And That’s Why the Word Die is in Diet…

 

I’m sitting here in my comfy chair with gobs of drool slopping down my chin soaking into my shirt.  Earlier I baked a pan of brownies for Devoted Spouse to take to a meeting he has at church and the smell of the brownies is making me absolutely woozy with chocolate desire. 

You see…I’m dieting.  Yes, I am — I have managed to peel off 15 lbs since the 2nd of March and I’m not about to stop now.  But having a pan of the most delectable-smelling brownies on the face of the earth just one room away from me, with the aroma wafting over me is like, well, it’s like offering a glass of fresh water to a parched soul….and that glass is just out of reach.   Ack ack.

I believe the appropriate word here is Agony.  I am in agony because I want a brownie.  It’s not like I can’t work one lousy brownie into my diet plan but I have this issue with sweets.  Once I start I don’t stop.  It’s rather like being a drug addict or an alcoholic — I’m a sweetaholic.  I have found the best solution is to simply not take even one little bite or it will lead me down the path of sitting in the corner of the clothes closet hiding under a pile of old jeans stuffing my cheeks full of chocolate chip cookies.  Not a pretty sight I assure you.

Therefore I sit here and post this because it helps to write about it – if I admit it in print I am holding myself accountable and I will not fail.  I will not walk into that kitchen and throw my face into that pan no matter what.  I even immediately washed the bowl and the wooden spoon so as not to lick the batter.  Super Dieter.  Let me adjust my cape.  There…that’s better.

The picture above is called a Killer Brownie and it’s sold locally by a grocery chain known as Dorothy Lane Market and they are without a doubt the most decadent brownies in the world.  And, no, I have not walked into that store in years because of the temptation to simply lick the bakery countertop in hopes of catching a stray crumb or three. 

No.  Walk away from the brownies…Wait…is that a drop of choc batter on my shirt… lick…I’m okay now….sigh.

15 thoughts on “And That’s Why the Word Die is in Diet…

  1. Woo hoo to you! Determination and dedication. p.s. you can have the brownie later after you reach your goal.
    Hi sweetie – thx for the woo hoo – yeah brownies can wait – I’m okay w/that. 😉

  2. You can do it!!!! Resist. Resist! (Does that help?)
    Congrats on the 15 lbs gone forever!
    YES! All encouragement helps – thx – I have overcome the desire to snarf up the brownies – whew that was tough. LOL

  3. I so need to love a few pounds. 15# is 7 weeks is awesome. Keep on keeping on. And quit waving brownies around.
    Brownies? What brownies? 😉 thx bb I’m workin it!

  4. I made brownies similiar to these just before Christmas. They were called Turtle Brownies and they have a layer of caramel and pecans in the center and pecans on the top. The grandkids got most of them and they said they were so good. It is a good thing I gave most of them away because if I took one bite then I would just keep eating them until I was sick. so I totally understand how you feel about staying away from them. It is kinda like an alcoholic taking that first drink. Once you take it you just cannot stop. Oh they sound so good right now. NO, NO, NO brownies for me.

    God bless.

    PS….great job on the 15 lbs, I know where they all went….yup I can see them now, this hip that hip, that butt this butt……
    Brownies = bad but just for now. LOL I’ve had one of the ones I pictured – the Killer Brownies – they are simply fabulous and I’m just guessing probably an entire day’s worth of calories in one alone! LOL

  5. You are doing so well. I wish my diet was going that well. I have lost 5 pounds in 2 weeks.
    Good for you – 5 lbs is great!!! Congrats!

  6. That’s so funny – and funny because it’s TRUE! We’re surrounded by so many delicious treats, and even if we don’t taste we have to see, smell, sometimes touch and even hear (e.g., someone else crunching and munching).

    One thing that actually works, particularly if you have a great imagination (as you clearly do) is to imagine something gross in the treat….a bunch of maggots, worms, whatever grosses you out. Imagine it in full color and smell…maybe feel them crawling on your skin…maybe even the sound of squishy things working their way out of what USED to be an object of desire.

    Imagine the worms, and suddenly the brownie is not quite as powerful.

    Good luck on your journey!
    I LOVE IT! From now on I’m imagining squiggly maggots in cookies, donuts, and brownies – what a cool way to trick your brain into not wanting that unhealthy snack. Thanks for visiting!

  7. 15 pounds in 4 weeks. I hate you. Oh! Did I say that out loud? What I meant to say was Way to go Sis!! Awesome job! Wish I could do as well as you!
    Actually I haven’t weighed since I started my diet. When my pants no longer stop the circulation to my brain anymore I’ll see how much I’ve lost 😉
    Actually it’s closer to 7 weeks since I started the beginning of March and we’re at the 23 of April now – so it’s not that amazing a feat. I only weigh once a week – and I also measure it by how my clothes feel. You can do it Sis – I’ll be your diet buddy! Love ya!

  8. You definitely get an “Atta Girl!” for the weight loss!

    But I have to admit, that brownie looks less than appetizing to me.

    Keep up the good work, you have better willpower than I.
    Thx for the Atta Girl – in person the brownie is a gooey delightful sight to behold and one I wouldn’t consider eating! I am Diet Woman (puts cape back on) – with the willpower of many. And clothes that no longer fit. LOL

  9. From one sweetaholic to another, you are my hero! I am ashamed to admit that I have nowhere near the willpower that you do. Those brownies would need to have been put in the trunk of hubby’s car, and the car keys hidden, for me to not sample them.
    It’s one of the most difficult things in the world to know there is a brownie on the kitchen counter and to know that you want that brownie with all your heart and to keep yourself from giving in to that want. I’m just taking it moment by moment. And as soon as he finishes the remains of the brownies I will breathe a little easier. 🙂

  10. I admire you and your conviction. But I do believe that is one brownie I would have to eat! … JUST one!
    I would love that ONE right now!
    Do you have the receipe? It would be great to have it! (next time let your hubby bake them)
    I wish I had the recipe but it belongs to the local grocery store and they are NOT giving out their secret recipes! As for Devoted Spouse baking the brownies? I don’t think so — next time he has some church function he has to go to I’ll send him to the store for cookies! LOL

  11. 15lbs! I am so proud of you, well done – and you are doing really well resisting thoses brownies, I don’t know if I could be that strong.

    “E” bought some fudge on holiday and I am ashamed to say between us we ate a whole box in an evening. I felt so sick afterwards 🙂

    Seriously though, keep up the good work.
    I’m actually over 17 lbs now – but it’s hard. That fudge sounds so yummy but it would have given me a tummy upset too. Glad to see you! Hugs!

    Take care
    Angel.

  12. Congratulations on your 15 pounds! That’s awesome. I’m dieting too ….. and I have a long, long ways to go still.
    Thanks! I’m over 17 now but I, too, have a ways to go. But I’m doing it the right way this time – eating healthy foods and giving up processed food, white stuff, and junk. Works like a charm. But, it’s hard! I want my brownies!!! LOL

  13. MY hero! I’m working on it but not progressing very well. Went on the “no white” diet and my cholesterol rose 40 points! Now on the low fat diet. Easier for me than for Coach. Hang in there. You inspire me.
    No white probably means you may have overdone the fatty proteins. That’s why cholesterol went up. I’m not eating white things (except cottage cheese and milk and they don’t count) but I’ve also given up all red meat and I’m eatig a lot, repeat, a lot of veggies and fruit. Mine is more low fat and low sugar than anything else and it’s working rather well. If only I could exercise. sigh…I’m doing some “home exercises” frm phys ther for core strengthening and to work on my back and my leg but that’s about it.

  14. You deserve a round of applause and a new pair of jeans. Fifteen pounds is nothing to sneeze at.
    I see sweets is your addiction. Hmmm. I can pass on the sweets. For me, it’s all about salty chips. I can scarf down a whole bag. ewwww.
    Thank u dahlink. When I retired over 3 years or so I managed to drop about 30 pounds because I wasn’t sitting behind a desk eating junk food all day. Well about 15 of that crept back on. So I’ve lost that plus a few more now and I’m on my way to being much healthier. Sweets are my downfall so I’ve gone to sugar-free cookies when I absolutely have to have a sweet fix. I don’t like salt – period. So I can look at chips and walk away. Devoted Spouse just the opposite – he can sit on couch and devour an entire bag of taco chips. I figure losing more weight will also help with my back issue. And at this point I will do anything to help my back issue…except accupuncture.

Leave a Reply

