The Fun Just Keeps Coming

the washing

I have mentioned once or a thousand times during the course of this year about my issues with home appliances.  It seems as if every time I turn around something else decides to die a horrible electrical death.  Recently the refrigerator bled out (oh it was only water) all over the kitchen and into the dining room (I hate GE Profile so much).  Prior to that the oven had given up and we were reduced to using the microwave (which wasn’t bad really). At the time I had an injured shoulder and couldn’t pick up anything to get it into an oven anyway.  The air conditioning went out during a very hot spell (naturally) and to get the best deal and the energy tax rebates we went ahead and replaced the furnace (it was a disaster waiting to happen anyway).  Today I actually made the final payment on the furnace/air conditioning.

I was feeling so good about not having that high amount of debt for the furnace/ air conditioning hanging over my head that to celebrate (I know, I’m strange)  I decided to help Devoted Spouse by taking my turn at doing a few loads of laundry.  He was busy with other home maintenance issues and I didn’t want to bother him.  I can get the laundry baskets bounced down two flights of stairs without spilling much more than an errant washcloth and errant washcloths are a favorite of EmmaLou so everyone is happy.

After 3 loads of laundry and the associated trips up and down two flights of stairs, I was really feeling my oats, so to speak.  I got a little too excited – laundry-wise – and decided it was time to wash the coverlet off our bed.  Now this is not a heavy comforter, just a lightweight cover, but it is somewhat large.   Went through the wash cycle with no problem.  Went through the dry cycle with no problem… sort of.

I went down to the basement to check on whether or not the coverlet was dry and at the foot of the stairs I smelled something burning.  Oh crap – I’ve smelled that aroma before — it’s a burned out motor and it had to be coming from either the washer or dryer.  Crap, crap, crap.  I got to the laundry area and the washer was just humming along doing its thing happily unaware that right next to it, its mate was dying a horrible slow death.  I unplugged the dryer and called to Devoted Spouse.

He came downstairs with appropriate dryer tools in hand.  He pulled the dryer away from the wall, took off some of the back panels, rummaged around a bit, and the smell was still that of burning machinery.  I decided then and there I didn’t want him to try and fix it – it needed a decent burial; it was 12 years old and had fought the good fight.

So off to the Big Orange Box of Toys (Home Depot) we went and being the smart consumer I am, I did a pre-emptive strike and bought not just a dryer but its matching washer, too.  These aren’t the big hummers you see advertised on tv — we don’t generate that much laundry, and frankly I don’t need a steam function on my dryer.  That’s why God made Dry Cleaners.  But they still run about $800 each.  Crap.  There goes that Mac I wanted to buy.

What irks me is while these are high energy machines, we don’t qualify for the tax credit because the state of Ohio is just now dickering around with the paperwork with the Federal Government to figure out how to go about this process.  So we get the energy benefits, but no tax credits.  Grrrr…stupid bureaucracy.

So, let’s tally this up for 2009 – a new furnace, new air conditioning, a new water softener, a new stove/oven, new refrigerator, new washer, and a new dryer (we bought a new dishwasher in late 2008 so that doesn’t qualify even though it was pricey).  All told, almost $12,000.  That’s alot of money for one year.  But the good news is I won’t have to put out that kind of dough again for a long time hopefully.

On the other hand, there is a hot water heater lurking in the basement and I can hear it whispering and plotting…it’s up to no good…I just know one of these days I will wake up to cold water coming from the bathroom shower and a flooded basement and realize I should have replaced that water heater the day before…sigh…

Appliances…can’t live without ’em…can’t find a trebuchet large enough to fling them where the sun don’t shine…

13 thoughts on “The Fun Just Keeps Coming

  1. You have had the worst appliance karma ever. Hopefully the hot water heater will wait until the washer and dryer are paid for.
    You are right – 2009 has just sucked major. But I’m looking forward. And when this set of appliances is paid for and the stove and refridg are paid for (I’m close) I will buy a new hot water heater whether it has broken or not – looking into the hot water on demand types even though they are more expensive up front. And THEN maybe I will be able to relax for a few minutes prior to the next house crisis – lol At least it gives me blog fodder! 🙂

  2. as an innkeeper who’s constantly doing laundry.. i feel your pain

    gp
    I can’t imagine how many loads you must go through. We don’t generate that much as it is just the two of us and then there are the doggie towels. Of course walking through Home Depot what do I see first? The amazing huge monstrostity washers and dryers that do everything short of cooking your next meal. I quickly told the salesman I was NOT buying that. Plain old heavy duty Maytag, please. I requested he not only include the water hoses, but also someone to actually DO the laundry. He failed to see my humor. Poor man. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. You have had a heck of a year lady both in the injury department as well as the “Let’s re-d0 all of our appliances” marathon. Ye-Gads!!!
    I know sweetie – if I read all this nonsense on someone else’s blog I almost wouldn’t believe it, but it’s true – I have had a black cloud over my head for the entire year. But I keep hanging in there and saying prayers and I know it will get better. The joys of homeownership – I’m thinking downsizing to an apartment sounds good about now – let the landlord put up with this nonsense! Nah, EmmaLou needs her yard. sigh…

  4. This just hasn’t been your year, expenditure wise. You need to win a contest or something.
    I do indeed. Or maybe I should put a widget on my blog and request donations! LOL

  5. Excellent, you just gave me an idea, donation buttton, I love it, I know exactly how you are feeling. Cripes I was going to teach my dog to paw paint, but this is better, less messy.
    I know a guy who funded his college education that way. I only mentioned it as a joke; I would never ask people to donate so I can pay my appliances off – just a joke. I do, however, wish someone would send me a hefty check in the mail. LOL

  6. It never fails, when one thinks they see the light at the end of the financial tunnel, there’s a cave in. For us, as soon as we see that light, one of the dogs decides that we need another pricey vet bill. 🙂
    It seems to be one crisis after another but we persevere and keep praying for daylight! 😉

  7. I hear all my kitchen appliances whispering and plotting, too. I’m putting off as long as I can.
    I did pretty good in this house – nothing major broke down for the first six years, but then it was EVERYTHING at once and that hurts. My new appliances have such an attitude – better make sure they aren’t tweeting yours! lol

  8. Now if they send you a hefty check, just make sure its a chain check with all our names.
    Don’t hold your breath…but I would be happy to share with all my bloggy friends coz all you guys are just the best!!!

  9. Oh that sounds awful! So much money on freaking appliances! You could have gone to Europe for a month and lived like a queen! I am on the brink of all appliances breaking on me. Fridge, dishwasher, AC. Sigh. Good luck with your appliances. Also, I whisper sweet nothings to my appliances when I use them. Maybe that will help? 🙂
    I now tell them how pretty they are in the hopes they will last until we sell this house and move to our little piece of country down south (which I haven’t found yet by the way…)

  10. YIKES;how sad to have to shell out for all of those appliances and forgo getting a Mac…

    I sure know what you went through as we had the same thing happen a couple of years ago, but just for the stove, fridge, coffee maker and microwave(all within weeks of each other)
    OUR water heater is plotting too, I can tell…lol!

    By the way, you obviously just loved those ads too(think it was for GE?) where the woman does use a trebuchet to throw her old appliances away!?
    LOL!
    I am a trebuchet addict and wish I could put one in my back yard and fling crap to the neighbor with the pool and to the crazy Chinaman in back. LOL

  11. Gosh, so sorry to hear about all the stuff going down and having to be replaced. Boy do I know what you are talking about when things go wrong and just keep happening…Can’t stop it no matter what!
    Hopefully, your bad karma will disappear now and only good stuff coming your way-I sure could use some good karma myself.
    I know you understand! This has been such a hard year for me – between the accident and then that awful bout of shingles (which I’m STILL not over and its been a month) and every danged appliance here dying. It’s been a nightmare. The good news is, well, stuff happens, and you have to be able to roll with it and get yourself through it and know there’s a better day ahead of you. I just keep praying and finding things to smile about and laugh about. I wish I could make it better for you sweetie; you know you and your family are always in my prayers — love you!

  12. My cell phone broke last week and so had to go buy a new one. The one I picked is called, “Karma”. I just thought it was a cool new gadget and liked the looks of it. Then saw the name and am hoping that things change for next year. The good news is that there is less than two months now left of ’09.

    God bless.
    I am praying fervently that you, Auntie, MotherMari, and I and everyone else out there in bloggy land who needs it, has a wonderful year coming up in 2010. We have had our trials and tribulations and I pray God gives us a breather soon. Karma – I hope it works for you! I need to get me some of that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

