It’s a Zoo Out There!

subBanner_animal

Someone told me
Its all happening at the zoo.

I do believe it,
I do believe its true.

Its a light and tumble journey
From the east side to the park;
Just a fine and fancy ramble
To the zoo.

But you can take the crosstown bus
If its raining or its cold,
And the animals will love it
If you do.

Somethin tells me
Its all happening at the zoo.

The monkeys stand for honesty,
Giraffes are insincere,
And the elephants are kindly but
They’re dumb.
Orangutans are skeptical
Of changes in their cages,
And the zookeeper is very fond of rum.

Zebras are reactionaries,
Antelopes are missionaries,
Pigeons plot in secrecy,
And hamsters turn on frequently.
What a gas! you gotta come and see
At the zoo.

Okay – who can tell me who did the above song?  It was a fitting song for a Sunday afternoon as we spent our afternoon with friends at the Cincinnati Zoo.  It was a gorgeous fall day — sunny with just a little breeze.  But of course we forgot that Halloween is fast approaching and today was the zoo’s Trick or Treat day.  I have never seen so many costumed children and adults in one place in my life.  Wow – thousands of folks turned out and it was cute to watch all the little ones in their costumes and there were some interesting adult costumes too – including the one guy dressed up as a duck (he was entirely too happy in his costume — odd).  Fortunately one of our friends works there so we got to park in the employee lot and get in as guests!

Being claustrophobic, I had some problems during the day with the crowds and would have to sometimes just stand still and let all of them go around me until I could breathe again.  I don’t like being surrounded by people.  Alot of the animals were snoozing – most of the cats were all taking siestas.  Even the gorillas were rather subddued.  I got a couple of shots of the lions but they, too were napping.  My friend told me the Mexican wolves got a Parvo virus and died – I was horrified to find that out – but they did have two other wolves in one of the natural settings and I got pics you can barely see because the wolves were way up on a hill;  they really blended in with the background, plus I have this crappy little digital camera that doesn’t zoom very well.

We had a blast at the zoo – it was my first true outing walking up and down hills for hours since my accident and I thoroughly enjoyed every hilly moment!  I bet I actually get some sleep tonight coz I’ve about walked myself to death!

As for the pics – the first one is yours truly and Devoted Spouse – the rest are my feeble attempts to get some snaps of a few animals.  I missed being able to feed one of the giraffes by about 3 minutes – darnitall – I love giraffes.  So here’s a zoo video instead – in the video they are eating greenery but at the enclosure it was a dollar to feed them what looked (to my horror) like a big animal cracker.  Oh well I tried.   Unfortunately the large giraffe was lumbering off as I got there.

We did see the gorillas get their pumpkins and that was fun — silver back gorillas have always been a favorite animal of mine along with wolves and flamingoes.  The flamingoes in Cincinnati are so pale compared with their cousins in Florida – but it was still fun to see them all.

Monday is going to be a very quiet day at Chez Crone and Bear It – after all the exercise today I think breakfast in bed is in order.  Hope your week starts out well and just gets better!

Croney & Devoted Spouse in front of the tiger exhibit

Croney & Devoted Spouse in front of the tiger exhibit

there's a wolf up there somewhere!

there's a wolf up there somewhere!

just lion around taking a snooze

just lion around taking a snooze

these lions are so lazy

these lions are so lazy

possum cartoon

11 thoughts on “It’s a Zoo Out There!

  1. Sounds like a busy day, mucho hiking! You guys look so good together, that’s a great picture of you both. And I think you deserve that breakfast in bed tomorrow… enjoy!! Hugs sweetie!
    Hi Suz!!! We had a ball and it was so much fun to feel good enough to enjoy this blessed day w/my sweetie pie and good friends – be gone cane! I’m walkin’, I’m walkin’…LOL Hugs right back atcha!

  2. I’m glad you got out and had a good time. I would have loved to have seen all those costumed people. I’d probably have just sat down and people watched rather than animal watching. People watching….my favorite sport.
    the kids were cute but some of the adults were downright bizarre – it was fun getting all the candy — they had treat stations set up and my friend Marshall just brazenly walked up and got candy for us at each one he walked by. He has no shame. It really did me a world of good to get out — I just feel like I could tackle anything now!!

  3. Nice to see you and hubby! I love the zoo and don’t go nearly as often as I should. I love the chimps. And having a good night of sleep is an added bonus.
    I’m still so wound up from having all that fun! I will hopefully fall into bed exhausted before too long and I am hoping and praying for just one night’s sleep please! 🙂

  4. I haven’t been to the zoo in years! So glad you got out and enjoyed the day. Now rest, relax, sleep:)
    I did sleep in today almost until 8 am which is rare for me! But rest? Nope, I’m going out shopping and exploring — it’s a lovely day here and I feel really good! Woot!

  5. Lots of exercise=a good night’s sleep, at least that’s what I hope you get. 🙂

    Love the pics.
    It was marvelous – and I didn’t awaken all crippled up for once in my life! Yippee! I feel fabulous!

  6. Looks like you had a lot of fun there at the zoo. Congrats on walking without the cane. I hope that means you are feeling a lot better. I also hope that you are getting a great nights sleep.

    I enjoyed the video and the pictures too. I found the wolf, but I could not tell if there was one in the wolfcave.

    And I wish that I could send all of my possums to that Country Safari. Splat…there they go. But then again, how would I get any exercise.

    God bless.
    We did have fun but I was concerned about climbing all the hills – why would a zoo be built around such terribly hilly terrain – it must be virtually impossible for anyone who is in a wheelchair because I’m telling you those hills are BIG – they do have a tram that runs and we rode it once between two sections – but there were so many people and children it was even difficult for the tram to run! People everywhere – yikes it about drove me nuts as I detest to be stuck in the midst of crowds and screaming children. But it was worth it. BTW there were two wolves but none in the little wolf cave – one was just to the right outside the picture but he had blended in so well with his surroundings I didnt think I could capture him with my crappy digital camera. AND – the possum cartoon was just for you sweetie, just for you — I knew you’d relate! Hugs!

  7. I forgot about the song, so was it Big Bird or any Sesame Street characters? Or was it Barney? That’s all I got. Unless it was Mr. Ed.

    God bless.
    No dahlink – it was a Simon and Garfunkel song. I’m so disappointed no one mentioned it; it was a fabulous song. Sigh…

  8. I am so happy to hear that you were up to the outing at the zoo since that means you have to be improving at least a wee bit and that is a very, very, good thing!

    Sounds like a wonderful time with wonderful friends.
    It was indeed a wonderful time and I had a blast! And the good news is today I feel just as good even after all that hill climbing!! Woot!

  9. I think that we forgot about the song when we got to the zoo stories and pictures. But then a few hours later I did remember and I came back to try and guess, which I was so far off. But now that I know who wrote it, I can sorta remember hearing it before, at least I think so.

    I only got 4 1/2 hours of deep sleep and not sure why I am awake and so I am trying that Calcium Citrate with the magnesium. I just found out that I had a big giant bottle that I had bought at Costco with 300 giant horse pills in it. So I am eating some almost burnt toast and took 3 of those horse pills. Okay, just took another one, so 4 total. I gotta go check for the total amount I should take.

    And I keep forgetting to tell you that I have tried Melatonin and nothing happened. Maybe I need to take 5 or 6 to have it work. And then I tried L-Tryptophan (the stuff in turkey) and nothing happened. I tried Nitey Nite herbal tea, I tried some Indian sleeping tea, nothing happened. I am thinking that maybe I should just eat a big turkey sandwich each night and see if that works. Thanksgiving dinner always makes me tired. But then that is cause I am too full to move. Although the last couple of years I have not done that. I think I was still tired, so it must be the turkey. Dang it, I have no turkey in the house.

    I am gonna post a new Crap post today and I am gonna come off of my break and get the Mrsupole’s Place going again. I figure if I don’t do it soon then I will forget what I am supposed to put on there. Possibly do it tonight or tommorow. Yikes, what do I post about. Hmmmm. Is it okay if I look through your cartoon site?

    And I am so glad that you are not in pain today. That is totally awesome. I was really worried and I do hope you slept well.

    God bless.

    PS….it is so hot today (almost 90) and I had to get up to turn the A/C on. I cannot sleep in the heat. Gonna go back to bed and try again.
    I’m gonna try both the melatonin and the Calcium Citrate and see if either works. As for turkey, well, that won’t work for me coz I’m about the only person I know who doesn’t like turkey! Now as to my cartoon site – it doesn’t belong to me – its just sort of my signature. So you certainly don’t need my permission but it was nice that you asked anyway. Take care sweetie and get some more sleep! Hugs!

  10. Looks like a great time and you two are a gorgeous couple. I LOVE your hair.
    Thanks sweetie – we did – I’m not crazy about the pic – she had me turned a funny direction and I look like I have linebacker arms and twenty chins – oh well. I didnt realize how red my hair was in the sun – of course I never see it. Duh. LOL I’m such a dork…

  11. Piece ‘o cake….that’s Simon and Garfunkel. One of my favorites. Great picture of you, too, BTW.
    I sing their songs in my head alot these days and have all of Paul Simon’s cd’s. Love that music.

Leave a Reply

