Yes Virginia, There is a Santa Claus and He Arrived Early

NikonD3000

Some of my bloggy friends know I’ve been looking around for a new camera.  I have two small digital cameras that take good pictures but are simply crap to try to get anything close-up or anything far away.  Since I love both close pics and landscapes, I knew it was time to seriously consider upgrading my camera equipment.

Both Devoted Spouse and I spent hours researching, reading, discussing and considering various makes and models.  What did I want this for?  The answer to that can mean the difference of big bucks, believe me.  I decided I didn’t need all the bells and whistles, nor did I need the capability to make a video – I wanted to be able to take clearer pics of EmmaLou and have some decent camera equipment for when I am on a barn hunt — yes I like to wander the country in search of old barns to photograph.  I have no idea why I am drawn to old architectural sites; old barns, churches, etc.  We all have our strange quirks, and those are some of mine.

Anyway…I narrowed my choices, talked to some bloggy friends, hunted the internet and then the other day as we were strolling through Target, Devoted Spouse said, “Let’s go take a look at cameras.”  Well, forgive me for being a true snob, but I’ll be danged if I’m going to buy an expensive piece of camera equipment at a store like Target — c’mon we really don’t know where Target or Wally World gets their merchandise and what’s to say these might not be very well constructed knock-offs? (no I’m not accusing either store of that, I’m just sayin one should buy appropriate merchandise at the appropriate store.)  Yes, Target had my camera but the price was really high and while I enjoyed looking at it, there was no way in you-know-where I was buying it there, or for that price!

Saturday Devoted Spouse got this great idea — let’s go on an adventure.  I had been cooped up in the house for awhile resting my back and I needed to get out and get some fresh air.  He wanted to visit a camera shop he was familiar with  in a neighboring town and I thought it would be fun to go to lunch afterwards.

Turned out I had an expensive egg salad sandwich.  Reminded me of the time years ago we went out to buy a box of broccoli (don’t go there Auntie) and came home with a new red pickup truck.

You see, the store was having a pre-holiday sale on the exact camera I wanted, a Nikon D3000, PLUS they were having a sale on the particular zoom lens I also wanted.  Holy cow – how could I refuse? The price of the camera and both lenses was far less than anywhere else we had seen, plus I was happy that this was a bonafide camera shop — a place I could return if I had issues or questions and actually talk to someone knowledgeable about photography.  I mentally did some bill re-arranging (deciding I would buy a new power cord for the laptop and baby it along for a bit longer) and looked at Devoted Spouse and said something to the effect of “Merry Christmas to me.”  He smiled and agreed.  What a guy!  I think he’s happy because he now has years of gift ideas for Christmas and my birthday — all camera gadgets and accessories!  I have no problem with that.

So now I have my new camera and I’m thrilled and a bit intimidated coz this thing has more dials than a nuclear reactor console.  I’ve read the quick instructions which made my eyes bleed – and managed to snap my first pic of guess who?

Hi Mom! I'll be your first subject!

Now it’s not an award-winning photo, but it’s my first using an actual DSLR and I think the clarity is better than some of my older pics of EmmaLou.  Give me some time to practice and learn what everything means and boy will Wordless Wednesday become alot more fun!

So if you don’t see me here as often it’s because I’m out driving around the countryside looking for the perfect picture and having fun with my new toy!  It”s beginning to look alot like Christmas…

12 thoughts on “Yes Virginia, There is a Santa Claus and He Arrived Early

  1. Awesome camera. I have an old 35mm Nikon which I love but film is such a waste of money these days. I need a new camera too.

    I hope you enjoy yours. I’ll be looking for some cool photos.
    Hi sweetie – my husband also has an old 35mm Nikon – in fact he gave me his camera case so I didn’t have to buy one. I hope I master it – it’s really pretty intuitive; but there’s alot more to learn than from my little rinky dink digital. Hope to have some good photos soon!

  2. My – we are in sync! I just wrote my post for tomorrow which is about my new baby … a camera also! And I also just told my husband this afternoon that he now has built in gift ideas for years to come because there are so many accessories I’m looking forward to eventually acquiring. For me, it is a long awaited return to photography after being forced to quit due to my injuries. My first photo w/my new camera is of one of my retrievers also. It will be on 24 on Monday. Mine is of my choc lab this time … usually my golden gets all the blog time! (He’s more photogenic!) Anyway – congratulations on your new toy! I’m jealous you have barns nearby to photograph.
    Now how cool is that!! We both did it at the same time – can’t wait to read your post and see your photos! I have always enjoyed wandering the countryside taking pictures, now I have some decent equipment and hopefully the pics will be better quality and maybe frameable. Hugs!

  3. That is such a beautiful camera and the picture of EmmaLou is fantastic. I wish I lived near any old barns. Most of the buildings here are less than 40 years old. Everything is fairly new. If my allergies were not so bad then I would go up to the mountains or search through some fields to take pics, but for now I will have to wait.

    Looking forward to all the pics you post.

    God bless.
    I’m working hard to figure it all out – there’s alot to learn with one of these things! I hope to get some good pics up soon. Hugs!

  4. Oh wow! How exciting is that! That’s a gorgeous camera. I can’t wait to see more photos. I have a Nikon D60 and love, love, love it. Glad that Christmas came early for you this year!
    My friend Susan (Oz Girl) also has a D60 and that’s what she used to snap pics of us when we met here a few months ago as she was driving through town. Thats what started me on a Nikon – I really liked hers. Fun, fun, fun. Devoted Spouse is tickled coz now he knows what to get me for Christmas and my birthday for the next 20 years or so….

  5. Love it when Santa comes early!
    Me too, but there will be considerably fewer presents under the old tree this year…like NONE! LOL Don’t care – I’m happy!

  6. Oooo! Have fun! Can’t wait to see what you can do with that baby!
    Wish the fall foliage wasn’t about gone – darn – well, we’ll just have to go on a wandering and find some old barns or something else interesting!

  7. Congratulations on finding just what you wanted and needed. A Merry, Pre-Christmas To You!
    The cartoon was a replica of a photograph that appeared in a Life Magazine back in the thirties. A large boa constrictor actually dropped from an overhead limb and had a photographer in his clutches. The camera man first snapped the action and then went to the rescue of his companion.
    thanks sweetie – how amazing you knew the background of the cartoon! Thanks for sharing that! Hopefully I shall never find myself and my new “toy” in a similar situation – coz I’d probably use the new camera to beat the everlovin’ snot outta the snake!! LOL Hugs!

  8. I’m sure you will enjoy the camera.

    Several years ago, DH gave up on going about taking pictures and gave me his Kodak Z612. It certainly works better than my little HP635.

    However, I’ve found that to DL the pictures it’s easier to switch the cards and us the HP to DL. The Kodak software was too proprietary.
    My own DS is now loading the Nikon software onto his laptop for me so I can download pics and not have to use my own just barely alive, limping along, laptop. He will regret that I’m sure as I will have to use his laptop even more often!!

  9. Glad you got your camera that you really wanted and hope you have lots of fun with it. DS is such a sweet man.
    I was truly blessed the day he came into my life – I may have to write a story about it I think…hmmm…

  10. congrats! my old camera has a screen that is loosing its color. Ugh. I guess I am going to have to buy a new one soon.
    Wasn’t quite ready but the sale was just too good to pass up! Now I need to put off buying a new laptop, (tuition and books coming due soon!) so I’m hoping the new powercord I ordered today does the trick and I can get this piece of garbage to keep limping along till after the New Year.

  11. Congratulations on your new camera!! I went through the EXACT same thing earlier this year for the same reason……the point & shoot takes excellent photos but no macro.

    And I agree, I’m not spending hundreds of bucks on a piece of equipment on the information from someone who last month was stocking shelves.

    I did the research online and ended up buying my camera online and decided on a Canon Rebel.

    http://itsarealjungleoutthere.blogspot.com/2009/09/say-cheese.html

    And I’m having a helluva time figuring out all the dials and settings, too. So far I’ve mostly just shot on auto. When you figure yours out, will you come here and figure mine out?
    Believe it or not sweetie the Canon Rebel was my second choice – the reason I went w/the Nikon is 1)it was on an amazing sale at a real camera shop and 2)the camera shop specializes in Nikon so if I have issues they will have help for me. And yes, I’m still using Auto — while I read all the books I have bought about this camera and digital photography in general — someone needs to come instruct ME!! LOL I do love it, though!

Leave a Reply

