Shhhhh! Don’t Tell Devoted Spouse!

crockpotIt”s official – my arm and hand are strong enough for me to chop vegetables.  That means I can make dinner again.  It’s been such a long time since I did any cooking  and I will continue to ask for some help from Devoted Spouse now and again.  I still can’t lift anything heavy like the CrockPot or a frying pan – but by George I can chop the daylights outta onions again!

Of course the onions didn’t stay on the chopping board.  That would have been too easy.  My knife skills are just a tad rusty and we giggled as many of the onions ended up on the floor fleeing for their little lives.  Run, babies, run!

I managed to de-skin the chicken thighs – but Devoted Spouse had to cut up the chicken for me – he was a little worried that the thickness of the chicken and the weakness of my hand could lead to a potential loss of one or three of my fingers.  He’s so thoughtful.

I was proud of the fact I was able to wield the scissors and open up the bag of frozen veggies.  But then like the dork I am, I dumped a good part of them onto the stove, not into the CrockPot — well, I was close.  I also added garlic, and thank you to whoever came up with the idea of putting chopped garlic in little jars – I couldn’t have whacked a garlic clove with the back of a knife and my fist if my life depended on it.  But I can scoop out garlic from a jar and I did a nifty job of it, too.  Nary a garlic piece strayed.

A few spices, salt and pepper, some chicken stock, a can of diced tomatoes, a dash of chicken gravy for thickening, and voila!

Barefoot Contessa, eat your heart out!

10 thoughts on “Shhhhh! Don’t Tell Devoted Spouse!

  1. Congrats! I hope DS doesn’t read your blog or the cat’s out of the bag. LOL!
    He does and it is! What’s even more amazing is he liked the meal and believe me I just made it up as I went along. Whatta guy!

  2. Good morning Crones,
    Congrats on your first Very Important Meal. Considering what you are going through, that chicken will be the tastiest dish ever!
    mmmmmm.
    Honest, my stomach is growling now.
    I can smell that food from way over here in the Bronx.
    I’m such a hopeless foodie.
    Bon apetit!
    hello dahlink – it was pretty good, but the recipe needs a little tweaking. Today after a grueling session with Agador Devoted Spouse surprised me with lunch at Noodles and Company (which is new here) and Oh Sweet Merciful Heavens I am in love with their Bangkok Curry w/Shrimp. I know the noodles are carb hell – but it was sooooo worth it. Yummy. After all that food, tonight’s dinner will be a toothpick and a glass of water I’m afraid!

  3. I use the jar garlic and it works just fine, actually more flavorful then just using garlic powder so don’t you feel guilty. Glad you are improving enough to cook.

    That noodle place sounds awesome! We really don’t have very many good places here in Wichita but Hubby and I are supposed to go out tomorrow to one of my favorites so I am more than ready.
    I hope you have a wonderful time – you deserve a night out!

  4. I’m so glad you’re doing better. But I agree you should keep the assistant. It’s more fun that way and it sounds like he’s gotten pretty good at it. Your chicken sounds so yummy, you’ve made me hungry. Enjoy!
    I see no reasons why we can’t continue his culinary education – besides I’m much nicer in the kitchen than Gordon Ramsey!!

  5. I think you should give DS a permanent job and let him continue taking care of you. Yep, that’s what I think. 🙂
    I’m so tempted – it has been such an interesting experience to trade roles with him – I sit in the recliner and ignore everything until he tells me dinner is ready and many times he just brings dinner to wherever I’m parked. Such bliss!

  6. It sounds like you’re a lot of fun to cook with! But like they’ve said, it’ll all come back. I promise! I am so glad to see you are doing so much better!
    Yeah, I like to play with my food!! LOL Thanks – I’m feeling much better and life is getting easier. About 4 more weeks and I can have a sling contraption burning ceremony in the back yard!!

  7. It’s always fun learning to do things over again.
    And maybe I’ll be better at this cooking thing. Then again, I’ve been trying to learn over and over again to knit and that’s not working out so well. LOL

  8. Good Sunday morning to you Cronee,
    Yes, there is some stupid glich going on over there at Blogger…it’s been hard to leave comments…

    BTW, lately I’ve been thinking more of your shoulder injury/recovery…my own surgery is looming on the horizon, and I am finally beginning to see how inconvenient & painful it will be with my left arm in a sling.
    At least it’s not my ASS that will be in a sling! LOL
    See you later in Tweetsville.
    xx
    Howdy kiddo – please tell me you are NOT left-handed. I’m staying off Tweets today – really tired and feeling a bit under the weather – it’s a quiet and resting day today for me. I want my ass in a sling—it’s called a hammock!!! nyuk,nyuk,nyuk I’ll try & hit the tweet Monday.
    L8tr

Leave a Reply

