A New Decade Looms…Can We Stop Being Hyphenated-Americans?

Yesterday I talked about the inevitable countdown towards the end of the year and how we were under siege with Best of and Worst of lists and who died, was born, married, came out of the closet, whatever.

For no particular reason it didn’t occur to me that this isn’t just the end of a year, it’s also the end of a decade; our first decade of the 21st century.  And what do we have to show for it?  A SpongeBob chia pet, some of the worst television reality shows ever thought up (does anyone really care if the old rocker with the do-rag finally finds true love and don’t you wanna just shoot the guy driving the cab and playing trivia with his passengers?), a gazillion corrupt politicians with more hookers, money in their freezers, illegitimate children, and bad hairdos than you can shake a stick at, and some pretty bad music and movies.  We have also had to listen to Davey Jones of the Monkees sell Oldies music for Time Life on late night infomercials, watch The Hoff puke up Burger King and hear the nasty voicemail of Alec Baldwin to his child.  We’ve been subjected to new and improved George Foreman grills.  And Hulk Hogan set mens fashion back twenty years.  Not exactly stellar stuff.

On the flip side, I feel compelled to mention this was the decade we elected the first black president.  That’s a very big accomplishment. But why wasn’t it also the decade we did away with separate organizations based solely on racial identification; organizations such as the Black Chamber of Commerce or the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People — I mean, come on if there was a White Chamber of Commerce there would be hell to pay, and aren’t we ALL Americans; why the racial designations like African-Americans, Mexican-Americans or Asian-Americans — crap ALL Americans started out someplace else except for indigenous Americans…electing the first black president is pretty historical, but it isn’t enough.

Some other accomplishments of this decade:  I bow to social networking, the advent of blogging and of course my personal favorite newbie, Twitter.  But that’s about it.  Yes, we made progress on cancer treatments, but come on with all the money thrown at it, we should have conquered it by now.  If  the scientists can blow a rocket into a crater on the moon and find water, surely we can find a cure for cancer. And for cryin’ in a bucket, why can’t someone come up with a more modern computerized voice for Stephen Hawking?  He still sounds like something out of a bad sci-fi movie.

Okay what was the most memorable moment of the decade?  I think the only answer has to be 9/11 and I think most would agree, at least from an American standpoint.  But have we really, really made headway towards ending terrorism?  I know I’m supposed to be making ya’ll laugh, but I gotta be a little serious here coz this stuff bothers me.   When I go to board a plane, I have to take off my stupid shoes and all my face spackle has to fit in 3 oz. bottles and that’s supposed to be for my safety.   Then a guy on a plane can try and ignite the bomb in his underwear or in his shoe and nobody notices  ahead of time regardless of ALL the warnings that these guys may be terrorists.  I think we’re still short of the goal.  One of the “three-letter organizations” puts these guys in the big Bad Guy database and then nobody looks at the danged lists.  Crap on a crutch.  EmmaLou, Golden Destroyer shows better intelligence than that.

Having said all I really want to say about the past, let’s leap ahead to the future.  After all, we are entering into a new decade.  Does anyone know what we call this one?  The Tens?  The Teens?  Did we ever figure out what to call the first years of the century…the Naughts, the 00’s?  Year naming is confusing.  I can look back and recall something that happened in  ’76 and just saying that word…Seventy-Six…doesn’t sound odd.  But in a few years we’ll look back and refer to something that happened in ’10 and I’m telling you it’s gonna sound funny to refer to the year ’10.

But ya’ll know what I’m leading up to here.  There is only one scenario to be concerned with in this upcoming decade and that’s the hoopla over the year 2012.  Will the world self-destruct?  Is the Mayan Calendar correct?  Is the prophecy of Nostradmus right on the money? Will the History Channel show anything else beside the coming catastrophe of 2012?  Remember what we went through with Y2K?  My prediction is that 2012 will turn out to be another Y2K scenario — no big deal.

Guess we’ll just have to wait 2 years.  At least if we’re goin’ out in flames in 2012, I’ll have the satisfaction of knowing that Oprah retired.

36 thoughts on “A New Decade Looms…Can We Stop Being Hyphenated-Americans?

  1. Wow, great post, you covered it all.

    Regarding the hyphenated Americans…….my husband has a rather common Portuguese name. He is 2nd generation American so he’s an American. Period.

    Anyway, when we were traveling in Portugal last year when one of the immigration agents in Lisbon looked at my passport (I use his surname) and recognized it’s origination she asked if I am related to anyone who is Portuguese. I pointed at my husband and said, “like him?” She looked at his passport and shot me a look like I had said the dumbest thing of the day and said, “he was born in Massachusetts.” In other words, he’s American nothing else.

    I agree, we should all get over the hypenation. Never forget your heritage if it means something to you, but remember you are an American.

    BTW my first ancestor came to this continent in 1621 so I couldn’t be anything BUT an American even if I tried.
    Hi sweetie – I am SO in favor of celebrating all our heritage – but I think there has to be a balance somewhere or we simply set ourselves apart and the purpose of America is a melting pot – where all are welcomed to our shores. We are like one big recipe of all different races and out pops an American. Should be pretty simple in my view.

  2. Yep. You covered it all. I don’t think I’ll attempt this topic.
    Aw go on be brave. What’s the worse that can happen, someone storms your blog? Been there, laughed about it. Hugs!

  3. This year was ??? Good things I met you and Emma Lou and other fantastic people on twitter, I won’t mention the bad things. And I wont even get started on my ancestors My family line has been traced back to the Boston Tea Party as some that had a hand in starting it.. But I agree enough with the hyphenation
    I’m thankful for you too sweetie! You have the uncanny ability to show up and cheer me up when I need it most and I love the stuffin’ outta you!

  4. Amen!

    I really enjoyed your post. Someone to tell it like it is.

    Better yet, how about we forget not just hyphenations, but countries in general? We are all the same species. No one cares where anyone else is from. If they do, it seems to be all about sticking labels and/or taking sides. Very unnecessary. So take that, flag wavers. The only thing that’s cool besides diverse characteristics in people are the many languages spoken and the food variations. Other than that, cultural and religious clashes often led to hate and war.
    Hi! Thanks for stopping by my humble blog. I like diversity and the celebration of diversity. I like patriotism and the fact that we can be proud of where we live and what we do as a people. I simply don’t think these things should be so high up on the list – they shouldn’t define us. We should be defined by what we do in terms of how we make a mark on society — how we leave things better than we found them — how many people we grab onto and help up — how many we feed, clothe, love. The country or area of the world of my origination just isn’t important anymore in the scheme of things. I don’t want us to lose our cultural heritages – but they cannot be the focus of our lives.

  5. Spot on..but I was really hoping Morgan Freeman would run..He sounds so “Presidential”
    Well I suppose to remain politacally correct I will need to sign myself…irish-english-french-indian-german-african-american!
    I think he needs to stick to acting – but then again since he was in the car accident and in the company of “the other woman” and recently was sued for divorce, I believe, then that makes him fit in with various of our past presidents, doesn’t it? LOL I’ll sign myself off as irish-scottish-german-and who knows what else-american. Thanks for your visit!

  6. Yes there hasn’t been much “progress” but when has there ever? Everytime we as a country or planet take a step forward, we also take many steps backward. I think we are no better off now than we were at anytime in the past. People are still writing and criticizing the same things as in the past, except with different contexts (time, event, etc). We trade one prejudice for another, and still keep making the same historical mistakes… But I believe in the power of the individual to overcome anything and improve his or herself.
    I cannot improve on your words – eloquent and correct, in my opinion. Thanks for visiting!

  7. You’ve got good stuff here… 🙂 Liked it.
    And yes, I do not fit in with recaps either!

    Looking forward to the posts in ’10. LoL
    Thank you and for the record, I’m now done with the recapping! Happy New Year and thanks for stopping by!

  8. You just became the last “New Favorite Blogs of 2009” to be added to my Google Reader. GREAT POST! Look forward to reading more!
    Wow I love being the last of anything. Thanks for the compliment and thanks for visiting my humble blog!

  9. I can remember where I was ten years ago when this awful decade came into being. Believe it or not, when I rang in the new year on January 1, 2000, I was not only stone-cold sober – I was at church! My then-girlfriend and I attended a special midnight mass at the local Catholic church to welcome in, not only a new decade, but a new century and a new millennium. I remember feeling filled with optimism. By entering this new era, I felt, we could wipe the slate clean. Maybe this would be a new age of peace, love, brother and sisterhood. EVERYBODY SING!

    This is the dawning of the age of Aquarius!
    Age of Aquarius!
    Aquariusuuuuus!

    How utterly naive on my part, huh? By year’s end, all of that hope was out the window and into the toilet. In a little less than a year, an ideologically perverted Supreme Court would assist in a stolen election by stopping the vote count in the state of Florida, installing a corrupt little frat boy with the I.Q. of a half-eaten box of Milk Duds as president of the United States. It was all downhill from that moment on. From the birth of “Reality Television” to the worst attack on American soil since the Civil War, it was quite a strange ten years to say the least. Thankfully this awful decade is a mere three days away from being consigned forever to history’s scrap heap. Hallelujah.

    http://www.tomdegan.blogspot.com

    Tom Degan
    My my…well I think I know where you live politically 🙂 and while I don’t necessarily agree, I won’t hold it against you. It wasn’t the best decade but I think certainly there were worse. I wish you a Happy New Year and hope your next decade turns out to be all that you need. Thanks for dropping in.

  10. “Guess we’ll just have to wait 2 years. At least if we’re goin’ out in flames in 2012…”

    Three years actually — the 2012 ‘prophecies’ or predictions do not officially commence until 21st December 2012 or roundabouts, the time of the 2012 Winter solstice.
    Oh for Pete’s sake. Could you not come up with something germane? You obviously don’t read me on a regular or semi-regular basis or you would understand the rules…don’t take me too seriously, don’t nitpick my words, don’t correct me, don’t lecture me, and don’t make me repeat this again please. Oh, Happy New Year!

  11. That hyphenation thing gets me as well. It is divisive…not unifying. What is really ridiculous, too, is that most of the people who use the designation have had family in this country for generations! I mean…come on…how many hyphenated people in this country actually immigrated from another country (or continent)? How many even had grandparents who did? Great grandparents?

    I agree…we all came from somewhere. My grandfather was born in Germany. Does that make me a German-American? Then again, my grandmother was born in Ireland. Am I an Irish-American? Hmm…that makes me a German-Irish-American! But that is just on one side.

    On the other side, I am possibly related to the Sherwoods of Sherwood forest…so maybe I am an English-American! And the DeKuyps of Holland. Dutch-American? I am supposed to have a relative who came over with Bradford, too.

    German-English-Irish-Dutch-American! What a mouthful.

    Did my grandfather teach his children German? No! Did his parents insist on America printing things in German so he would not have to learn English? No! His family came to America. They became Americans. This became their new country.

    I am not against maintaining ties to your culture, but if your culture is so good that you have hyphenate your citizenship…why are you here? If your ties to another country or continent are so strong…why not move there?

    OK…guess I may have gotten off onto a rant here. LOL I am just sick and tired of the divisiveness, especially when much of it is created by leaders of the very same hyphenated groups. It is oftentimes used to encourage a sense of being downtrodden. When people used to come to this country…they saw opportunity and focused on that instead. Sadly, what a lot of people see now is a need for entitlement…which is really just another way of saying that you don’t have what it takes to be successful without help. If it were me…I’d be insulted by that and want to separate myself from it as much as possible.

    As for having a black president…great…but it isn’t how much melanin you have that makes you a great person…it is your integrity. Nuff said on that one!
    I think you’re my new best friend! LOL You have great insight and you can rant away sweetie – I happen to agree with you. The color doesn’t make the person. Excellent. Thanks for coming to see me and please feel free to drop in any time.

  12. What they said LOL! You have a gift my dear. A grand and wonderful gift. Nicely done. Keep it up!
    Hello the sis I’d like to have…okay I’ll stick around a bit longer. LOL Hugs!

  13. Enjoyed you blog – – I agree, I agree – – thanks
    Thanks and I’m glad you dropped in for a spell. Cheers!

  14. Great post! I’m a heinz-57 (German,French, Canadian, French-Canadian, English, Scottish, Cherokee-American) married to an American-born cutie of Mexican descent (1st generation on his mom’s side, 2nd gen on his dads). We try to incorporate our heritage into our children’s lives, but as far as our identity—we are AMERICAN, proud descendants-in-spirit of General Washington’s selfless soldiers who marched with rag-wrapped feet across frozen ground toward the Delaware.

    The other day, I mentioned to my 6 year-old something about her being “Mexican.” Her eyes widened. “I’m Mexican? Since when?”
    Hi – thanks for stopping by – I love the innocence of children. We should all have their attitudes!

  15. Just a little note: The decade only ends at the end of 2010.
    Just a little note: Technically yes, BUT 2010 starts the “Teen” years and that was the point I was making. Thanks for visiting.

  16. It’s pretty easy for you to say we should all just “get over” hyphenation when you’re in the majority. Like the bumper-sticker says, I’ll be post-feminist when we have a post-patriarchy. I agree that social and political progress come more from coalition building than identity politics (ie, MoveOn.org or the Working Families Party); but that doesn’t make people’s group & ethnic identities irrelevant. We ARE all Americans, which means we all have the right to be who we are, as loudly and proudly as we want. If your non-hyphenated white majority self can get down with being part of a chorus, and not the sole voice of America, you shouldn’t have a problem with that.
    Welcome. I allowed this comment even though you are a bit on the defensive side because you certainly have your right to your opinion – and I to mine. Now my “non-hyphenated white majority self” is about to get her hackles up, coz that’s the whole point, my friend, stop pointing out our color — and btw if you do some research you will find that the demographics are rapidly changing and the numbers of other ethnic backgrounds than my “non-hyphenated white majority self” are much higher than ever before – which is marvelous as far as I’m concerned. I long for the day when NONE of us are in the majority and we are all so intermingled that the color won’t matter as it apparently still does to you since you had to make a note of mine. I never said we didn’t have the right to be who we are or to celebrate our backgrounds and I am proud of my heritage, too. Thanks for commenting and you are always welcomed back. Cheers.

  17. accomplishment on race is great, but improving our economy and quality of daily living is more important, being happy is human race’s ultimate goal, …complex issues.
    I agree improving our economy is high on the list and quality of life for the human race is extremely important — we need to help each other more and comment on our diversity less. Thanks for stopping by.

  18. Thinking about it is has been rather a strange decade hasn’t it.

    9/11 had a massive impact here as well, at first the news was quite sketchy and I thought it was an accident but when I heard the reality of it all I felt so ill with grief.

    I like your president a lot, and your first lady is so beautiful. You don’t want to swap leaders do you? 🙂

    As for reality shows we have one here called big brother. I watched it for a few seconds one morning and they were actually showing the contestants sleeping in bed.

    I am not too worried about 2012 either but I do pray so much that 2010 is a happy and peaceful year.

    I am having so much trouble ending this comment and sorry I am rambling on a bit. I will go now before I think of something else to write about.

    Take Care,
    Sandy.
    Hi hon – We borrow (read “steal”) many of your wonderful British shows like Big Brother and make them our own and our version of it just stinks to high heaven – ugh. Won’t watch it. As for 9/11 I realize it had a big impact worldwide and didn’t mean to imply it was only felt by Americans. Everyone the world over responded to the horror of it all with such compassionate outpourings of love and support. Terrorism is so pointless and so terribly sad to resort to such violence. Let’s see…swapping leaders…no, I think I’ll stick with what we have. This country elected him and I will support him. I imagine he is doing the best he can – talk about a thankless job – have you noticed his hair is already going grey? Well look at me rambling on, too. LOL I wish for you an amazing 2010 filled with happiness and love.

  19. Great post!!

    I appreciate all that you put into the internet archives here and think it’s dead on point.

    You said many things that are so true and, of course, the one that will stand out for most people is the issue of hyphenated Americans. It is a conversation that continues to tear apart all of the good ideals upon which our country was founded. It continues to destroy the most important and most valuable principles that all of our immigrant ancestors (and even Native American ancestors) brought to the US and fought so hard to preserve in their own homes as they raised generations of families that make up who we are today.

    I am Sicilian-Lebanese-American. I am proud of being Sicilian. I am proud of being Lebanese. I am grateful to both sides of my heritage for the values of family first above all, loyalty to those who earn it, pride in my work, myself, my family. I have never, however, asked that anyone name off all those things in order to identify me. In being identified, unfortunately, I only get called “white” or have to check the “white” box (not even Caucasian for criminy sake)!

    Diversity is beautiful when it is honored as a cultural background that provides a foundation for building solid, loving families; successful, ethical businesses; a strong nation. Diversity is ugly when it is used as a battering stick, a tool to fuel hatred, an excuse for anything less than personal excellence, or as an easy way to (unearned) government or societal support. (Can we do away with Affirmative Action already??? Our President didn’t need it to get to where he is now!)

    It’s true that growing up, I ALWAYS thought of myself as Sicilian or Lebanese. It never occurred to me that I am (simply) American. When I lived for years in Italy, it was repeatedly brought to my attention and clarified often. Then and only then did I appreciate and grow a fierce in being also called (simply) American. We have the greatest nation in the world with the most amplified capacity to grow, learn, live, create, earn, build – anything we set our hearts on.

    I am American to be sure – with a Sicilian and Lebanese heritage. I am proud of it all!!

    *******
    As for our President, why does everyone seem to forget that he is also “white”? Focusing solely on his “black” heritage (intentional choice of words due to the focus on color in America) only continues to keep us separated. It perpetuates the attitude of having one side versus the other. This man is as much a mixed mutt as any of us. Can we just remember that he is (simply) American and hope he will see clearly in his term to preserve our democracy as it was intended??? I think that’s a much more pressing issue than what color he is for heaven’s sake!!!!!!!

    Thanks for allowing me to speak what’s on my heart.

    Wishing you a prosperous and healthy 2010!
    Thank you for leaving a very well-thought out comment that truly contributes to the discussion. I’m glad you visited and I wish you a Happy New Year!

  20. You said what I have been saying for years! :o) What have we done in this decade that is noteworthy? Nothing. Absolutely nothing. We haven’t even gotten to Mars yet. A black president is historical, but what would be better is a black president doing something decent for our country. Apparently, we are still waiting for that one.
    Hi Nikki – thanks for stopping by and commenting. I think we may have come up with a few noteworthy accomplishments but we could have done better. As for our president, I believe we need to remember that it is the most difficult job around – and unless we all have better solutions to the problems, we need to keep letting him do his job to the best of his ability, support him, pray for his success, and remember that it is our civic duty to let our Congressmen and Senators know of our positions on the issues at hand. Happy New Year to you!

  21. Jenny, Upon looking at the poles, I’d say we’re about even on the majority issue. Although, the majority issue has nothing absolutely to do with hyphenated America. It’s all about unity and you can’t have unity if we are all claiming to be seperatists. If someone is going to claim they are mexican-american or african-american or japanese-american, then I’m going to claim swedish-russian-indian-german-american. It’s a bit long, but if someone doesn’t refer to my race as this, then, dang it all, I’m going to sue someone. :o)

  22. Hello again,

    I have just sent you an email, just a little thought I had on my previous comment.
    Hi sweetie – got it and replied. You worry too much. LOL Love ya tons!

  23. Great post, Hon.

    Aren’t we all a Heinz 57 mix when it comes down to it? The Nat Geo channel did a wonderful series on the search for our roots in DNA and the results the world over were amazing.

    My family tree members not only came over on the Mayflower, they also met it.

    Here’s to a new decade hopefully with great strides made in everything from medical research to better TV.
    I saw the NatGeo show and it was amazing. I love that we are all connected by our DNA and if it were only that simple to get us all to ACT connected. Sigh…My 1960s idealism is showing I’m afraid. LOL Happy New Year – and here’s to more writing for both of us!

  24. I think electing a black president is by far the biggest accomplishment. Obama will be able to do another accomplishment that no other president has been able to do. Health Care.
    While I am in favor of a better health care system I am more in favor of a better health care system which will Work. I reserve judgement until we see what happens. I’m not applauding him until then. Thanks for visiting.

  25. Well..once again you have written a wonderful post. I look forward to 2010 and the many smiles and laughs you will bring me. I’m so thankful I have gotten to know you. Hugs and blessing to you and your’s! Love you!
    thank you dahlink – and who is glad they have gotten to know you? Why, me, of course! You are fabulous and a wonderful addition to the bloggy world. But I miss our long chats – call me soon we have much to discuss – I know ur busy. I decree 2010 will be MY year. And YOURS, too! LOL Love you right back!!

  26. “Yes, we made progress on cancer treatments, but come on with all the money thrown at it, we should have conquered it by now.”

    *quiet* thanks for writing…I thought I was the only one who thought this way..
    Hi – thank you for visiting my humble blog. Your comment leads me to believe you have experience with that particular subject and you aren’t the only one who thinks that way. I firmly believe we have thrown money at ridiculous things when we could be saving so many lives with more research, better treatments, less politics, and a complete and total end to pharmaceutical company power. But I shouldn’t start this rant right now. Come back and visit again. Hugs!

  27. This was a great read. I’m so happy I stumbled here. I loved reading it and I agree totally about us being in this together and it’s time to stop the labeling.
    You have simply stumbled all over my blog…giggles…I’m happy you are enjoying the visit – come back often by all means!

  28. The world will still be here in 2012. You can take that to the bank…as long as you take it to the bank in gold coins and cans of food.
    Oh crap that means I have to dig up back yard and look for the stash…see ya later – on way to WalMart for canned food…oh yeah thanks for your visit.

  29. Look, we are still a profoundly racist and xenophobic nation, though by no means are we unique in our racism and xenophobia, so hyphenated Americans will be with us for a long time to come.

    As for naming the first decade of our century, I propose calling it the zeros. The next decade no doubt will be referred to as the teens.

    Harleigh Kyson Jr.
    Oh arlight but “the zeros” just sounds so ho-hum…oh wait, so was the decade. Nevermind. But thanks for dropping in to see me.

  30. Well said.

    I look forward to the day when voters elect officials based on their abilities as opposed to what they look or don’t look like.
    Oh man are we gonna be old by the time THAT finally happens. LOL thanks for stopping in.

  31. Excellent post and enjoyed reading all the different points of views left in comments. Its good people can leave exactly what they feel in their hearts.
    I’m all for free speech – even in readers’ comments, within good taste, mind you. No calling me names and no lecturing me. LOL

  32. I like to pretend the Mayan calender maker just ran out of space and time. She was probably summoned to cook the buffalo her husband just bludgeoned so she got off track and never got back to it. Before you know it, her entire civilization was destroyed. These things sometimes happen.
    Maybe she didn’t understand fractions; I know I don’t…numerator? denominator? I dunno.

  33. I’m just going to make a sign with an arrow that points to your blog and it will say WHAT SHE SAID!!!

    Spectacular!

    b
    You crack me up. Hey often the comments are better than my posting. Thanks sweetie.

  34. I understand your point but I’m from the NorthEast where hyphenation is a way of life

    We love this country as much as anybody. Many of us or our relatives came from oppressed backgrounds–my family is Jewish, we lived in Russia where we weren’t allowed to own land, have professions or be citizens. We were poor and got early. Hitler would have killed my relatives even had they tried passing for non-Jewish

    9/11 happened five miles from my apartment. I was proud of my country that day and even prouder of my fellow city residents who acted with honor and valor

    I live in the South now. Many people don’t have hyphenated identities. This confuses the rest of us.

    America is my country. I owe my only allegiance to it. But I owe my identity to a whole lot of Jews, Italians, Hispanics, Blacks, Greeks and well you get it, I lived near most of my life. We celebrated each other holidays. We love them. But Thanksgiving will always be my favorite. I was born in the middle of July and tried to get my parents to change my birthday by two weeks so I could have been a born on The Fourth of July kid

    Thanks for the civilized post and comments 🙂
    Part of my family came to Ellis Island as a result of the Potato Famine in Ireland – and my German heritage is Jewish — on mother’s side it’s more Scottish and some other blending. And I was born in England but to an American father. So I’m long hyphenated myself and proud of all my heritage – now it’s interesting what you say in the South, coz in some Southern areas you best be able to trace your lineage coz they care about where you came from! I have Southern blood in me, too — I’m just a jumble of backgrounds! 🙂 I’m so glad you visited!

  35. Hmm….I can’t call you names or lecture you so what else is there to say?? Well….except…..great job on the post, as usual….and even better at rebuttal. Now I’m going to take my “non-hyphenated white majority self” to bed and be happy I won’t be walking around with a big chip on my shoulder expecting the world to fall at my feet when I become a non-hyphenated white minority self. MUAH!
    I was so hoping you would show up because I knew of all my 9 , oops now 10, faithful readers, you would be the one to see that comment and laugh along with me at the righteous indignation. I tried so hard to be polite and respectful, but my “non-hypenated white majority self” was internally hemorrhaging. That nice but slightly defensive commenter obviously hasn’t read me before – I’m the last person anyone would remotely label entitled – giggling again as I write this. Love ya sweetie and I hope you have a wonderful New Year! MUAH!

Leave a Reply

