and feel free to leave comments that I’m rambling or raving or whatever – coz I promise you once I post this, I’ll have no memory I even did it.  I think….sigh…

p.s. pic above is me if I was an old man – and I could use a cherub maybe – go visit here to see zorger.com.

7 thoughts on “Ow…Ow…Ow

  1. Oh no! I’m so sorry to hear that your back is in so much pain. I know what that’s like, and I do hope that the back spasm goes away soon…

    Sparrow
    thanx sweetie – me too – thank goodness for pharmaceuticals…

  2. Ow, Ow, Ow is what I have been saying for the past few days. But then I pretty much say that every day and then I say worse things. I am lucky to be walking and still waiting for the pain in my shoulder to go away. Dang frickin thing still hurts all the time due to the arthritis but some still from the surgery.

    I keep telling you to take it easy and it will take a long time to heal, at least that is what they told me.

    So I am still up due to the pain and it is now after 8am and still cannot sleep. I am going to take another pa*n p*ll and wish I had the good ones like you. I would love some val*um but doc says no. Oh well, maybe someday when he actually sees my panic attack.

    Stay in bed, rest, lay on a heating pad. See you when you feel better.

    God bless.
    I’m sorry for the both of us – maybe between us we have most of one halfway good body. LOL ow don’t laugh Linda it hurts… I’ve hit both the Valium & Percocet in double doses once today and I slept for about a half hour – then woke up to even more pain. I was doing so well and then suddenly this particular group of muscles to the side of my back just seized up and this hurts worse than the broken back did – I’m not kidding. If it doesn’t get better by Fri I’m calling the doc – I could have a torn ligament or something really serious – coz Percocet double strength should have at least taken the edge off and the Valium should have calmed the muscles down – can’t take regular muscle relaxers coz they make me lose my vision. It’s not bad enuf I’m losing my mind at the moment. I’m ready for a “Crap” posting I think. 😉 You hang in there sweetie – one of these days we’ll be dancin’ again. And if one person tells me I’m not a spring chicken I swear I will beat them with my cane…. snort

  3. I can def. understand how you feel since I also suffer from back pains and I really hope you feel better! Sending lots of hugs and well wishes your way!
    hola mi amiga! I know – I saw u on FB and hope ur doing better too. thx sweetie. Hugs back atcha!

  4. I have just sent you an email.

    Take care of yourself.

    Much love
    Angel.
    got it sweetie, thx & replied. Love u. 😉

  5. Crap away all you want. Somehow you seem to let loose with another side over there. And one would not know that you have an even funnier side until they have seen your crappy side. snort snort

    And we probably could not get a whole body between the two of us since we both have messed up backs. And I do not know what I was thinking well you know being as I am so allergic to red pepper, anyway before I knew I was so allergic to it, I had bought some Cura-Heat for arthritis. I did not read the bottle and it has liquid Capsaicin. Guess what that is, duh, red pepper. Last week I thought it might help my back and then I rolled some on my back, it did help a little but now I have a rash on my back where I rolled it on. I had an allergic reaction to the red pepper in it. Geez do I feel dumb. Good thing I did not roll it on my shoulder or my knees. Big bumps all up and down my spine. Good thing I could only reach so far up. Dang do I need help. Not much left working properly anymore. But the good news is that I did not die, doc said that if I eat it again I might not be so lucky. Something like the peanut allergy. I need a break and I am freaking wheezing again.

    God bless.
    <Girl you are just one big warning bell! Can't believe u didn't know capsaicin is red peppers. Poor baby. Ow. I've been using ice and heat and tons of the really good drugs. Now I have a headache too. sigh..

  6. Valium gives me a migraine. Here’s hoping you and Mrsupole get to feeling better. Maybe once you do you can both do the (Spring) Chicken Dance. Hang in there ladies!
    Thanks sweetie. I don’t know about the (Spring) Chicken Dance. I think a nice slow dance is about all I can handle these days. LOL. It is getting better. I made the mistake of asking God to give me more patience…be careful what you pray for…. yikes.

  7. I thought you had beaten the back problem, just shows how behind I am. Sorry to hear you are still having so much problems with it still after all this time.

    Hope you feel better soon.

    (by the way…I’m back at least sorta.)
    Hi hon – will have to go see u soon – I’ve been checking on a semi-regular basis and hoping you felt better! I thought I had beaten the back prob with the last round of phys therapy – then I drove to South Carolina (which while I had a blast…in hindsight probably wasn’t the smartest thing for me to do). I had experienced a muscle pull during physical therapy when some young asst put about 50 pounds on a machine that I was supposed to have only 10 pounds on – and it healed – at least I thought it did. The same group of muscles along the side of my back started acting up while I was in SC and I was horrified to have to sit on icepacks and hobble around for an entire day in front of my gracious host and hostess – I was really embarrassed! What must they have thought of this whiney invalid? Oh well. For some unknown reason last week I woke up to it all over again only this time much worse – it is now better and I will discuss this w/doc when I see him in a couple of weeks. I thought losing 33 pounds would help – apparently there are still some residual issues going on. Crap. Glad ur back – u have been so missed! xo

Leave a Reply

