220, 221, Whatever It Takes

theater

I’ve been thinking about movies this morning.  I’m in the mood to watch something funny.  The title of this post comes from one of my favorites, Mr. Mom – Devoted Spouse and I have watched that over and over and still laugh.  It’s funny the things you pick up from movies – that line for example – both of us quote it at odd times.  Then again, we’re odd people.  That’s also the movie where I got the word, “woobie” which I use to mean several things:  a favorite quilt to wrap around myself, or I sometimes call my comfy clothes my woobies.  If you recall the woobie was the blanket the little guy just didn’t want to have washed.

Devoted Spouse and I like to go to the movies especially now that we’re retired because we can go on a weekday.  A few weeks ago we went and we were the only ones in the theater.  We could comment as much as we liked and I even turned on my cell phone – breaking theater rules and living dangerously; yeah, that’s me.   I was just trying to remember which flick it was – I remember enjoying it – but can I remember it?  Heck no – so I asked Devoted Spouse and guess what?  He has no clue either.  It was only a week or so ago when we went — that dang short term memory thing is starting to really tick me off — “Damn it Owen” (Throw Mama From the Train).

I’m sure I’ve mentioned before I like stupid movies – I’m one of the probably 12 people in the world who actually enjoyed Dumb and Dumber.  I laughed so hard I thought I’d pop a blood vessel.  But, stupid is a difficult concept in a movie for me to explain. There’s good stupid and bad stupid – for bad stupid see below…

1995_tank_girlFor example the most stupid movie ever made and the Number 1 Worst Film on my All Time Horrible Movies list has to be Tank Girl with Lori Petty – Devoted Spouse just wanted to gouge out his eyes as we were watching it – he got up and left because even going to the back yard to scoop poop was better than watching this movie!  I was okay until the guys turned into donkeys and then I realized Devoted Spouse was right about the poop scooping – but by then it was too late I had already invested too much time to not finish it.  And I still remember one of her lines, “Look, it’s been swell, but the swelling’s gone down.”  What is wrong with me?

See – I can quote movie lines but I can’t remember what I had for lunch yesterday.  Middle age is just one joke after another.  I guess it’s all part of God’s plan – that someday we all walk around in our jammies or our undies and let people laugh at us and it doesn’t matter coz we’re too addle-brained to notice.  Let’s just hope this doesn’t start happening next month or so.  I’d like a little more time please before I totally turn to peanut butter.

Oh well, I’m going to spend the majority of my day today trying to recall what that stupid movie was we just saw…if it kills me.  I hate it when this happens.  I need a stupid movie fix…

9 thoughts on “220, 221, Whatever It Takes

  1. Haven’t seen Tank Girl yet, but I’ll definitely be looking for it.
    Dear Gawd, rent it, don’t spend money buying it!!! LOL

  2. When I saw it, I almost left the room like devoted spouce, then I just decided to enjoy the campy mess. So I wallowed in it — and had fun, of sorts. Decent soundtrack, anyway.
    It’s funny – I was so appalled by the awfulness of it that I couldn’t look away – almost like when you’re drawn to stare at a bad car accident. Sick. Okay, I’ll give you the soundtrack was acceptable. But I would sooner suck a Pepsi up my nose than ever have to sit through that movie again. LOL

  3. Good afternoon Crones,
    Middle age is a GAS (pun intended).
    BF and I used to argue about our age.
    “You are 42”
    “No I’m not. I’m 41. YOU are 43”.

    Now we are on the other side of 50 and we couldn’t give a damn how old we are.
    LOL
    I no longer care either – caring about it doesn’t change it, so why bother?

  4. I love stupid movies too.

    I have never seen Tank Girl but from your description I don’t think I will either. I watched Night in the Museum last night, that was funny if not a bit daft. Have you ever seen Enchanted? I recorded it last night. I will have try to watch it the weekend.

    I had better end this comment now, I could go on all night talking about my favourite films.

    Take Care,
    Sandy.
    I loved Night at the Museum (I like Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson). I missed Enchanted. I think I just like laughing.

  5. I love comedies but I can’t stand the juvenile sophomoric humor in the movies like “Super Bad’ and I’m sorry to say “Dumb and Dumber.” I walked out of the theater and sat in the lobby while my (older) children finished watching it and it was at the $1.00 theater! I couldn’t get past the part where the one used a bottle to pee in then the cop stopped them, etc. That was the capper for me.

    Now you know I love to laugh but tasteless humor loses me. I enjoyed “Enchanted” and a movies like “Ice Age” and anything by Pixar are more my speed. I know, I am an old fuddy-duddy and dang proud of it. 🙂
    Sophomoric is a great word to describe it – and some I don’t like, but many I do. I don’t like gross humor, just slapstic stupid humor. I didn’t like the peeing in the bottle scene either, but I laughed my butt off at most of the movie. Ice Age was cute and most of the Pixar films are cute and I enjoy that but they don’t usually make me guffaw and that’s what I like to do – I like to laugh so hard I can’t breathe. Nothin’ wrong with being a fuddy-duddy — I have my fuddy-duddy days, too. Mine tend to kick in at movies where every other word starts with an “F”.

  6. You can suck Pepsi up your nose??? That, my friend, is very impressive. 🙂
    I am a woman of many talents, trust me; most you don’t wish to know.

  7. It would be cool to ahve a theater to yourself….maybe when I am having a horrible day, I can go and hide in one of them…

    I have to tell you that I was hoping, from the title, that mayeb someone got electrocuted doing some construction work…

    FYI, electrocution doesn’t automtically equal death…I have been hit about 30-40 times.
    Yeah, Devoted Spouse has been hit a few times and it’s shocking (sorry) but he’s never been seriously hurt – he once was under the dryer trying to fix something and got the shock of his life – he looked like something in a cartoon and I actually laughed – he wasn’t hurt, but it scared him. And, man did he not talk to me for a long time after that — the shaking part was just funny and I couldn’t help myself – I did alot of bowing, scraping, and apologizing as I recall. Then we bought a new dryer!!!

  8. I have no idea what the 220, 221 quote is but HBL and I love movies too and especially like to go when everyone else is working (perks of being self employed) because it’s cheaper and you can be annoying and no one cares.

    I too, can love a movie and then not remember what the movie was but stupid movies…….i can’t make myself sit through them. Stupid books……I’ll complain the entire time I’m reading the entire book. I just can’t quit in the middle of a poorly written book. ugh….
    Rent the movie – Mr. Mom – it’s adorable and it’s funny even though it’s a little outdated. You will love it and you’ll understand the 220, 221 statement. Me explaining it won’t do it justice. Trust me on this one. I finally remembered – the movie we saw where we had the whole theater was Paul Blart: Mall Cop – the one with Kevin James – it’s stupid, but it made me laugh and I like the physical humor of Kevin James. I’m so glad I finally remembered, maybe now I’ll get some sleep. LOL

Leave a Reply

