Two More Steps to Your Right, Open the Door and You’re There

If  a Nobel Prize was presented for kind, loving, generous, cute as the dickens, best kisser, handy marksman, patient,  extraordinarily gentle  caretaker,  and all around good guy, Devoted Spouse would certainly take home that Prize.  Did I mention he can make me laugh hard enough to shoot Coke Zero out my nose?  But for all his perfection,  he has one strange quirk I simply cannot understand.

Devoted Spouse can’t put food back in the refrigerator.  Seriously.   He can take out  from the refrigerator every item needed to make an outstanding meal; breakfast, lunch, or dinner.  He can locate all the necessary pots, pans, measuring spoons and kitchen paraphernalia to fix that meal.  He does a wonderful job of cleaning up the cooking messes; washing  assorted pans, kitchen tools, and loading the dishwasher.

Somewhere in this process he gathers the left-over foodstuffs, prepares them for their return trip to the refrigerator, whether snug in their little Saran Wrap homes or in Tupperware containers, and then leaves them on the counter.  Two steps further to his right would get him to the door of the refrigerator to put those items away.  He can’t do it.  Devoted Spouse cannot make that trip.   As a result,  the next morning, I discover various wrapped-up vegetables, perhaps a leftover piece of chicken, and/or the milk container with milk still in it, all sitting patiently on the counter next to the refrigerator.   A few times he’s even gotten as close as the little niche in the freezer door which holds the automatic ice cube maker.   Once I found the lettuce just sitting there on that ledge.

I used my best disappointed-tone-of-voice tactic on Devoted Spouse after discovering the latest leftovers still sitting on the counter.  He laughed.  He laughed.

I am absolutely stymied.

6 thoughts on “Two More Steps to Your Right, Open the Door and You’re There

  1. Ohhhh. That makes my frugal little heart cringe. I’ve got no advice here. 26 years of marriage to a librarian hasn’t my husband to push his chair in after he leaves the dinner table.
    I really shouldn’t complain, it’s just one of those quirky things most of us do. I can’t figure out how to get this behavior to change short of putting an electrical charge on that part of the counter.

  2. Better that he laughed than got miffed and said…”fine! No more cooking!” It’s a defective refrigerator gene that’s to blame. All men have them, but they affect each one differently. HBL does so many things right but he can’t walk 5 feet to put his dirty socks and tee shirt in the laundry hamper at night. They form a nice neat pile on top of the blanket chest at the end of our bed. *sigh*
    So what you’re telling me is I should learn to live with it. I guess it could be worse.

  3. My Dad is exactly the same and whenever he opens a cupboard draw he will only half close it, which I then usually walk into. But he took it very well when I mistook one of his chisels for a screwdriver and ruined it. By the way thank you for leaving such a kind comment on my blog – I really appreciate it.
    Okey dokey – it’s a guy thing. Stick around, I’m going to give Devoted Spouse a chance to tell the world what I do that drives him nuts! You’re welcome sweetie. We’re all here to support each other.

  4. I wonder if there is some sort of phobia involved here. It can’t be fear of the fridge because he went in the fridge to get the food out. I wonder if there is a phobia for fear of putting food in a fridge. Well, if that is your only problem with him I guess that isn’t too bad. I’d say keep him. Devoted spouses are hard to find.
    You’re right; I’m going to keep and cherish him…and put the food away!

  5. Cooking ADD? He has focused so much on preparation and clean up that he just “forgets” that the food goes in the fridge…or it’s a guy thing. At least he cooks and cleans without complaint so that makes up for pretty much any little quirks.
    You may have something there w/the ADD. I don’t have much to complain about at all!

Leave a Reply

