Sunday Worship and Praise

The picture above is a Byzantine mosaic of Christ which comes from an 11th century monastery outside Athens known as Daphni Monastery – to read more about it visit the site I’ve noted under the picture – it’s quite interesting.

As I continue on in my biblical studies I find I’m fascinated by the historical aspect of Christianity; the people of the time; how they learned about Jesus and what they did with that information.  I’m currently studying the early parts of Christianity and the New Testament — how we got the Gospels; who wrote what and how the stories made their way around various parts of the world and into the Bible that we know today.  It makes me want to go “walk” the Bible and see the places where Jesus taught and performed miracles.

I’ve been reading alot about the disciples and I’m fascinated with their stories – these were simple men that Jesus chose for specific reasons to do specific tasks and spread his message.  Jesus knew each one of them had a purpose to fulfill for Him.

I asked myself,  had I been a lowly fisherman sitting in my boat one day pulling in my nets and wondering how these few meager fish would feed my family and some man came along and said to me “Come, follow me and I will make you fishers of men ” (Matthew 4:19 NIV) …would I drop everything and do just that?  Follow him?   At one point a “teacher of the law” wished to follow Jesus  and actually said, “Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go.”  Such instantaneous devotion  – how I wish I could have been at these places to be an eyewitness, but how would I have reacted?  I sometimes think I would have reacted as it states again in Matthew 8:21-22, “Another disciple said to him, “Lord, first let me go and bury my father.”  But Jesus told him, “Follow me, and let the dead bury their own dead.”  That’s powerful stuff — would I have dropped everything, not looking back and followed Him?  Or would I have said, but first let me go home and make sure the dog has food and leave a note for my husband?

I don’t know that I would have had what it took to be a true disciple of Christ – I don’t know if I could have suffered through the persecutions the early Christians did as they never went back on or denied their faith in Jesus.  I’ve read the early church history and I would urge you to do some reading on early Christianity, too.  Would you have allowed a Roman to pull you limb from limb as you refused to worship the Emperor, and refuse to deny that Jesus was Lord?  That was faith and it’s something I strive for every day as I wake up and pray,

  • “Heavenly Father thank you for granting me another day.  Please let me be a blessing to someone all for Your glory and let me do no harm Lord.  And may I always seek your guidance first because it is Your will not mine.  Be my guide today and every day — You control my life, not me.”

Total submission… following without question  – I want to be that disciple.  Do you?

Here’s a video of Josh Groban and the African Children’s Choir singing You Raise Me Up.  Enjoy – and remember God loves you, is always with you, and will never leave you!

4 thoughts on “Sunday Worship and Praise

  1. Thanks! Good challenge and encouragement for this Sunday morning!
    Hi sweetie – I haven’t talked to you in so long but I think of you often and hope you are doing well with missions. God bless.

  2. I would love to have been able to see Jesus. He must have been quite a person with quite a presence indeed to captivate to many, right down the centuries.
    He is the center of my life and my inspiration. Oh to have been there and actually heard him – it must have been more than I can simply express in words.

  3. You put into words so many things that I have asked myself over the years. When I went to Nigeria to share God’s work in my life I had little fear but I also had little opposition or persecution. I don’t know what I would do if and when that persecution arises, and I feel that it will. I only pray that God will give me His supernatural strength and courage when the time comes.
    Amen.

  4. I sometimes wonder if the time will come sooner than we think with all crazy people out there already, who’s names I will not mention, that want us to believe the way that they believe or don’t believe and will we be called upon to state our beliefs. We can only hope and pray that we will be strong enough in our souls to never deny Christ is our lord and savior.

    When I read a lot of blog sites, I am so surprised at how many strange beliefs some people have. They call God a “she” or a “he/she” (like they cannot decide), they worship nature and not Jesus Christ or they worship Wicca and a lot of other strange things. I try to ignore what they say because it is their blogsites and I would not want them attacking my blogsite, but then I also wonder if this is wrong and should I say something to them. I do not know the answers, but I think that if they did attack Jesus directly then I would have to say something, but I always say a prayer for them to truly find Jesus someday.

    But then I also wonder sometimes when I see someone who worships their church more than they worship Jesus Christ, or they feel they have to talk through someone instead of being able to talk to Jesus and God directly, I wonder if I should say anything to them too. I have actually tried a few times and then I hit the brick wall. Their church is the right and only church or they ‘have’ to talk through this person to reach Jesus or God. So I usually keep these thoughts to myself and pray for them too. As I am just as sure that they think I am wrong in my beliefs and that they may be saying a prayer for me.

    But I do worry that by keeping quiet and not saying anything to everyone, am I already denying God, I pray I am not. I try to teach the grandkids that they should always love God and Jesus above all others, and I pray that I am able to set that example. I always sign off with “God Bless” on every blogsite in the hopes that they all know that I am saying a quick prayer for them and I am hoping that they will think of God at least once that day when they read this. But I also mostly say it to remind myself to think of God as many times as I can each day.

    God bless, and thank you for sharing a beautiful video and sharing such wonderful thoughts with us.
    I’m glad you enjoyed my ramblings – I believe I’ll try and make this more of a regular feature if time permits so I can share some of the wonderful knowledge I’m getting as I work through this Theological Studies Masters program. I asked my Mentor at church to try and check up on my Sunday ramblings so he can correct me if I err on the theology or any other part.

    I think every generation wonders if they are in the final age – remember the early Jewish followers of Christ thought their time was the final age, too. No one knows; we can only try and follow the signs we have been given in the bible and it’s anyone’s guess. Besides Jesus specifically says we will not know the hour or day so we should simply be prepared for any moment that He will return. My opinion is that many of the biblical prophecies have already been fulfilled and we are getting close, but that’s solely my opinion – I’m certainly no expert on eschatology.

    Ah, yes, our friends the Catholics, who have to go through a priest to get to Jesus or God – I’ve gone round and round on that one for the last 30 years with my Catholic friend to no avail – she thinks I’m basically heretical for being a Protestant and I think she’s gone down the wrong path by listening more to the traditions of her church (traditions and teachings such as celibacy which were put forth solely by men, not by Jesus and then there’s my favorite one the infallibility of the Pope) and we just agree to disagree.

    No, you’re not denying God by not speaking up – He understands we all sometimes hesitate to be vocal evangelists and when the time comes, you will be given the words to use. I like that you continue to pray that people will find the true path of Jesus – sometimes that’s the best we can do and all prayers are heard. Trust me when you witness to people in any manner you are not hitting a brick wall, you are planting a seed; one which may or may not sprout, so never worry about saying something to someone if you think they’re headed on the wrong path; one that doesn’t include our Lord and Savior. You don’t know that you haven’t reached them — it may take time for the words to take hold in their own hearts.

    Who is right and who is wrong? That’s only for God to say in the end I believe. I trust in Jesus and in my heart I know He is the way to the Father because He has told me so in my bible and I believe my bible to be the undisputed Word of God. I also think I’ll just let God sort it all out when we all meet up with Him. I send you Hugs and may God richly bless you and yours – and send healing your way!

Leave a Reply

