99 Things

I found this over on my friend  Michele’s blog and it looked like something fun to do on a day I don’t feel like being overly funny as this is “hook up new computer day” which is always stressful.  It’s best to stick to the easy stuff.  The funny thing is, this took a lot longer than I had planned and it is some long reading – so be patient please.

The idea is to take this list of 99 items and BOLD the ones you have done and feel free to add comments.  Here’s mine:

  1. Started your own blog- I have 3 now, 1 of which is about to go to bloggy heaven shortly
  2. Slept under the stars – yes as a youngster and an adult – love looking at a star-filled night but as an adult the sleeping on the air mattress in a tent part is not so much fun!
  3. Played in a band – for one gig during my ill-spent youth I played back-up singer & tambourine – that was all it took for them to realize I actually had no talent – it was an emergency situation for them but guess who never got invited back?  LOL
  4. Visited Hawaii I wish
  5. Watched a meteor shower – I’m married to an amateur astronomer and have seen my share of meteor showers  (some were even outside…ba dum bum!)  seriously,  they are spectacular if you can get away from the city lights, otherwise I tend to fall asleep outside!
  6. Given more than you can afford to charity – Wow, I don’t like this one because it makes one sound proud – but yes, I have had a time or three when I gave and then wondered which bill would be late being paid.  Fortunately I have found that God routinely rewards a charitable heart.
  7. Been to Disneyland – DisneyWorld in my twenties when it first opened.  Would love to go back but not if they still play that stupid song It’s A Small World
  8. Climbed a mountain – Closest I’ve come is hiking Appalachian Trail and didn’t make it too far there!
  9. Held a praying mantis – I’ve taken photos, but holding one?  I think not thank you.
  10. Sang a solo – I took voice lessons as a child and had to sing the theme from Exodus (This Land is Mine) during a recital.  Google it and listen to the version by Andre Rieu and you will understand the range and the difficulty of singing this.  After the recital I wisely decided a lifetime as a singer was not in my future. (If you download the Rieu version ignore the Crusader picture – that’s just dumber than dirt since Exodus was about the Jews coming out of slavery NOT the Crusaders running rampant through the Holy Land…but I digress..)
  11. Bungee jumped – I believe the phrase, “not only no but heck no” comes to mind.  As Devoted Spouse is fond of saying…”Why do something you can only do wrong once?”
  12. Visited ParisSeveral times while Devoted Spouse was stationed in Belgium – I took a cooking class, did the tourist thing – hit the museums and art galleries and loved the atmosphere but the prices were ridiculous and some of the people were a tad snarky
  13. Watched a thunder and lightning storm- Well, yeah, but I try and keep my distance
  14. Taught yourself an art from scratch – Depends on how you define art…is blogging an art?  Then yes.  I make greeting cards and taught myself stamping so I guess that qualifies – it wasn’t difficult to figure out how to decoupage.  Some other artwork I had to take lessons such as tole work (which I no longer do).  I can make some mean stuff w/elbow macaroni and Elmer’s glue)
  15. Adopted a childnot an “Angelina Jolie” bring-a-thousand-home but I have sponsored several through World Vision.
  16. Had food poisoning – Unfortunately this has happened to me more than once and it’s an awful way to diet lemme tell ya!
  17. Walked to the top of the Statue of Liberty –  never been there, but on my list
  18. Grown your own vegetables – Every year I make a stab at gardening; some years are good, some not so much
  19. Seen the Mona Lisa in France- Yup – it was at the Louvre when I visited and I also caught it during a tour in (I believe) Washington DC.  So I’ve seen it twice – and it’s much smaller than you think.  Magnificent!
  20. Slept on an overnight train – nope not yet
  21. Had a pillow fight – But of course!
  22. Hitch hiked – Oh my –  the things I did as a young completely stupid youth – really scary to look back now and realize just how often I hitched a ride with a total stranger.  It’s how I got to that farmland in NY on that fateful weekend way back when…
  23. Taken a sick day when you’re not ill – Oh puhleeze show me one person who has not done this and I’ll show you the most boring person on the face of the earth and a liar to boot!  LOL
  24. Built a snow fort – With heavy snowfalls in VA as a kid, a snow fort was a necessity!  Needed someplace to store the iced snowball ammunition!
  25. Held a lamb – not technically, but I’ve petted one through a fence – our landlord at the Chateau we lived in when we were in Belgium rented out his fields and one year there were tons of sheep.  Love sheep.  Love them so much I simply cannot eat lamb.  Can’t eat veal either – I think it’s a baby animal thing but again I’m getting off track
  26. Gone skinny dipping – Yes, but no comment
  27. Run a Marathon – You gotta be kidding me – I’m doing good to make it from my comfy chair to the kitchen
  28. Ridden in a gondola in Venice – never got to Venice unfortunately
  29. Seen a total eclipse – Yep – see amateur astronomer comment earlier!  LOL
  30. Watched a sunrise or sunset- Of course – sunrise at a mountain cabin, sunset on a beach – both equally stunning!
  31. Hit a home run – as a child when we played softball at school but it was not my best sport – this was a fluke
  32. Been on a cruise – not sure about cruises although everyone I know raves about them.  I’m more a let’s go on a road trip kinda gal.
  33. Seen Niagara Falls in person- on a childhood vacation – and as a kid I was not impressed that much – it was just a bunch of water.  Think as an adult I might enjoy it more.
  34. Visited the birthplace of your ancestors – Some, yes – Germany, Scotland, and England but never got to Ireland (and to the American spots like southern VA – yawn…)
  35. Seen an Amish community – in PA,  OH and also in IN
  36. Taught yourself a new language – I am fluent in pig Latin – I can understand some French, and Spanish but I was taught by someone else!
  37. Had enough money to be truly satisfied – Yes – you  really only need so much money to be happy – true happiness comes from other things
  38. Seen the Leaning Tower of Pisa in person – nope I was in Sicily for a few days w/Devoted Spouse and also saw the inside of the Rome airport and that’s as close as I got!
  39. Gone rock climbing – I am not good with heights so the answer here is a definite NO!
  40. Seen Michelangelo’s DavidNot the original but I did see a replica of it at a museum in London
  41. Sung karaoke You cannot get me drunk enough – nevah!!!  Even people at church discourage me from singing.
  42. Seen Old Faithful geyser erupt – Yes several times in fact.  Oh – you mean the one in that park… yes, seen that too… heh heh
  43. Bought a stranger a meal at a restaurant – Yes I like to do this when I go out for breakfast at that chic restaurant Le Bob Evans – I often leave enough money and instructions w/hostess to pay for someone’s meal with leftover $ to the waitress.   It’s fun!
  44. Visited Africa – only on tv and in books and hopefully one day in person!!
  45. Walked on a beach by moonlight – Ooh baby  yeah and w/Devoted Spouse of course!
  46. Been transported in an ambulance –Yes – not my best time! Ahhh the Ice Incident of 2009 (shivers)
  47. Had your portrait painted – Nope no reason to since both Picasso and Dali are dead! 
  48. Gone deep sea fishing- Yeah as a twenty-something and was talked into martinis on the boat…in the hot sun…as the boat rocked.  I prayed I would die.
  49. Seen the Sistine Chapel in person – if only
  50. Been to the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris- Saw it but never went up in it
  51. Gone scuba diving or snorkeling – Are u nutz?  I won’t fill my bathtub very full – you think I’m going scuba diving?  Not in this life baby.
  52. Kissed in the rain – A time or three…
  53. Played in the mud – All the time as a child and a couple of times as a quasi-adult…
  54. Gone to a drive-in theater – Yes, many times as a child and a few as an adult w/Devoted Spouse but drive-in theaters are almost extinct here in OH
  55. Been in a movie – Still waiting to be discovered.  Hello?  Spielberg?  I’m here.  Anyone?  Hello?  I’d make a great character actress or comic idiot in a sitcom – really – I would.  Of course my co-star would have to be Simon Baker.  ‘Nuff said
  56. Visited the Great Wall of China – couldn’t take the plane trip!
  57. Started a business – I’ve done the independent business route like Mary Kay, etc. but never for long – too much work!
  58. Taken a martial arts classGood grief no, I could hurt myself
  59. Visited Russia – came very close – had a trip planned to visit the Pushkin Museum w/my German friend and then that pesky little business of Chernobyl happened – bummer
  60. Served at a soup kitchen – I’m embarrassed to say I have not done this
  61. Sold Girl Scout Cookies Nah – I was never in Girl Scouts – I got kicked out of Brownies but we don’t talk about it…
  62. Gone whale watching – Definitely on the bucket list!
  63. Got flowers for no reason – Often Devoted Spouse comes in with flowers – I’m a spoiled princess!
  64. Donated blood, platelets or plasma – Unfortunately since I ate beef in the UK, and also contracted hepatitis as a youngster, I am not allowed to donate blood – I would if I could, though.
  65. Gone sky diving – Crap on a Crutch why jump out of a perfectly good airplane????
  66. Visited a Nazi Concentration Camp – no but I understand it is an overwhelming experience
  67. Bounced a check – Never
  68. Flown in a helicopter – Again Never and don’t plan on it either unless it’s a critical care flight and I hope that never happens either!
  69. Saved a favorite childhood toy – I managed to salvage my Barbie before she was tossed by the wicked stepmonster and a few of my original Nancy Drew books – all else is gone.
  70. Visited the Lincoln Memorial – Well, yeah,  I spent the first 25 years of my life living in Northern VA and was a frequent visitor to DC!
  71. Eaten caviar – I tried it and put it on my don’t do that again list right up there with tasting Limburger cheese.  Blechhh
  72. Pieced a quiltNo, I buy mine.
  73. Stood in Times Square. – Never been to NYC  –  can u believe that??
  74. Toured the Everglades – Yes it’s lovely and a tad creepy at the same time – love the boats!
  75. Been fired from a job – once
  76. Seen the Changing of the Guards in London – Absolutely – fantastic experience – so stately – love the bear hats!
  77. Broken a bone – Broke vertebra in my back in 2009.  Broke several toes and one finger as a youngster
  78. Been a passenger on a motorcycle – A few times in my ill-spent youth
  79. Seen the Grand Canyon in person – No but would love to – the height thing might bother me
  80. Published a book – Not a chance although I think a book about EmmaLou, Golden Destroyer would have to be a bestseller!
  81. Visited the Vatican – If only – talk about art works!!
  82. Bought a brand new car – Quite a few actually – keep meaning to buy used, but get sucked in to that “new smell” thing and spend too much money.  Gah…
  83. Walked in Jerusalem – Definitely on my list – should be fun trying to get me there!
  84. Had your picture in the newspaper – no, but I made it on the local news one night…
  85. Kissed a stranger at midnight on New Year’s Eve – A few times…
  86. Visited the White House – No – can you believe I lived not 10 miles away for 25 years and never visited?!
  87. Killed and prepared an animal for eating – Oh not a chance – I would starve first – I’m no hunter gatherer!
  88. Had chickenpox – I believe so.
  89. Saved someone’s life – No but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express…
  90. Sat on a jury – yes for a drug trial – it was an interesting experience
  91. Met someone famous – I’ve met several famous people actually including British royalty – wish one of them was Simon Baker…sigh
  92. Joined a book club – I keep joining but have never found one that worked out!
  93. Got a tattoo – Get out of town – I HATE needles – the closest I will come is a hand drawn piece of art w/ a Sharpie
  94. Had a baby – Not  in the plans of my life I guess
  95. Seen the Alamo in person – Heck, I’ve never even been to TX!!
  96. Swam in the Great Salt Lake – Again, never been to UT either!
  97. Been involved in a law suit If my divorce counts, then yes
  98. Owned a cell phone – more than a few of them.
  99. Been stung by a bee – Repeatedly and the scary part is I’m allergic to bee stings!!!  Yikes!  Hate those little buggers!

Wow – that took a lot longer than I thought it would.  And I’m sure by now your eyes are bleeding so I’ll try not to play this type of game again for awhile – or ever – but it was fun doing something different.    Feel free to copy mine and add  your own answers!

Here’s hoping the next blog I post is from my new laptop!  sigh…

8 thoughts on “99 Things

  1. Very nicely done. That new car smell is seductive.
    thanx – that took much more time than I thought it would – I so love the new car smell – it gets me everytime, darnit! xo

  2. Praying Mantis are way cool and a lot less scary on your hand the when they fly into your hair:)
    Sky diving is a rush! BTW:)
    I’m allergic to bees too!
    Girl, when I retire we need to take a road trip!
    I dunno – I saw one very close up last year just sitting on the bench on the deck and I got some delightful pictures of him, but to let him walk in my hand – I dunno – I’m not that good with insects and crawly things. No to sky diving. Period. No. I don’t like to fly IN the plane there’s no way I’m voluntarily JUMPING out of it. NO. Bees frighten the daylights out of me – I have had several bad reactions – once I had streaks going up my leg and by the time I got to the doctor he really put the fear of God into me about it – I”m supposed to carry an Epi pen with me but I don’t coz I don’t like needles – it’s just no win. I simply stay away from bees at all cost! ROAD TRIP!! Retire early – hurry before I’m too old to go! LOL!

  3. Loved reading about YOU but think it would be far TMI about me.
    Yeah, but, do you BELIEVE me? bwahahahahaha – you’ll never know will ya? That’s the fun!

  4. Yes No
    1, 2 3, 4, 5,
    6, 7,
    8, Oklahoma has a teeny, tiny mountain, that is smaller than what we call hills here in Cali, but it is still a mountian.
    9, 10, 11, 12,
    13, 14 15,
    16, 17,
    18, 19,
    20, 21, 22,
    23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29,
    30, 31, 32, 33,
    34, 35, 36,
    37, 38, 39, 40,
    41, 42,
    43, 44,
    45, 46, 47,
    48, 49, 50, 51,
    52, 53, 54, 55, 56,
    57, 58, 59, 60,
    61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66,
    67, 68,
    69, 70, 71, 72,
    73,74,75,
    76,
    77, 78, 79,80,81,
    82, 83,84,
    85, 86, 87,
    88, 89, 90,
    91, 92, 93,
    94, 95,96,
    97, 98, 99,

    Wow, by the looks of it, I sure haven’t done much in my life. Oh well, I guess what I have done is just not on this list.

    God bless.

    PS….I hope this posts properly, if not have fun trying to figure it out. Hahahaha.

  5. And it freaking did not. DAMN thing just cannot work right.

    So have fun maybe I will be nice and re do it later. I had two very nice columns, dumb ass thingy.

    GB

  6. All right, I will just do the “Yes” this time which I should have done in the first place, duh….I am so stupid. Have I done stupid things?….Yes. This should have been one of the questions.

    Yes………
    1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 13, 14, 16, 18, 20, 21, 23, 30, 31, 32, 34, 37, 41, 43, 45, 46, 48, 52, 53, 54, 57, 61, 62, 63, 64, 67, 69, 77, 78, 82, 85, 88, 89, 91, 94, 97, 98.

    Looks like I haven’t even done half of what was on the list. Maybe I should make my own list. LOL.

    God bless.
    Oh for cryin in a bucket – Copy and paste my list then delete my answers and put in your own – I WANT TO SEE COMMENTS – yes or no is boring, boring, boring….give ME DETAILS. LOL

  7. Okay, now you need to go to my blog and it will answer number 93 for ya.
    okey dokey – on my way!

  8. Okay, I will sometime when I am able to breathe properly. Just having lots of problems and my inhaler is not working, nothing is working. I am wheezing constantly and my lungs hurt. I know I do not have pneumonia or a lung infection, but I know it is the poor dog. The lady who was supposed to take her hasn’t and so I had to find another home and hope the lady does not get mad.

    Maggie will now have other chihuahua’s to play with and I am oh so gonna miss her. Well except her peeing. But I did get my Christmas present (been waiting for him since before Christmas) from youngest daughter the other day and since this puppy is a poodle, I should be okay. I was hoping to have two dogs to keep each other company, but alas it will not be so.

    It is a chocolate poodle and looks like a little stuffed bear. Hubby named him “Bud”. I am gonna cry about Maggie because she has bonded with me and I with her. Damn, freaking allergies. If I only did not have to breathe, I could keep her. I am gonna miss her and hope she is happy. She is going to youngest grandson’s other set of grandparents. So he will get to see her when he visits them and let me know how she is doing. If she is not happy then I can always get her back and keep her outside, but she does not like it there. Damn those allergies again.

    I grew up with poodles and should be okay with Bud, I want to change the name to something else, but hubby and oldest granddaughter say no. Sigh!!!

    God bless.

    PS…will e-mail pic of Bud soon.
    sorry about Maggie but at least she is going to a good home and you now have Bud – yes, pls change the name – the heck with hubby LOL. Can’t wait to see pic!

Leave a Reply

