The Downside to Blogging

My recent post on the changes to Good Morning America generated quite alot of interest.  Most comments were kind and interesting.  Some didn’t agree with my point of view and I have no problem with that – disagree as much as you like.  What I did find distasteful were the hate-filled comments sent to me calling me a racist because I made fun of JuJu’s name.

Isn’t it interesting that no one took me to task for also making fun of George’s name?  I think so.  And therein lies the downside of blogging.  This blog is MY OPINION.  It may be sarcastic, satirical, witty, humorous, or ridiculously goofy, but one thing it is NOT is racist.

If you knew my last name and the jokes I make about it, you would understand better.  The day has come in this country where we can’t even laugh at ourselves.  Those of you who know me (and there are quite of few of you) know I meant no harm in my posting.  And I posted comments that disagreed with me and those that took issue with the Panda name joke – I can take it.

But one person left me such a rant that it was almost frightening.  I read it and re-read it, started to respond and then stopped.  What scared me more than anything was that this person almost had me to the point of editing my own blog to delete what I had written.  The words “righteous indignation” stuck out in my mind where this person was concerned and I thought he/she was truly overdoing the lecture – and I was lectured severely on the entire posting.  I felt like a child taken out behind the house and beaten with a switch.  How dare he/she lecture me.  Oops – I had a touch of “righteous indignation” myself it seemed.

And so I did what any normal person would do…I deleted the comment.  I visited this person’s blog first to get a feel of who they were and I didn’t like what I saw there and decided I would not give them a platform through my own blog.

So there you have it.  Sometimes blog postings hit a nerve, unintentionally.  And people can get quite ugly in response to what the blogger meant as something silly and humorous.

I am not apologizing for anything I said and I will not retract nor will I edit my original post.  I take great personal exception to being lectured about my “responsibility to my readers”  — my responsibility is to write my blog the way I see fit while keeping it clean.  Humor is a grey area at times – it’s subjective; what is funny to one may not be funny to another.  If you don’t enjoy my blog; I respectfully suggest you go somewhere else.

This was not what I wanted to post for today.  And that angers me, too.  This person angered me enough to force me to comment on my own posting.  So fair warning:  keep your indignation to yourself; because I will delete your comments as fast as you spew them at me.

What a toad.

To my 8 faithful readers (and any others out there) have a super weekend and I’ll be back with something on the lighter side Monday.

16 thoughts on “The Downside to Blogging

  1. I agree we can’t please everybody and if some one disagrees with what we post then just move on no need for hateful comments, I myself have deleted spiteful and hateful comments because I supported gay rights, and yes honey I know your last name and I could see how it could be poked fun at. My maiden name was Ewers which the (Ewe) part is also another name for a female sheep in school several mean girls would make sheep noises at me while walking the halls of horror of jr high. Have a blessed weekend big hugs to you and your family MWAH!!!
    I am very happy w/my married name but I’ll let you in on a little secret — my maiden name was Cook. Now you who know my married name…think what people could have said had I taken my maiden name and hyphenated it with Devoted Spouse’s name. Even he agreed it was simply too funny to consider! See? I can laugh at myself and my name because it really is funny. Here’s another funny for ya: I made up a chicken recipe once – it was really good. Devoted Spouse said what are you going to call it? I said:
    Chicken (insert my last name here). He about fell on the floor in hysterics. Again, those of you who know our name, will get the funniness of that. I later re-named the recipe to Linda’s Chicken. MWAH! right back atcha sweetie. Hugs and blessings always sent your way!

  2. I have hate filled comments and was even called a *ucker in one comment that I definitely deleted and called them one as well and worse as I deleted it!

    You are absolutely right that blogging is an individual’s perspective and opinion and we are never, ever going to agree with even half of what is written on the bloggy-verse and wouldn’t it be sad if we all did agree? Who is to decide what is “right?”

    I have butted heads with people commenting nastily about tattoos in general and mine in particular, over religious bias and prejudice when I have read it, and over abortion and gay rights. Not everyone agrees with me and there are a lot that I certainly don’t agree with but I usually try and just walk away from those blogger’s posts that irritate the heck out of me because I don’t appreciate anyone lecturing me on my opinion so I try to not do it to them. The good old “do unto others” principle.

    Just let it roll off your back and don’t sweat the small stuff, unless they become a cyberstalker, then by all means, give them heck 🙂

    I know your last name as well and yes, you have a great sense of humor and can laugh at yourself. Most of us can take a joke and those that can’t need to get over it.
    Thanks sweetie – it’s friends like you who keep me blogging when one remark can make we wonder what the heck I’m doin’ here – but only for as long as it takes me to realize it came from a jerk who thinks he/she is better than anyone else. Blechh. I like my sense of humor just the way it is and the rest of the world can juts chomp on my big ole butt. ROFL!

  3. Toad? I had something else in mind. I don’t understand people like that. Don’t like it? Don’t read it! Love you Sweetie, just the way you are!
    I had other things in mind too, but it would just put me on his/her level and that serves no purpose. I’m blessed I have bloggy friends like you who keep coming back and have fun right along with me! Love you too kiddo! Thanks for always being there.

  4. Keep on blogging my dear and to the devil with the nasties out there.

    “You can please some of the people some of the time, all of the people some of the time, some of the people all of the time, but you can never please all of the people all of the time.” ~Abraham Lincoln~
    Trust me, one smart-a$$ed toad will not stop me. 🙂

  5. Hello my friend,

    I just wanted to offer you my support, I love your blog and your writing. You always make me smile and have swept many a mood away with you tales of EmmaLou.

    You were the first person ever to post a comment on my blog and if it were not for that introduction into the blogosphere I would no doubt have stopped posting by now.

    I know how you feel, someone who I really liked and who I thought liked me said something really dreadful about me. It took me ages to get over it but as Rachel told me “It is their problem not yours”

    I know it is easier said than done but please try not to let them get to you and whatever you do keep on posting. I need my daily fix of you and EmmaLou.

    God bless you Linda and take care,

    Lots of love and hugs,
    Sandy.
    Sandy, what would I do without you and all my bloggy friends who always come running to my side when some dastardly toad hurts my feelings and I think of shutting down my blog. My day wouldn’t be complete without a dose of all of you – I love you too, sweetie! Hugs and blessings.

  6. I think some people don’t even have issues with what you wrote but look for things to rant about so they can create a buzz and maybe bring people to their blog. It’s good to not give those kinds of people a platform. Kind of deflates them, I’m sure. Keep on saying whatever you want to say….you’ve got all the power in this joint. HUGS
    Have I told you lately how awesome you are? Well you are. MUAH!

  7. Well I’m behind on my blog reading, so I must go check out what you said that generated such controversy, but I have never even known you to be controversial and don’t get why people who are so angry don’t just leave the blog. But that is why we have the “delete” function. I must say, when I get emails I don’t like, I happily hit “delete” and pretend I’m deleting the person and my anger melts away as I do that.
    I have it out of my system but if I see that person lurking around my blog I will report him/her for harassment. It is nice to have a delete key – over it. LOL

  8. WTF
    To all you pea-brained haters out there, this Croneandbearit blogger is a personal friend of mine.
    And guess what?
    She loves me for who I am. I am half Asian.
    If you don’t like what you read, then move on along to another blog.
    ‘nuf said.
    See? There you go – I KNEW I could count on you to know that I was not being racist toward any ethnic group – You are simply the best. Jeez when are we gonna get over ourselves and stop this political correct nonsense and enjoy the humor in our humanity and in our diversity? Hey – listen up I come from Irish peasant farm stock and I’m part German so what part of me isn’t drinking is eating. See? It’s a joke – that’s all. BTW you are my hero. ‘nuf said.

  9. And don’t you dare even think about shutting down this blog, Sister dear.
    Often I am too busy to post on my OWN blog, yet I find time to visit YOUR cool blog. That’s how much I love it here.
    (hug)
    ‘k

  10. I say “ditto” to what everyone else here said. And now for my two dollars worth.

    Tell the nitwit, I mean nice person, to just go read the TP post if he/she wants to see what our sense of humor is like for most of us here. And you are the only person who could get us to admit if we are folders, crumplers, or other. Honestly who else is gonna make us admit half the things we do here. And as long as us, what are there 9 of us now, your loyals readers like all of what you write, then that is all that matters.

    So let me see, I am a racist, I race to the bathroom everytime I gotta go, I race to go get the baby, I race to cook a crappy dinner, I race to the doctors, I race to everything, but I am a slug when it comes to running. I never run, hell I rarely walk. As to where my ancestors come from, well lets see, one grandparent is from the Philipines, one from Mexico, one is Jewish from Norway, one is half Native American Indian, the other half is from Germany, Holland, and Ireland. My hubby is well you know one of those white minority males in the world. My grandkids are all of the above along with some of them having ancestors from Africa, so if you ask us what we are, we will tell you, we are Americans because we were born in the United States of America. Our ancestors came from other countries but we come from here. We are part of the true melting pot of America. We vary in color from dark skin to light skin and the one thing we all have in common is that we love each other very much. And for goodness sake, I am named after a bottle of wine. What is wrong with that?

    Plus when we were growing up we would be the only kids in our school with a Mexican last name (see my email address name), half the people did not even know how to pronounce it. It is kinda fun to have an unusual name and to be different then others. And I am so different that I am strangely normal in many ways. Oh okay, I am just kidding, I am not normal in any way.

    God bless.
    And this is why I share these things with my 9 faithful readers coz sometimes I get my feelings hurt and your job is to comment and say awwww, sweetie it will be alright. And you always do. Then I can go back to making you laugh and making you all admit things you didn’t want to admit like folding or crumpling. I feel so much better now. What is normal? I’ve never known normal! Hugs and blessings.

  11. You tell them Cronie. It’s the same as T.V., if you don’t like what’s on, flip the channel. Same at a store, if you don’t like it, go somewhere eles. Same with food, don’t like, don’t eat it.

    Why can’t people play nice!
    Because then we wouldn’t have anything to complain about! LOL

  12. I’ve always found it mildly terrifying that some anonymous lunatic could take issue with something that I say. Although most of the people who read blogs will remain faceless and harmless, there are always the off kilter few that give you pause. Never edit what you say. This blog is fantastic and I would never want to see you second guessing yourself because of this sour note. There are loonies in all walks of life. In the office, the street, the grocery store. I guess it takes all kinds:)
    Thanks for the compliment and the encouragement. Sometimes I just get so blindsided by what people have the nerve to say, it throws me completely off kilter and makes me wonder if I’m as bad as they say I am. You’re right there are some real loonies out there! Hugs!

  13. There are some “sick” people out there making comments on blogs-blogging-and just shopping in the stores. Always prudent to just be careful and I have found you can never win an argument with an ignorant person so why try. I like your blog just the way you have always done it. Been good for some really good laughs and a lot of fun. My only regret is I don’t get around as often as I would like.
    Thanks Joe – and you are right there are alot of people out there who make rude comments on blogs and face to face. I’m gonna work on not letting them get to me so much. I’m glad you visit and it’s okay if you don’t get here that often; I’m not going anywhere. 🙂

  14. Ha on MrsUpole’s comment on being a Racist. Yep, we are all racists. I’m racing through my lunch RIGHT NOW.
    Gots to go. Bye
    You make me laugh so hard milk races out my nose and that’s really funny coz I’m not drinking milk. bwahahahaha

  15. Your responsibility to your readers?? What’s up with that? If they don’t like what you write, they can go somewhere else. How stupid is that?
    Yeah! You tell ’em! 🙂

Leave a Reply

