Come and Get It! Treat Time!

emmalou-002

Ya’ll know EmmaLou, the Golden Destroyer – see above.  You’ve heard for several years now about her antics and her destructive yet loving behavior.

Ya’ll know me by now.  Quasi-normal, middle-aged, slightly off kilter humor-wise, often sarcastic, hopefully witty, gorgeous – oops, went too far.  Anyway, you know I have this propensity for just being slightly ditzy.  Slightly.  Let’s not get carried away here.

Tuesday morning started out as such a great day – I was up early and on Twitter just having a great time with all my tweeps playing SmartAss.   I had a luscious bagel and 3, count them, 3 cups of yummy coffee.  I wrote my blog post.  I answered emails.  I sent Devoted Spouse out to run an errand – it was a great morning.

About 10:30 or so I had just gotten cleaned up to go for my hair appointment.  Thought it was time for a little snack.  I love cottage cheese – so does EmmaLou.  It’s her favorite snack besides my furniture.

So I opened up a snack sized cottage cheese and hollered out, “EmmaLou, cottage cheese!”  No response.  I went to the family room and checked the couch, no Emma.  I went to the living room and checked the couch, no Emma.  I checked the basement thinking Devoted Spouse might have accidentally left her down there.  No Emma.  I looked out in the back yard; I checked the garage.  I remembered that Devoted Spouse was upstairs taking a shower and sometimes Emma likes to just lay on the bed and wait for him.  So I stood at the bottom of the stairs and once again hollered out, “EmmaLou, cottage cheese!”  Nothing.  I started to hyperventilate and panic.  Where was my baby?

About 10 seconds later the voice in my head said, “Stupid, Devoted Spouse took EmmaLou to the groomer’s this morning.”

Does anyone have any good recommendations on a nice little sanitorium?  This is two days in a row of stupidity on my part – while this makes for amusing reading on  your part, this trend is beginning to slightly annoy me.

8 thoughts on “Come and Get It! Treat Time!

  1. Dang! Monday’s spilled over into Tuesday.

    I wouldn’t worry too much about it… I like to say, “I’m getting all of my dumb ass attacks out of the way early this week.” It’s nice to not have them during the latter half of the week!

    So, there you have it! You can look forward to the grand possibility that the rest of the week will be goof-free!
    I like that attitude and will work on that today -the morning has started well; I’m up early, feeling fairly pain free, already done my first set of shoulder exercises and had a cup of coffee – the day can only get better from here. It’s all in the attitude. Now that I’ve said that, let’s go see what kind of stupidity I can get myself wrapped up in….LOL

  2. I sincerely hope you are not setting a precedent for the rest of the week, otherwise you will be in trouble by Friday and may do something similar to your cartoon much to your neighbors chagrin.
    Well,now wouldn’t THAT make an interesting Crap on a Crutch? Unfortunately mine don’t look quite ahead as hers, we sort of point a tad bit downward if you get my drift. ROFL. I have declared the rest of the week a stupidity-free zone. Now, where did I put my magic wand…

  3. Well, Linda, for the last few days I have been working overtime getting the basement together with my art, cleaning the garage, the house, etc. so that everything is ready. I also have a wedding cake to do this week. Push, Push, Push–then yesterday I looked at the calendar and realized that the 22nd was next week. Yawn, boy I have all this free time!! Any way Emma Lou is a treasure and I love each and every tale.
    Frank
    My goodness you are busy – I’m working on easing into my new routine in preparation for the resumption of school in May – up by 6, cleaned and exercised by 7, grab a bite of bkfst and hit the books by 8 am and work through to noon. Sounds like a good schedule – but as good schedules go, they always need a bit of work. EmmaLou sends you a gentle lick to the nose. And I send you Hugs!

  4. That’s a good one! I’m sure Emmalou came back gorgeous and sweet-smellin’.
    PS
    Always look in the mirror before you leave the front door, or you will be that lady in the cartoon! LOL
    She smells so yummy I could eat her with a spoon! Once I came downstairs to breakfast (while I was still a working person) and forgot my skirt – just had a sweater and my slip on. Devoted Spouse really cracked up. Now I only worry about maybe 3 articles of clothing at most – undies, sweatshirt, jeans – and I’m done!

  5. Yes, this crap happens to me all the time. Not so bad losing the dog, just try losing one of the grandkids. One time I also forgot I was boiling some eggs to make egg salad. And the sad thing is I was only about 10 feet away. Talk about a terrible smell, burnt eggs are disgusting. Since then I got me a timer with a really loud ring, and when doing anything like this I have to remember to set the timer. But sometimes I forget what I set the timer for.

    Seriously, my brain is becoming like mush.

    I love the stories, so you can do nothing wrong in my book.s

    God bless.
    I’m so glad I’m not alone!

Leave a Reply

