I’m Back…Didja Miss Me?

 

I made it to South Carolina in one piece….basically.  Although the trip was hard on my back, it was well worth the effort.  I went to visit my bloggy friend Linda from Fat Cat Crochet at her home on a lake.  I couldn’t believe she invited me down – we’ve known each other through blogs, Twitter and FaceBook for about a year – but that doesn’t mean I’m not a deranged psychotic nutcase just waiting to chop them all up and eat them with a side of fava beans….fortunately she took a chance on me and I was so happy to go visit!  Wow -livin on the lake; that’s the life!  We had a blast!  I even got over my life-long major fear of water (as in don’t even fill the bathtub too full-fear) and got in the lake and had the time of my life.

I had so much fun I snagged one of her guest towels as a souvenir — just kidding; I accidentally grabbed it with some stuff I had in the bathroom and it got packed in my suitcase.  Yes, it’s going thru the laundry and will be mailed to her with my deepest apologies for being such a doofus.

Here’s a pic of me and the “other” Linda my first evening there – they took me for a boat ride to a superb restaurant where I pigged out on jambalaya with the type of shrimp one can only obtain in SC – not the OH icky nasty frozen stuff.  Yum Yum!

And no I did not cut my hair – because of boat ride, heat and humidity, hair stayed in ponytail.   I discovered that South Carolina in June and long hair are not a good match.

Okay now for the water thing — I’ll show you a picture of me floating in the lake – it’s not pretty but I’m still proud of me for doing it. So no snarky comments about the old broad in the bathing suit or I’ll sic EmmaLou on ya.

That’s Linda’s hubby out there with me supervising the crazy broad who’s afraid of water.  snort.  Later we switched places and I got the chair with the neckrest on it – they about never got me outta there. 

Okay enough of this.  Stick around – next post I’ll let you know some of the shenanigans that happened while I was on the road.  I always get the interesting hotels….sigh…

10 thoughts on “I’m Back…Didja Miss Me?

  1. Who said I was going to say anything about the old broad in the bathing suit? Glad you had a great time! Savannah was just down the road you know
    Snort! I put that in there JUST FOR YOU – coz I knew if anyone would make a smarta$$ comment it would be you, you silly thing! I did have a gr8 time – Linda is a lovely lady – then again – we bloggers are ALL wonderful folks! Listen the drive to SC damn near killed my back – I never would have made it to Savannah — that will be another trip another time, I promise!!! EmmaLou sends smoochies and wants you to know she will be back on Twitter soon – she knows you have missed her! lol

  2. I’m so glad that you had a nice time, I did miss you bunches looking forward to your road trip
    Hugs
    aw…thanks swee’pea – I needed to get away and it was so much fun meeting up with another blogger. I think EmmaLou missed me most – when I came in and I started doing a videotape of her – she kept looking over at Devoted Spouse like “is this for real, is mom really home?” She was so cute. I love to travel, but it’s always nice to come home, too.

  3. It looks as though you had a good time, and well done for going in the water even though you are afraid of it. I must admit I don’t like deep water, I can swim (in a fashion) it is just the thought of what could be lurking beneath me.

    Love the photographs.

    Take care my friend,
    Angel.
    Hi Angel – I did have lots of fun, we laughed, ate food that was NOT diet (and didn’t feel bad about it one bit) and just enjoyed the company of nice folks. I got to go on some great boat outings and look at the lovely scenery and then I made that decision that it was now or never and walked into the water. You know the score — it’s fun to travel, and it’s nice to get home too. But I’d go back in a heartbeat if they’d have me!! LOL

  4. Isn’t summer wonderful..
    And to think…all these years I was afraid of water — look at how much fun I’ve missed. Getting in that “floatie chair” was the most fun I’ve had in ages! And my friends were so patient with me that I didn’t panic once!!! Yay me! Yay summer! I wanna live at the lake now! snort – better win the lottery first.

  5. Looks like fun, fun, fun.
    Hi sweetie – It was fun – I didn’t want to leave. In South Carolina they have REAL seafood not the crap we get here in Ohio. Yum yum – I about overdosed on shrimp and grits. Mmmmm mmmmm mmmm – and the lake experience was just a blast! Wanna go back….now! lol

  6. You were in my backyard…but I see you didn’t melt.
    Oh honey – the weather was actually not that hot – it only hit the 90’s as I was getting ready to drive back home. But it was humid so the hair went right into the ponytail and stayed there! These were the loveliest people – to invite a virtual stranger to their home – and I’m sure they were tickled that I turned out to be a quasi-normal blogger — not some axe-murderer. LOL

  7. I miss the days of floating in a lake, in a bathing suit. I don’t go out in public in a bathing suit any more. Well meaning people kept trying to push me back into the water.

    Welcome back and I can’t wait to hear more of your adventures!
    I was waiting for the “beached whale” whistle then remembered there aren’t any whales in a lake….losing 30 pounds means while I’m not the bathing beauty I once was in my twenties, at least I’m nowhere near the biggest broad on the beach anymore. ROFL

  8. I would love to live on a lake, well until it flooded. But other then that it would be so cool. I have stayed on a houseboat a few times at Lake Mead, there in Las Vegas and it was so much fun. We would be up at the crack of dawn, jump on the jet ski’s, and just go and go. Lake Mead is like a small little ocean and so you can take the whole day to try and go around it but you usually can’t cause you would run out of gas. It is a lot of fun when the wind is not blowing and the lake is like glass, but when the winds get to kicking up and you then have to crawl around in your boat or jet ski’s then it is not as much fun. I think a nice quiet lake would be nice. Well one that Freddie is not visiting.

    Seems like you had such a nice time. I did my basic training there at Ft. Jackson, South Carolina. When I left there I had totally picked up the southern accent and sounded even more southern then the southerners did. But they do say that at one time those of us in Southern California had a southern accent, now it is an illegal accent. Anyway I think it was so easy for me to pick up their accent and then from there I went on to Oklahoma, and so after two years I really had a southern accent. I still do to a point and if I spend even 5 minutes talking with someone from the south then I pick it right back up. Hubby grew up in Niagara Falls, Canada and so he picks up the North Eastern and Canadian accents in a heart beat. He just cannot do the southern drawl at all. But I can pick up a Boston accent in a heartbeat. One of my good friends is from there and so it it is easy to talk like her.

    Glad you made it safely back home to DS and Emma. There is nothing like sleeping in your own bed.

    God bless.
    It was funny my friends didn’t have a southern accent, but their neighbors sure did – and they had some folks in from other parts of SC like Charleston and suddenly I found my southern accent coming out (from my Virginia days) – had to be careful – didn’t want anyone to think I was making fun of them. Then again I’ve been sayin “ya’ll” for years, so no harm no foul. Sure would like to be back in that lake right about now…it’s hot….

  9. OOOOO, I love being on a lake. I’d live near one for sure if I hit the redneck retirement fund. Missed ya hun!
    See, there’s the rub…the house next door to my friends is up for sale….at $900K. Plus I’d hafta buy a boat and 2 wave runners, and lifejacket for EmmaLou, and gee, I need to hit lottery first. I told hubs house was only $900K and he replied…”what should we sell off first to buy it…the diamond mine or the 747?” He’s such a card. No lake in my future unless I buy a really big kiddie pool. LOL

Leave a Reply

