It’s A Milestone Kinda Day

linda-hurts

Attention — this is rather personal news, so if you don’t want to go “ewwww”, leave.  However, if you are one of the four people who actually read this blog and care to know how I’m doing, let’s press on.

I can now put on and take off all by myself:  my own bra.  With that little statement, I have now achieved total freedom of dressing!  Hallelujah!  It’s a great day!  Not that I want to wear a bra when I’m just hangin’ out (pun intended) around the house.  But, on the days Devoted Spouse is taking me out into the world, it’s just a lovely thought knowing I can say to him:  Sweetie, I’ll go upstairs and get dressed now.   That’s freedom, baby.

Of course, on outings away from home, I still have to be strapped into the sling contraption from Hades.  I can reach one of the straps myself, but can’t reach the other one since my arm is still not allowed to make that trip all by itself.  So, it’s not like I don’t need Devoted Spouse anymore.  But I am slowly getting my independence back.

On a quick serious  note — this lack of independence has given me such an insight into what some of our older folk must go through as they lose the ability to take care of themselves, maybe from a broken hip or just a nasty fall.  Let me tell you, it is not fun to have your mental faculties in place, but be unable to take care of something we all take for granted like dressing or brushing your teeth and combing your hair.  And I can tell you from first-hand experience that helplessness is no picnic.

So, now I’m a little happier.  Every day it gets better.  I now have 138 degrees of rotation in my arm and the goal is 160 degrees.  It will happen.  I have two more goals:  to be able to wash and style my own hair using both hands, and to drive my car again.  Goals are good.

It is a great day in the neighborhood and I am a thankful puppy.

12 thoughts on “It’s A Milestone Kinda Day

  1. Hallelujah! It is the small things that we take for granted everyday that we miss the most when we can’t do them.

    I worked in the health care industry from 1980 – 2007 with part of it being in a nursing home setting for retired nuns, most of which were over 80. Losing abilities one by one was the most difficult thing for them. Some of them were good to go up into their 90’s. Must have been the clean living, no money worries, no kids and no men. 🙂
    I think it’s also knowing that their church will take care of them — it won’t be a ritzy retirement but their basic needs are always provided. Security is what it’s all about.

  2. I’m either one of the four or an unknown fifth. Glad to see you’re improving. Know about the major incapacity thing. You visit my site but if you haven’t read “Caught in the pot” it will give you a few laughs.
    Thanks, Sandy – I’ll make you my honorary fifth reader! And you always make me laugh; you and your Geezer!

  3. I’ve had arm and shoulder problems for a long time, so I can sympathize, though not with the bra part necessarily.
    Bras aside, it’s a major accomplishment being able to once again reach up into the cupboard to get a coffee mug. People who have never experienced this type of injury don’t realize what an amazing achievement a functioning shoulder can be! Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Cronie,
    Your words do send chills down my spine because I take my good health for granted. And I take my mobility for granted too.
    My left shoulder is healing nicely. Am no longer taking the pain meds.
    Good to hear you are on the mend.
    BTW, there was an interesting article in Tuesday’s NY Times about physical therapy. If I can find it I will forward the link to you later.
    I’m so glad to hear your shoulder is better — has your PT hottie returned and do you still need the therapy? I’m down to an occasional half pill now and I’m glad because they’ve done some strange things to my system.

  5. Here’s the link I mentioned:
    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/02/17/health/17case.html?_r=1&scp=1&sq=physical%20therapy%20feb%2017,%202009&st=cse
    thanks sweetie I’ll go check it out!

    Hey I’m back – that was a good article; she obviously has been through it! It’s true that it’s months of work and it’s painful, but I know if I don’t do this now I will never heal fully so the short-term pain is worth the long-term goal. Her therapists all have normal names; I’m glad I have Agador Spartacus and Chunky Monkey. 🙂

  6. I forgot to mention earlier that I really like the sort of self portrait at the beginning of your post. Pretty cute there Linda.
    It’s really me from the flying hair to the dazed look – I’d like the sling to be a little more decorated, though!

  7. Being somewhere between a preteen and teenager when Womens Liberation and Bra Burning was the thing for liberated women to do, I was all for it.

    Being older and wiser now, I understand that choice was the real issue. I’m glad to read you finally have that right restored to you!

    The troubling question is will you be able to play a piano?
    Thanks, Michael — I think the answer to when I’ll be able to play a piano is the same time as when I can tap dance!

  8. It’s the little things that count and you’re right about the lose of independence. I’ve taken my for granted and now I’m starting to realize I might not always have it and it’s scary.

    Glad you’re getting better. 🙂
    Thanks sweetie! It is amazing what we all take for granted. And I know one of these days I’ll go back to taking things for granted, too, it’s what we all do!

  9. No photographic evidence of your accomplishment…just kidding…someone had to ask?
    Darn – I knew I should have grabbed my phone camera as I was trying to hook myself into it! You’re a bad boy and I like that about you.

  10. Yea for you! I am so glad you are starting to feel more like yourself! I am just starting to come out of my sick haze….hopefully I make it! 🙂
    Yup makin’ progress. Glad you’re feeling better — it sucks being sick!

  11. Yes, it’s good to be able to dress yourself, and corral the sisters when you’re going out in public! I also take my abilities to do normal things for granted, right up until the time I can’t do them for myself. I’ve been lucky, only a few minor things so far, but it does make you think about how people cope with their physical limitations. It’s tough.
    This experience has given me newfound compassion for those who daily endure physical hardships.

Leave a Reply

