Sunday Worship and Praise

Michelangelo's Pieta which I was fortunate to see in person

Michelangelo's Pieta which I was fortunate to see in person

I like to celebrate Sunday as God’s day and thought I might blog about God things here from time to time on Sundays.  After all I’m studying Theology – I might as well talk about it.  Don’t expect anything earth shattering.  I’m no preacher – I’m simply a humble believer – I’ve seen His wonders and can’t imagine a life without the constant presence of Jesus.  He has been right by my side throughout my 8 months of recovery from my injury and I am so blessed each and every day that I simply cannot find the words to express the joy of His love.

Today I want to share with you one of my favorite Christian songs – this one we often sing at my church, The Vineyard.  Enjoy the pictures while Chris Tomlin sings How Great is Our God.  I hope you, too, celebrate this day God has graciously given you – praise Him and thank Him for all your blessings.  You have no idea how great His love for you is – it is infinite – we are ALL his children.

6 thoughts on “Sunday Worship and Praise

  1. Hello Linda,

    I hate to say this but there was a time when I did not believe in God, then I witnessed something very upsetting but strangely peaceful – not long after I prayed for the first time in years and have had this wonderful feeling of being cared for ever since.

    I really believe God has assigned each of us a guardian angel and there are times when the day is quiet that I can feel her presence quite strongly. I don’t know how I would have coped at times if it were not for Gods guidance.

    I really wish I could find a way to repay all he has done for me – but I suppose if we try to be good in our hearts and care for each other then that will please him.

    I wish you a lovely peaceful Sunday my friend and may God bless and keep you always.

    Lots of love and hugs,
    Sandy.
    Hi hon – I’m happy you’re a believer. You are on the right track by all means. In the first three Gospels, Jesus put it this way:

    Jesus replied: ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ Matthew 22:37-39 (New International Version)

    Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself. ‘There is no commandment greater than these.”
    Mark 12:30-31 (NIV)

    ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself. Luke 10:27 (NIV)

    God doesn’t expect you to “repay” Him – all He does for us is out of his grace, mercy, compassion and divine love for us – just obey Him, praise Him, and follow what He tells you in the bible. He just asks that you believe in His Son as Redeemer and help others always.

    May God richly bless you and yours sweetie,
    Love,
    Linda

  2. I have been reading this short book about people in history who did not believe in Jesus and then later on in life they believed in him. It tells short stories of what changed their mind. I like this little book.

    I wear my cross necklace everyday and I know that some people wonder why some Christians do this. I have a tendency to reach up and hold it during times of need or stress or just when I need assurance that I am not alone. I also am not sure why the few times I had to take it off and forgot it was off that I sorta freaked out that I had lost it. I have worn it for almost 30 years now and it is just that what it represents is part of my body and soul.

    I was watching on the news today about the girl in Florida who has accepted Jesus as her savior and is worried that if she is forced to go home to her Muslin family that they will kill her, justifying it as an “Honor Killing”. I am going to pray for her safety and that the courts keep her safe. I fear for her and hope that others pray for her too.

    I really think that she would enjoy the video and the pictures so much. They were wonderful and I loved the song. I know you are going to do so great in theology, how could you not. You are so filled with love for others and that is probably the most important thing you need. Well beside a love for studying.

    The very first thing I posted (with an older account) was the Ten Commandments. I have them hanging on a wall in the living room. I know sometimes they can be hard to totally follow, but I try as much as I can. And I think that it is also hard for some to understand that Jesus is a gift, given to us from God.

    The most wonderful gift in the world.

    God bless.
    We’re on the same page as usual sweetie. Amen. I wear my cross necklace every day. I, too, hold it in times of stress. It’s comforting even though I know He’s right by my side all the time going through whatever I’m going through, too. The first time someone asked me to pray for them was because she saw my cross – that’s another reason I wear it – it’s an outward sign of my belief.
    I will also add the young Muslim woman to my prayers. I’d also like to know the name of the book you were reading; I’d like to read it, too.
    Thank you for the kind words and encouragement in school – I do enjoy this subject area and I have a passion for God so hopefully, the two will coincide and I’ll graduate one day! But I’m still learning from the Southern Baptists (coz their Seminary is one of the few I can “almost” afford to attend and gosh, we really disagree on things.) What’s interesting is the class got an email from our Professor stating he looked forward to our discussions and disagreements – that sorta opens the door for me and I’m gonna pray that my tongue stays in my mouth once again and doesn’t get me in too much trouble! LOL
    Hugs and blessings!

  3. Hi Cronie,
    Thank you for the share.
    There have been many times when I felt my belief in God was very shakey…when my Dad suddenly died, then a few years later my twin brother was murdered…But it’s amazing I can still thank God for the small blessings I have in life.
    And I see you went to Italy and saw the Pieta? It’s amazing, right? I want to go back and see Italy again one day…
    Everyone gets a bit shakey in faith – and sudden death and untimely wrongful death is never easy to deal with – we immediately want to blame God. I get shakey too sometimes when I think He’s left me and being entirely too quiet. It takes patience on His part with us and on our part to remember always that He made us so we must be okay! And, no, I did not see the Pieta in Italy – it was on loan and I can’t remember if it was in London or in DC or Germany. Brain cramps. It is absolutely stunning! I saw it before the crazy man took a sledgehammer to it and I don’t know if they were able to restore it all or not.

  4. yes I have had my moments of Blaming God,but I know that in the Bible even God greived ,and got angry .none of us are perfect which goes back to Adam and Eve.Only Jesus had no sin,but died for ours.Be Blessed

Leave a Reply

