So…Here’s the Deal

Jesus with Pilate

Jesus with Pilate

Twice now I’ve found a glaring error in the Instructor Notes provided for my class – TWICE.  Each time I’ve emailed my Professor.  The first time his response was, “Very perceptive on your part.  Of course I don’t write the Instructor Notes…”  He hasn’t responded to my second email.

Not only that, but I’ve found errors in both textbooks.  That surprises me at a graduate level – I used to find errors all the time in textbooks during my undergrad work.  But this is Seminary – one should be more careful where God is concerned, shouldn’t one?  A statement in one textbook cancels out a statement in another textbook – both for this same class.  So which one am I supposed to believe?

I have a Quiz to take on Friday –  and I’m not very comfortable that I have mastered every piece of minutia possible to cover this Quiz – they’re notoriously filled with arcane references to teeny little sentences one never reads.  I think tests in general should be covering the major important stuff, but that’s apparently just my opinion.  I already learned that lesson from another Professor.

At least this Professor has been very kind and very helpful and he prays alot for me.  I obviously concern him in some way.  He sends me very nice emails telling me my Discussion Question responses are exceptionally well done, concise and thorough, and that my writing has a very nice flow.

I feel like I’m in a Stephen King novel.  Nice job on this project but BAM ya only get a C on that test – muahahahaha… oh by the way I’m praying for you on your paper.  Does he know something  I don’t know about my paper?  Like I’ve bitten off more than I can possibly chew perhaps?  Nah – he couldn’t know that for sure – only I hold that information and now all of you, too.

So, here’s the deal — I won’t tell the Seminary honchos that you guys keep messing up on the Instructor Notes.  And I won’t inform anyone that their choice of textbooks should be complementary and not oppose each other.  And in return I get an A on the remaining two Quizzes.

I think that’s fair.  After all I am paying for this you know.

13 thoughts on “So…Here’s the Deal

  1. I’m impressed that you’ve only found a few errors. I’ve seen textbooks with the wrong set of answers to the quizzes, and typos so bad that clearly no one even bothered with a spell checker. But for me the worst was when my textbook publisher gave my manuscript to a new editor they had just hired from a fiction house. My book was a second level textbook on transistors. She wrote that the book needed a better plot to engage the students, and she misspelled transistor!

    Good luck on your quizzes.
    Goodness I hope they fired her – what an incompetent! I usually find errors – it’s the editor in me; I can’t help but look. Quizzes give me terrible stress – I’ve put it off as long as I can – I HAVE to take it today. Ugh.

  2. Well all I can say is that I am glad you figured this all out before you get your final grade.

    Hopefully your teacher will figure out how intelligent you are and that by finding these errors that it just shows you are truly studying.

    Just remember that we are praying for you. And that we have faith in your abilities to do well.

    God bless.
    Just the thought that someone is praying for me helps me calm down. Thanks sweetie. All I can do is my best and we’ll see how “tricky” this quiz is. The last two have been almost unbearably confusing. Ugh. Then finish the paper – I keep putting it off and it’s due next Sat!!! I can do this…I can do this…I can do this…

  3. Questions on minutia are designed to let the instructors know that you actually read the material.

    And if you believe that I have this bridge I need to sell fast.

    My belief is that they enjoy torturing their students…
    I believe your last sentence sums up my feelings quite well, thank you. 🙂

  4. I think that’s just the worst when you have errors in testing materials. What are the students to think? I had to take a 10-key test last week for a job… one fake check had two different amounts on it – one in the dollar box, and a different amount on the dollar line! Good grief.

    Hugs and fingers crossed for you – I think you’re going to do great! 🙂

    (I FINALLY posted about our meeting… I know, I’m eternally slow in getting caught up on my blog. Hey, it goes along with my post though – I’m trying not to hurry so much in life! LOL)
    I jeed to come visit your blog, then don’t I – I got to most of my bloggy friends the other night but for some reason I missed you – oops my bad! Soon, soon…

  5. I agree tests should be about important stuff and not what color shoes were being worn. And really! I think he’s trying to psych you out with all the Prayers he’s saying. I mean I know it’s Seminary and all but jeeze! Oh and when one of those questions comes up that has two conflicting answers, give him both!
    Remember I got your stress today so go ace that test!
    Prayers are good, but you’re right he’s starting to worry me! LOL I don’t know about acing the test – I’m just going to do the best I can and hope for a miracle! Ackkk….

  6. Seriously? I’m shocked. How is a person supposed to know whether she’s coming or going . . . with all the contradiction…not to mention the errors? Good luck to you!!!!
    Yes – it happens all the time – I just decided to jot it down this time for a posting. I am always finding conflicting stuff – and I remember writing in my blog a long time ago about quitting Seminary because the text I was using was so racist, anti-Semitic, and anti-woman that it made me insane! Editors make mistakes – it just irks me that these Professors have so many Grad Students assisting them – yet nobody sees this stuff. I’m still weighing the pros and cons of this degree – that’s part of my meditation as I take this next semester off to rest and finish healing — do I truly NEED to be attending Seminary? It’s a long, prayerful process to come up with an answer – I decided to ditch it a few months ago and then changed my mind. Who knows what I’ll do when the January semester is looming?

  7. I’m sorry you are feeling conflicted yourself. It’s amazing how this kind of thing goes on..the errors, I mean. I work for a HUGE corporation, yet receive memos all the time with spelling and grammar errors…drives me bonkers. I mean, if I’m sending something out – it not only represents ME, but also the corporation…I’d want it to be perfect! KWIM?
    I’m just hesitant to go forward for some reason – these classes are taking such a toll on me and on my personal life (I have none while I’m in class it seems) – I’d like to double up and get done, but they are so intense I’m afraid two at a time would truly drive me over the edge – this is some tough stuff to wrap your head around. I hate to give up, but I’m just so tired after only 4 classes and there are 8 more in the program! We’ll see – in the meantime I will take my pleasure in finding errors!

  8. Perhaps in some strange way this is part of the test friday. Never feel your not good enough to do this paper. You can do this! as far as getting the A’s don’t you think all should get an A, if the information is incorrect?
    I like the way you think. Unfortunately I took the test and squeaked out a “C”. Very upsetting – I had to run for some retail therapy to put me in a better frame of mind! And pick up a pizza on the way home so we can have some long over-due carbs for dinner. I’ve starved off 10 pounds in the last month and a half and I’m suddenly hungry. Uh-oh. The paper will wait until Saturday – I need some quiet time the rest of today after that disastrous quiz. And to think I really studied – and still only got a C. Crap on a crutch.

  9. Please, be charitable to my poor young editor, it wasn’t her fault, she was hired to copy edit English text books, not electronics. Her boss gave her the wrong assignment.

    Having taught in colleges for many years I have come to see that a little test anxiety can actually work in your favor by getting your entire body ready to take the plunge. Unfortunately we have been taught as a culture to fear all anxiety which causes it to escalate when we have it.

    But then all my tests were open book, open note events, with a few optional questions.

    Best wishes to you, don’t forget to breathe.
    Well, in that case I retract my firing statement!! The boss should have been taken to task instead. Tests are just my downfall – no matter how hard I study, I always panic and the information just goes flying out my head. I took it, and got a C. Blechhh. At least I passed. I’m trying to convince myself anything above a C is overachieving anyway. Nobody is going to look at my grade point average for this degree; no one cared about the last degree; just the fact that I had one. I studied and studied, and I even did deep breathing exercises prior and I said a prayer and dug in and once again everything went blank. Oh well. Tomorrow is another day!

  10. I’m not sure if these classes are going to be the death of you or not. Your blood pressure during this process has got to be pretty high and that’s not good.

    Take a deep breath, relax and think positive thoughts. You will do great.
    I just love how all of you encourage and support me and send me “happy vibes”! I got a C – so I passed, but I wasn’t happy about the outcome AT ALL coz I studied my heart out! But I passed. Now to finish the paper, then lots more text and bible readings and one more quiz and I’m outta there for three months! Maybe I’ll be able to get my 3 craft projects done for my 3 buddies who wanted something!!!! Blood pressure is low, thank you. Stress level is high and I’m actually sitting here gobbling down a box of Good n Plentys. Hard to believe I’ve dropped 10 pounds in the last month and a half and I’m eating Good n Plentys. Stress is such a dorky pal. Sigh…

  11. That must be disappointing to put all that effort in and get a C. That’s why I’m done with school forever.
    It was, and I had to get out of the house for awhile. So I went and wandered around Barnes and Noble for awhile and put it all in perspective. It’s just a quiz – it isn’t that I’m not learning – I am – I just don’t test well under a timed situation – I never have. It makes me nervous and I make silly mistakes. Whatever…LOL

  12. Linda, I never fail to laugh out loud when I visit your blog. You rock! Forget those darn ole tests anyway!
    Thanks sweetie that means alot to me! And I’m sooooo over it! 🙂

  13. The picture of Emm is perfect as it is right after your post—- jumping to comments—- Kind of how you feel?

    Always:
    M
    Pretty much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

