From the Womb to the Reading Room…or Did She Really Ask Me That Question??

peter-rabbit

I have a stepgrandson who is 15 months old.  Awwwww.  I have never seen the little guy due to the fact that the parents live across the country and I have had varying health issues which have stopped me from traveling.  His grandfather, Devoted Spouse visited him when he was a baby and also gets to go visit next week.  Darnitall – I want to go, too.  Sigh.

Instead of my being there, little Chase will simply have to have his Grandfather read to him from one of the books I choose to send — oh goody a trip to Barnes and Noble is in order.

Off to Barnes and Noble I toddle, waddle, limp, whatever.  I wander back to the Children’s Section and immediately I am in sensory overload.  It’s big.  It’s full of books of all shapes, sizes, colors, and textures.  It is broken down by age and type of material.  There were little pink things, and dinosaurs, and superheros.  I just stood there in the 0-3 section looking at whatever would attract his attention — preferably something with lots of colors he could giggle at while his Grandpa read this silly little book to him.

I must have looked terribly out of my element because a young woman came up to me and asked, “Do you need some help?”  I smiled back at her and admitted that I was trying to find something for my 15-month old grandson and I didn’t know what to pick.  She then said to me “What does he like to read?”  Let me repeat that for you so it sinks in fully.  “What does he like to read?”  He’s FIFTEEN MONTHS old; I dunno, maybe War and Peace with fulll color pictures?  Do you have the latest Stephen King available in the 0-3 age range perhaps?  Or how about a good mystery – I’m sure that would keep him firmly in his little seat until his next diaper dump.

I thanked her and said that perhaps I should just wander around until something caught my eye and she walked away.   I actually settled on a bound series of Golden Books with about 5 different stories and a lovely (although it’s too old for him yet) book of Beatrix Potter’s Peter Rabbit series (his grandfather and I both loved those stories as children).

Sometimes it’s not the clowns or the spiders that scare me — it’s the “normal” people I encounter.

7 thoughts on “From the Womb to the Reading Room…or Did She Really Ask Me That Question??

  1. That’s so funny. I’m guessing they didn’t have any children of their own- or at least I hope not! My son (who’s 2) loves ‘the very hungry caterpillar’ and ‘the gruffalo’ I would highly recommend them.
    I hope that’s the case! Her question truly floored me!

  2. Good for you getting the little guy books. He’ll love them no matter what. Spoken like a true librarian.
    It was my first thought – I remembered how much I loved reading as I grew up so I thought the Peter Rabbit book was a good choice for him for a little later and it’s something hopefully he will keep and treasure. I still have my original Mother Goose book and I’m afraid it’s reaching the age of “antique” LOL

  3. I love your choice in books, I bought a lovely book full of Beatrix Potter stories some time ago. I suppose I should say for my niece but really it was for myself.

    By the way thank you for your email, I have replied but am not sure if my email got through or not. My computer is acting a bit strange.
    I love old books – nursery rhymes, Beatrix Potter, the works – I love the fantasy of it all and I wouldn’t give up my collection of old Nancy Drew books for all the money in the world! I think I like children’s books the best because I didn’t really have many when I was a child. My wicked stepmonster managed to throw out the ones I did acquire when I was too young to realize and do anything about it – about the same time she decided I was too old for my stuffed animals and they went out, too, one day while I was at school – but I was lucky to have hidden my beloved Mother Goose (which by now is an antique!!!) LOL

    Yes sweetie I did get ur reply – it’s so nice to hear from you! Hugs!

  4. I started reading cook books to Tadpole when she was about 3 months old. Too bad she tuned them out and decided she didn’t like cooking. Maybe I should have read her books about doing laundry instead. 😉
    Or books about being rich and famous and sharing all your wealth with your mommy…I sometimes read out loud to EmmaLou; she likes Stephen Hawking’s “A Brief History of Time” best — she’s enthralled with string theory — she just doesn’t realize it’s not REAL string they’re talking about… *sigh* I have too much time on my hands again…

  5. Never too young for Peter Rabbit. D1 could recite the entire story at age 2 because we had read it so many times. She would sit with the book and appear to read each page aloud when in reality she had it memorized. She would turn the page at the appropriate place and continue to “read”. I still love that story.
    And that’s why I bought it!

  6. What you read isn’t that important…..what a dumb question though.
    At 15-months it’s more about the senses – colors, things to touch, making faces – they don’t remember the words necessarily just the fun time of being read to. But I don’t have children of my own – what do I know – maybe there ARE 15-month old prodigies out there who can read. It just seemed like a silly question to me at the time.

  7. I think you could read them the comic section of the Sunday paper and they’d be happily entertained by your time, attention and all the pretty colors. What a good gramma you are even if you can’t be there to take due credits. HUGS
    Thanks sweetie – I thought the same thing; that it wasn’t so much the book itself, but the time taken that Grandpa would have to read it to Chase and let my little stepgrandson look at the colors and touch the book and identify the animals, etc. Devoted Spouse could read him the NRA magazine and probably get the same reaction to all the cool guns, etc. but step spawn would be totally pissed as she’s extremely anti-gun. Oops. Note to Devoted Spouse: Don’t wear the Charleton Heston tee-shirt while visiting! LOL

Leave a Reply

