Time for a Little Gratitude

thanks

Okay, I really stressed about going to see Elliot the tax man.  Every year I put myself through tax Hades worrying about whether or not we owe Uncle Sam.  It’s just so annoying to have to pay and pay and pay and pay ad nauseum for everything.  So since I’m getting myself all worked up over nothing — it’s only money (blood pressure goes up 20 points) I thought I’d take a few minutes to just calm down and find things to be grateful for.

I’m grateful that when I programmed my DVR the other night to tape the first episode of Dancing With the Stars that I forgot the stupid clock thingie hadn’t caught up yet with Daylight Savings Time and so I only got the last hour – therefore I didn’t watch it and have saved myself untold hours of mindless nonsense in the future.  Thank you Daylight Savings Time.

I’m grateful that EmmaLou, the Golden Destroyer, only destroyed part of the Bic Pen tonight and that I caught her with it in her mouth prior to her reaching the blue ink part (which would have landed on the white berber carpet).  Thank you to my spidey sense which always kicks in when I know EmmaLou is up to no good.

I’m grateful that Devoted Spouse agreed to eat ribs tonight.  I really wanted ribs.  This man would agree to eat anything short of used band-aids if it would make me happy.  I’m grateful for Devoted Spouse.

I’m grateful for Delaney who showed me that I’m only a little stupid at using Twitter and trying to get the ^&$%%^^ button to show up on my blog page.  Thank you D for your patience.  I’m also grateful to my other blogging buddies who are tolerating my inane tweets.  I’ll get the hang of it yet.

I have lately been receiving calls, cards, emails, and visits  from people at church – now for awhile I was extremely hurt and angry that I was virtually being ignored sitting here alone and in pain.  Then God in His wisdom reached down and smacked the crap out of me and I realized that these kind people had no idea I was as bad off as I was – once they knew the truth the love started pouring in and I know they  have (and still are) praying.  So I am truly grateful to my church for their love and to God for putting up with me and healing my hurts.  I am grateful.

I am also grateful to all of you who read  this nonsense I write on a semi-daily basis and for the countless good wishes and prayers you have sent my way.  Yes, I have another 6 or so weeks of healing (will it ever be done??) but time is going by quickly and my attitude and spirits are lightening.  I’m still mouthing off a bit, but you would expect no less.

Now – our good (and new to some of us) buddy Auntie (aka Dog Girl) is also having shoulder issues and will need surgery so I’m asking all of you to send her good wishes and prayers (if you are of the praying persuasion) and let’s see her through this the way you guys have seen me through mine!

One more thing I’m grateful for — macadamia nut white chocolate cookies — ahhh, life is good.

14 thoughts on “Time for a Little Gratitude

  1. Dear Linda, I am so remiss at coming and reading, something that I enjoy doing. You always have brought a smile to my face, but since I have been home it seems I have drawn inward even more. I know all these things are a stage, but the day they pass will make it a lot better. Please do not think I have forgotten you, or that I don’t think of how that shoulder, you, devoted spouse and the golden destroyer are doing. Take care–go pay those taxes. Frank
    Not to worry sweetie – visit when you can – you are always in thoughts and prayers!

  2. You know how to program your own DVD player? I am in such awe. I’m a complete idiot when it comes to this stuff. Probably because JR is so good at it. I want to make him feel good. That’s it. LOL!
    Apparently I can program the DVR, but I can’t read the CLOCK. LMAO

  3. Prayers squared coming right up.

    BTW, you can watch Dancing with the Stars online to catch up. Just sayin.
    Oh great – now I have to go check it out. I’ve also discovered Hulu.com — don’t go there unless you really want to get captured by old shows. I’m stuck on reruns of Babylon 5 at the moment, dammit.

  4. I’m glad time is passing quickly for you. When it’s all said and done, you’ll look back and be amazed at how fast it really went. Memory is often kind like that.
    And — macadamia nut white chocolate chip cookies… that IS heaven, right there. You wouldn’t happen to have a good recipe for them? Like the kind they sell at Subway? (I don’t like the light and fluffy [dry] ones… ewww… moist and dense and rich all the way!)
    When I look back it’s going to be from the rear view mirror of the UHaul truck as I leave this place to go to Florida for next winter!!! LOL And, no, I have no recipe – I get them at a cookie place I try not to frequent often called Cheryl & Co. Devoted Spouse and I devoured a dozen of these monsters – in only a day and a half!! That’s why I rarely get them. And this morning I could swear I see a white choc chip sticking out of my left thigh…

  5. Is THAT what those are?? I was always told that was cellulite!! Holy crap…
    Nope, they lied to you, for example on my other thigh I can clearly see bits of mac and cheese. LOL

  6. OMG!! We have MAC ‘N CHIP THIGHS!!
    you got it baby – cellulite is just the scientific term.

  7. Hulu.com is evil! I watched all the “Bones” seasons I missed then I started working on “Highlander” and “Beauty and the Beast” episodes. Good for my insomnia nights.

  8. Hey sweetie, no problem on helping. You have questions and (if) I have answers then you’ve got help. That’s how us old broads roll.
    Hugs

  9. What a nice post, I can understand your concerns about the tax man. Would you believe its on the news here that our government wants to tax chocolate – I will definately have to campaign against that.

    Do you mind if I ask you two questions.

    I hope you dont mind me asking but what part of the UK were you born in?

    This may make me sound a bit stupid, but we get a lot of fly-on-the-wall documentaries here from the USA and I love the police highway patrol ones. They always talk of having to respond to an incident so many “blocks” away. What is a block?

    Thank you and give Emmalou a pat for my.
    Taxing chocolate is just wrong – here they are working on taxing junk food and also on taxing your car mileage, two ideas I’m very against. As for the questions check your email – I hope I was able to answer them to your satisfaction. 🙂

  10. OMG…macadamia nut white chocolate cookies …you and I really are sisters.

    Thanks for the shout-out.
    And I really do love that twitter thing. I might have to join twitterholic or something.
    “Hello. My name is Auntie, and my fingers are sore.”
    Sure…Twittering is frustrating to me – it’s hard to follow and I find I sit here constantly waiting for the next message – I can’t afford to get hooked on this one and am thinking of turning it off completely because I like it so much. LOL Now I want a cookie and it’s only 7:00 am for cryin’ out loud!

  11. Re your conversation with getoutfromundermyrock:
    re: “MAC ‘N CHIP THIGHS!!”
    eewwwwwww
    That is way TMI.
    LOL
    You know we’re right – just coz you’re skinny and have slim sushi thighs…if I could stomach raw fish maybe my thighs wouldn’t feel like one of those bumpy maps of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

  12. And I’m grateful to have “met” you and all my other bloggy buddies. You are twitterific! LOL

    I’ve got your back, and Auntie’s too even if she does ridicule me for my spelling. *sigh*
    I simply can’t understand why I would find something as inane as Twittering difficult in any way shape or form – gotta be the drugs, which thankfully we’re stepping down finally!!! It will be nice to be a bit more alert. Oh Gawd – the pressure…

Leave a Reply

