Food Friday

As a good southern gal (regardless that I currently live in OH), I have been a faithful subscriber to Southern Living Magazine since 1985.  I’m proud to say I have every one of their annual cookbooks dating back to that year and they’re all nicely lined up on my bookcase in the kitchen with the other tons of cookbooks.

As my friend Michele will agree, a girl’s best friend is a cookbook.  I have always collected them – I have hundreds from antique cookbooks to the modern ones; they are stored in kitchen and basement.  Recently, I’ve had to divest myself of a few since I’m running out of shelf room.

Yesterday I received two pleasant surprises; one of which I can’t divulge yet — it will be in a future post so you will just have to wait but I will tease you with the fact that it is fabulous.  The other surprise I received yesterday came in the mail in the form of the 2009 Southern Living Annual Recipes cookbook!  Woo-Hoo!  Another to add to the collection.

Now I love going through this cookbook, but the difference between my friend Michele and me is she actually uses and adapts recipes from her cookbooks.  I pretty much just like to read mine.  I might make a couple of the easier recipes but mostly my enjoyment comes from reading the recipes and looking at the pictures.  Ridiculous, I know.  Maybe this time will be different and I’ll actually go back to cooking for Devoted Spouse instead of just throwing something together.

That would make him so happy.

And because I’m dedicating this posting to Food – here’s an easy peasy recipe from the 2009 book for one of Devoted Spouse’s favorite foods — corn.  That boy would eat corn at every meal if I let him!

Corn Pudding

Makes 6 servings.  Prep time:  10 Min.  Cook time:  20 Min.

2 cups milk

1/2 cup yellow cornmeal

1 (16 oz.) package frozen whole kernel corn, thawed

1/2 tsp. salt

2 Tbsp. whipping cream

Bring milk to a boil in a heavy saucepan; gradually add cornmeal, stirring until blended after each addition.  Cook, stirring constantly, just until mixture begins to boil.  Reduce heat, and cook, stirring constantly, until thickened.

Add corn, stirring until mixture is the consistency of whipped potatoes.  Stir in salt and whipping cream.  Serve and enjoy!

So because Devoted Spouse has been taking such good care of me this entire year through one ailment after another, I’m gonna whip up a batch of corn pudding for him.   I’m sure it will go well with that tv dinner I had planned to serve…

7 thoughts on “Food Friday

  1. Beloved and I have something in common. I love corn pudding. I have a recipe that calls for green chillies and it is baked like a souffle. OMG to die for.

    I do use my cookbooks everyday. It is the only way I can justify to JR my need to purchase just.one.more. I think you win the prize for the most though.
    I’m envious of your cooking prowess — I just throw stuff together, protein, veg, salad, etc., repeat next day. I need to take more time and be a little adventurous and I’m working on that. I think DS is gonna love the corn pudding tonight – I have some jalapenos in the fridge – I may toss a few of those in – he loves jalapenos. We’ll see. It’s kind of risky putting a recipe on my blog that I haven’t tried yet but if it doesn’t work, I’ll take it down quickly! I spend hours sitting in the local bookstore perusing cookbooks and I show great strength by not buying all of them. I do have waaaaay too many and I decided that now if I bring a new one home for my kitchen bookcase, I have to take one out and sell it at the HalfPrice Book store and so far I haven’t bought any more. LOL

  2. I used to collect cookbooks. It started with one my Mother gave me when I was 19. Lovely photos of delicious meals. Then I realized I don’t LIKE to cook! I gave them all but the one, to my sister who so enjoys making a meal with love. I’m glad she can use them. She even makes stuff out of them for me:)
    I love to cook but it just hasn’t been a good year for me – for so long I couldn’t use my right hand or arm and that makes cooking difficult – plus then the stove broke and since I was incapacitated we just learned to use the convection/microwave and I let DS do the “cooking” for a long time. Now I’m recuperated but I’m lazy – I’m so out of practice. I’m getting back into cooking a little at a time. And I’m not baking for the holidays this year or I’ll blow up like a Macy’s Day Parade balloon! LOL Can’t gain weight if ya just look at the pictures in the books…

  3. Heh, I collect cookbooks too. And I’m another who prefers to just read them and daydream about the recipes rather than actually COOK them.
    Great I’m not alone then…

  4. I too like to read cookbooks and check out recipes to see if they sound like they would be yummy or bummy. I have a few recipes that I picked up that way that I still make now but I haven’t really cook-cooked in a long, long time. I think I am loosing what little touch I had!
    Aside from the hundred or so cookbooks, I also have two wooden recipe boxes chocked full of things I cut out of magazines for years and some old family favorites and a few I made up – I dip into the boxes every once in awhile but usually just to refresh my memory on the old favorites not the ones I cut out from magazines. Duh. Time to go through the boxes, ya think? LOL

  5. I think my Grandmother subscribed to that magazine and cookbooks. That corn receipe sounds yummy and will have to try it. Sounds like you are starting to get better-I am so glad…I like to cook-just haven’t been able to lately but hope to with the Christmas holidays around the corner…Take care and rest and don’t overdo it…
    Wow, that makes me feel old! LOL I don’t know why I first subscribed — we were living in Virginia and I think a neighbor had one and I loved the decorating articles and all the pretty pictures of southern dishes. I never cancelled my subscription to the magazine in all these years – even got it when we went overseas. Strange. Yes, I’m better, but it’s gone down to my chest now so I’m hacking up my lungs regularly and that just wears me out. Very tired. Going to have a quiet, quiet weekend and rest. Love you! Hugs to the twins!

  6. I used to have a ton of cookbooks but I got rid of many with the advent of the internet. Sometimes I miss them.

    BTW I have a recipe for corn pudding but it’s finished in the oven. Yours sounds good.

  7. Hello! Thank you so much for visiting me c/o Mari and leaving a comment. Of course I recognise you from Scriber’s too. Sorry to take so long to respond but I was down with the flu. I’ve enjoyed reading through your recent blog posts, and meeting EmmaLou. (I note she has her own armchair – Lucy has her own space on the sofa…!) I first saw the Southern Living magazine about five years ago and loved it but have never seen it since – I love reading Southern authors like Fannie Flagg and Rebecca Wells, and all that Southern warmth. Like you I have an embarassment of cookery books, but when it comes to US corn recipes I have a history of getting hold of the wrong end of the stick… Fortunately Dan (Mythos) put me right following the rightful place of a corn bread in a meal (NOT a substitute for nut roast!) and the recipe he gave me is now a firm favourite with the family. But now you’ve got me all confused again. See – corn pudding? Is that a dessert like rice pudding or some Southern vegetable side dish?! Please tell, and I’ll try it out! Bye for now, Janice.
    Hello sweetie – you are every bit as charming as Mari said you would be – it’s a pleasure to meet you! As for the corn pudding – no it’s not a dessert, it’s a side dish. I think they call it a pudding to distinguish it’s consistency — I meant to make it the other night but I, too, have been a bit ill, so I am now planning on preparing it as one of my side dishes on Thanksgiving and I’m crossing my fingers that it comes out well and Devoted Spouse likes it. So, maybe you should wait until I make it and I promise to let you know the outcome!! EmmaLou is usually to be found on the living room sofa as that’s where I perch in my comfy chair when I’m blogging. She pretty much follows me from room to room – but the picture of her on the heading was taken in my home office as I was at my desk working on schoolwork — she just climbed up in my NEW chair and proceeded to go to sleep. Cheeky little girl. I love her so. I imagine your Lucy is much the same! Thanks for visiting – talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

