Church Uniforms…Sounds Like a Project Runway Episode to Me

Oh puhleeze spare me the psychobabble

Oh puhleeze spare me the psychobabble

Read an article today that left my jaw hanging open.  Seems Mr. and Mrs. Tom Cruise are getting into the fashion business.  And they’re not designing cute outfits for kids, or stuff for the savvy celebrity; no, they are designing uniforms for the Church of Scientology.  Again – uniforms for the Church of Scientology.

Okay – first of all Scientology isn’t a religion; it’s a cult started by a science fiction writer who then promptly disappeared from sight.  Oh wait – let me quote to you from their website the definition of the Church of Scientology:

“Scientology is a religion in its highest meaning as it helps bring man to total freedom and truth.  The essential tenets of Scientology are:  You are an immortal spiritual being.  Your capabilities are unlimited, even if not presently realized.  Furthermore, man is basically good.  He is seeking to survive.  And his survival depends upon himself and his fellows and his attainment of brotherhood with the universe.” That comes right from their website.  So then I looked up the word “religion” on dictionary.com and I got this:

“a set of beliefs concerning the cause, nature, and purpose of the universe, esp. when considered as the creation of a superhuman agency or agencies, usually involving devotional and ritual observances, and often containing a moral code governing the conduct of human affairs.” The key words here are “when considered as the creation of a superhuman agency or agencies”; ergo, Scientology is not a religion.  I rest my case.  No hate mail – my blog, totally my own personal opinion here.

Anyway, enough preaching – back to the fashion nonsense — I can understand clerical clothing — look at Catholicism and priestly robes –priestly garments go all the way back to the Old Testament – so I don’t have a problem with that.  But what Tom and the Mrs. are designing are, and I quote:

“The scarlet-lined black capes with skirt and trouser suits are almost identical to the sort of clothes favored by Tom and Katie, if a little more vampire-themed.”

Now that’s just plain creepy.  Why would you need to wear a cape anyway – do they think they’re superheros?  I’m just so amazed at what people are doing these days and calling it religion or a “church”, I can’t find the words to describe it.  I dunno, I’m thinkin’ these people are just one step away from the Jim Jones Kool-Aid…go HERE for the original article – I couldn’t possibly have made this stuff up if I tried.



7 thoughts on “Church Uniforms…Sounds Like a Project Runway Episode to Me

  1. I totally agree…..Scientology is a cult and a really stupid one at that. Who in their right mind believes this is remotely a religion? Who needs uniforms for a non-religion? I’m stunned.
    And how many members are well-known celebrities? Hmm I see a connection here – it’s that “feel good” thing New Age crap mentality of Hollywood. I jumped for joy when one of the Baldwin brothers became Christian and started actually talking the talk and walking the walk – what a role model for the rest of them but do they listen? Nope. Scientology is spreading rapidly and that scares the crap outta me that people would actually fall for this nonsense. Why don’t people learn that there isn’t a Comet that is going to take you to heaven’s gate and drinking the Kool-Aid won’t get you in to see God – what is the hold these liars have over people – remember the Branch Davidians? It really frightens me how easily people are led to the slaughter. Oh well – I’m preaching again. LOL

  2. You see the high power, mucho money making stars like Mr. Cruise and Mr. Travolta so they can “spread the word” as in see, we believe and look at what all we have. You don’t see the rank and file Scientology members that are losing all their hard earned money to this cult. I know all churches ask for money from their members to help fund the church but Scientology costs a new member thousands of dollars just to get started on the first level. That right there would send flags to most smart people but others are easily swayed by the “flashy” members/celebrities because this type of personality is unduly influenced by stardom and/or charismatic personalities. I also feel these are individuals that don’t think for themselves and are simple lemmings following the leader.
    It saddens me to see how they believe they are enlightened beings and yet they wrongfully worship themselves and seek only to “better” themselves – why do people fall for this junk? A sense of needing to belong somewhere, anywhere; unfortunately Scientology is not the “where”. Anyone wishing to “better themselves” need only pick up their bible and start reading – that’s the path that leads somewhere.

  3. That is just plain crazy , perhaps they can sew “oh yea” on the back with a kool-aid emblem LOL
    It isn’t only crazy, it’s dangerous because our younger generation look to their “celebrity” peers, and people such as Cruise and Travolta and all the other Scientology devotees have done so much damage in the name of “religion” – it’s not religion unless God is in it – and God is not in Scientology, only man.

  4. The sad part, they will make monies from this in some way.
    Oh they are definitely making money – and corrupting many people all around the world with their heresies. It deeply saddens me that anybody would believe this over the Word of God.

  5. sounds like the things the people wore in that weird ass movie he made with nicole kidman…the people with the capes and masks?? weirdo
    Ewww I had forgotten that movie – it was weird I remember now how happy I was I only rented it not paid money at a theater for it. It does sound eerily like that. Yuk.

  6. I think that these people who are stars or almost stars get into it because of how they have help from the others in that field and they promote each other with the money they get from the lower level people who do all the work to give so much money. I try to ignore the people that I know are in that cult. I think you sell your soul to be part of them. I think that is what Katie Holmes did when she chose to become Mrs. T C. Because she is still new they have to watch her everywhere she goes to make sure she follows their beliefs. I think it would suck if I had to do that.

    Anyway I guess all we can do is pray that us and our loved ones never fall under their cult lure. And I guess we could pray for those who have been sucked into the cult and we can pray for their freedom from it.

    Lots and lots of praying needed out there in the world.

    God bless.
    Hi sweetie – you are far too strong to ever be sucked into a cult. I pray, too, constantly that people will be led to Jesus because He is the only way. Pray, pray, pray. But I still get to laugh at their silliness; capes, honestly! Maybe they’ll put a big S on the cape? *giggles*

  7. As with a lot of “stars” we the people put them up on a pedestal and make them almost “god like” beings and start thinking they are better than God and know all about everything…..which is the case of TC. He even knows more than trained physicians, ya know.

    Personally I hope they all use their scarlet lined black capes to take a flying leap off a tall cliff. I’m sure their “religion” will save them since they are “immortal” and have unlimited capabilities.
    Hi swee’pea – when I went to the website and read the garbage there I was simply dumbfounded at the word “immortal” – these poor people are so misguided. One day they’ll find out the truth and be given a choice and we’ll see whose knee bows. Rest assured I will be bowing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

