Make Up Your Mind

knife-and-fork

Anyone who cooks knows that every once in awhile it is nice to have a meal other than one you have to prepare. Devoted Spouse is no exception. Since I’ve been injured, he has taken on the task of cooking and preparing all the meals around here and has done a superb job. But, he gets tired of wondering what to fix day after day. Last night we decided to have a bite to eat at one of the local franchises — a pub-like joint that serves mostly fried food – called Beef O’Brady’s. It’s not fancy, but they have good beer and great fried shrimp. What happened as we arrived puzzled me.

As we walked in the door, a nice young woman approached us, asked how many were in our party and when I responded there would be two of us, she said this: “Okay, go ahead and follow me.” Huh?  Either I go ahead, or I follow you — I can’t do both.  Devoted Spouse didn’t think anything of this but this statement continued to bother me all the time we were there.  We sat in the first booth, in direct line of the front door.  Repeatedly, during the evening, when diners arrived, they were told, “Okay, go ahead and follow me.”  Am I the only one who thinks this is a strange thing to say to someone?  All the wait staff used that terminology.  I find it difficult to understand why the Beef O’Brady’s people would train their staff to say such a contradictory statement.  It’s one or the other; make  up your mind.  I can go ahead or I can follow; not both.

These things really bother me.

6 thoughts on “Make Up Your Mind

  1. I pick up on that stuff, too. I drive my dear husband nuts with it. I can’t help it. It’s like the people that say, “There, now that’s more better!” Or, “Let me take and get that for ya!” Arrrgghhh!!!
    I’ve spent years studying the English language, and I’ve spent a good portion of my career as an editor, so I’m quick to pick up on strange pairings. Listening to people butcher our language is one of my hobbies.

  2. ha ha…I do the same to my Hubby…only he talks like a Texan…so he is usually the one saying that stuff! 🙂
    I’m fortunate that my Hubs is articulate — here in Ohio folks say things such as, “Where you at?” and I cringe each time I hear that particular phrase — southern Ohio has its own distinct dialect which I hope to never pick up (but after 18 years of living here I’m afraid I’m absorbing more than I realize).

  3. Don’t over-estimate the level of intellegence of the wait staff…just eat the shrimp and drink the beer. 🙂
    I certainly didn’t mention my distress to the wait staff…to do that would be to invite them to dunk my shrimp in heaven-knows-what-prior to serving it to me! And the shrimp and beer there are really good!

  4. Even though it was mangled if you break it apart it makes sense sort of. “Go ahead” = OK + “follow me.” Wasn’t the greatest way to phrase it or make the staff say it that way.

    I want to eat out in a restaurant so badly. I haven’t been out is so long I forgot what it’s like to have someone else besides me or Hubby cook. Good news is Hubby has work this week as well so hopefully things get back to somewhat normal soon.
    I still maintain a simple, “Please follow me” would have been better. This is almost as bad as the wait staff arriving at your table and saying something like, “You guys want something to drink?” I hate the “you guys” label and this happens at so many restaurants. I have actually been known to correct the waiter or waitress and request the term, “you folks” instead. I know…I’m a pain in the a$$, but I can’t help myself sometimes. Good news about the work — I’ll keep praying anyway and let’s keep this going!!

  5. Is that like Igor in Young Frankenstien? Telling Gene Wilder to walk this way and then handing him the cane? I would have asked her how she expected to walk ahead of her and follow her at the same time. Very confusing.
    Absolutely! I loved that movie. I simply thought it was a stupid thing to say. When I heard it said repeatedly then I felt it was a stupid move by management to have the wait staff say something “catchy” and it didn’t work for me. But, the shrimp and beer were good, so easy come easy go.

  6. I take that statement as you have her permission to follow her. I guess I’ve lived in the South too long to put too much thought in to spoken sentence structure. Or maybe I’m just too lazy to care?
    Maybe it’s a permission thing. I still think it’s a flaky way of welcoming someone. “This way, please.” would have sufficed. I guess I should be thankful they speak at all…

Leave a Reply

