Disaster Relief for Haiti and the Red Cross

Hi kids – just popping in for a moment.  Our friend over at Mother Mari’s is working with the Red Cross and asked me to put up a quick blurb on my own experiences with the RC.

While Devoted Spouse and I were stationed in Belgium, I volunteered as a Case Worker for the American Red Cross.  I can tell you that it was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.  I functioned as a liaison between the families in the states and their military loved one overseas and frequently spent my time trying to hunt someone down who was out in the field on some type of maneuver to let him know of a dying family member.  On the other hand, there were many families in the states who had not heard from their soldier or airman in awhile and wanted to get what the Red Cross called a “health and welfare” report.  I was the one ferrying the official messages back and forth between the military and the civilians back home.

It was frustrating; it was difficult; it was nerve-wracking and it was tremendously rewarding.  There were days I would go home, put my head on my arms on the dining room table and just sob my heart out.  And then there was the day I was in my office and a young, barely old enough to shave young airman walked in looking for “the lady who let me know about my Mama”.  I looked up and said, “That was probably me; how can I help you?”  He came over to me, wrapped his arms around me and gave me the biggest hug.  He said, “Because you spent so much time trying to track me down, I was able to get home and say goodbye to Mama before she died.”   It was quite a life moment for me.

So — the Red Cross makes a difference in more ways than I can possibly explain to you.  And, right now they need you to help with the devastation in Haiti.  Mari posted this on FaceBook not long ago:

Donations to the American Red Cross International Relief Fund can be made by calling #1-800-REDCROSS or #1-800-257-7575 (Spanish) or online at http://www.redcross.org. You can also donate $10 by texting “HAITI” to 90999.

I would second her thoughts on calling that 800 number and donating.  If you have a special talent, then call your local chapter and discuss how you can help; otherwise, these folks need money and they need it badly.  Send a dollar, send five dollars, send whatever you can spare, but PLEASE donate something and make a difference.

Keep up the good work, Mari.

Later, kids.  🙂

7 thoughts on “Disaster Relief for Haiti and the Red Cross

  1. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  2. I think my parents did that to me, once. When I was stationed in Spain my Senior Chief called me into his office and asked me why I hadn’t written home. I thought he was going to clobber me. It’s embarrassing. I’m sure it had only been a month or so. 🙂
    If there’s anywhere in the world that didn’t need a disaster like that, it’s Haiti. Lord, have mercy.
    Hi relatively new friend 🙂 yes, let me tell you how much time and effort it takes to track young guys down who haven’t kept in touch with their moms!!! And let me add a ‘PLEASE’, to your comment, Lord have mercy. These people need so much help.

  3. Oh, the story about the young airman just gave me chills. Yes, we all need to donate. This is horrible what happened over there.
    I knew I could count on you cupcake! 🙂

  4. They have just said on the news the death toll could be as high as 50,000. It is so terrible and the pictures on the television are really upsetting.

    I am going to ask permission at work tomorrow if I can start a collection.

    I think you did a really brave job in the Red Cross it must have been hard but as you say very rewarding.
    Thank you for starting a collection at work – that’s a wonderful idea – they need all the help from us they can get. It is such devastation and so very heart-wrenching. I cry just watching the news.

  5. It’s heartwrenching. The last couple of days when I work, eat my lunch, then go back to my nice home that is still standing and eat dinner with my family, I find myself thinking about how the Haitians are going about their day. Suddenly I have nothing to complain about. Definitely donating to the cause, and saying many prayers. Kudos on your Red Cross work! That’s awesome.
    Nice to see ya Carla – I enjoyed RC but it was emotionally draining. Thanks for donating.

  6. You are such an inspiration! Working for Red Cross is an incredible thing to do.

    My company donated 50 K towards Haiti funds. Almost everyone I know has donated via text messaging. Whoever came up with the idea is brilliant. Right now they need the basics. Food, water and shelter. The money will certainly help them rebuild later on. So much loss though.
    I dunno about the inspiration part – it just seemed like a good idea at the time. I only hope the aid goes where it needs to go and not into the corrupt hands of some of the politicians as so often happens.

  7. I heard on the news that by the time the Americans get done donating it should be over one billion dollars and did you hear the Chinese government gave one million dollars. Wow that was a really large donation. Not!!! Our government donated 100 million dollars.

    I will never understand why so many countries and their people hate Americans. We are the most generous nation on the planet. No one ever donates more than we do. Even with times being tough for us, we still will donate. I have to decide to call or text, text is kinda winning cause it is easier. I will make a copy of this and e-mail it out, if that is okay with you. Please let me know.

    I loved the story of the hug, great job with the RC, but I can see that it could be very hard.

    God bless.
    Hi sweetie of course you can copy it – you can do anything you want at my site!! Yes it was hard sometimes, but anytime you volunteer where there may be people in dire situations, it can take an emotional toll. I am so happy so many have volunteered their time, money, and supplies. I think we have truly rallied around Haiti and now I pray that all the urgently needed supplies and all that money goes to the proper places and not in the hands of those who are corrupt. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

