Ewe’s Not Fat…

diet-sheep

I saw an article the other day entitled: “What is my happy weight?  5 Tips for finding your happy weight.” It never would have occurred to me to put the words ‘happy’ and ‘weight’ together but there they were.  As far as I’m concerned, you can have happy feet, or happy days, or a Happy Meal, but you will never have happy weight.  It is an impossibility, a goal that is unreachable because what makes you  happy today may make you  feel like a hippo tomorrow.  Happy weight is like a yoga position — some of us just don’t twist that way and never will.

I haven’t had a happy weight since I was born and let’s face it the only happy part of it then was that my poor mother (God rest her soul) no longer had to carry it.

The article states:  “If you’re trying to lose weight, you probably have a goal, your ideal weight, in mind. A good question to ask yourself is, “Where did I get this number?” Perhaps a better question is “Why did I pay good money for this stupid magazine?”

I think we’re going about this all wrong.  This is the age of amazing scientific discoveries so why are we concerned with an ideal weight, a particular number, a happy number?  Why, I submit, aren’t we concerned with making ourselves taller?  If I were 4 inches taller, I wouldn’t have to ever worry about happy weight again.  It’s not weight we should concentrate on, it’s height. Happy height – that’s my  new priority.

Who needs happy weight — that’s why God made Photoshop.

giraffe

8 thoughts on “Ewe’s Not Fat…

  1. Dog Girl checking in before logging off.
    Hope you learned your lesson and will resist buying any more dumb magazines. I just stand in long lines at the supermarket and read those rag mags for free:
    Lose 10 pounds in 10 days!
    Walk your belly off!
    Eat all you want and burn off that fat!
    Learn sexual secrets your man would never tell you!
    Look 20 years younger!
    Laura walks out on George W.!
    Aliens invade New Jersey!
    *sigh*
    And my favorite:
    Brad still loves Jen!
    You are so flippin’ funny…why don’t I take a vacation and you write my blog? Is Tues furry curry day? I’ll be thinking of you while I’m at Dr Pain getting the verdict.

  2. I read that same article and even went to find my “happy weight” and I still wasn’t happy. Go figure.

    I’m still a firm believer in the photoshop diet. It gets 5 thumbs up in my book.

    5 thumbs?? I’m going to have to borrow a few of yours and one other too.
    Sweetie I am all thumbs these days so you can borrow as many as you like!

  3. My happy weight is where I’m at….fat and happy and not worrying about it. I am not anywhere close to where I should be but I’m not gonna stress on it now, got too many other things to worry about. Also one good thing about being older – don’t give a hoot
    I’m with you, kiddo. It’s funny how our priorities change with age — life is so short and not being a size 2 just is not at the top of my list of things I am concerned with.

  4. What you have written is so true and wise, I had trouble being underweight in my teens (not as nice as it sounds) and got totally neurotic about my weight – but I love your idea of being a happy weight which is what I now am. – Thank you.
    I think it’s all about being confident – what we project is what is important – a few extra pounds aren’t that big a deal – okay if you weigh 750 pounds and are confined to your bed, that’s a problem – but I think society still places too much emphasis on being skinny. We’re making progress on healthy body images, but until Hollywood and the fashion police totally get on board, women will continue to starve themselves needlessly. Life is too short to not be happy! We have much to be thankful for in this life.

  5. Linda,
    So, if I make my self 6′ 5″ tall in photoshop, my BMI would be pretty good–I am sure I would be dashingly presentable, but what on earth do I do if someone comes over looking for me and its me, the fat one they find. Now in AZ I got a traffic ticket and then that sort of thing could be handy cause I would say that’s not me!!—–oh this weight thing, I am on my last roundup now and if I start trying to lose again and I am not successful I am gonna be very depressed………..unfortunately for many weight (the word) can never have a happiness about it. Just means to me too much work and fighting an inborn hunger.

    I probably will not be writing on Crepusculum for a long, long time………I will continue on Fourchances.

    Take care–Frank
    My dear Frank, you are already dashingly presentable! Diet shmiet – here’s a haiku just for you:
    I’m so tired of dieting/It makes me hungry/Food is a four letter word!

  6. LOL! Well, hopefully I can find my happy weight while working out at 6am! AHHHH thanks for the support though! 🙂
    hmmm working out at 6am just makes me hungry…

  7. Happy weight? Gee…If I looked good and felt good and were healthy at 20 lbs heavier than I am now…then that would be my happy weight – cuz getting there meant that I didn’t have to stress about every dang thing that I put in my mouth.

    Happy weight. Schmappy weight.
    Oh I am so with you on this one!

Leave a Reply

