Can You Haiku?

Not having anything in particular to discuss today, I embarked on a little writing exercise.   I like haiku, the Japanese poetry written in three lines with a certain amount of syllables per line.  Traditionally, haiku must be written about nature and it takes a specific form; the first line has 5 syllables, the second line contains 7 syllables and the final line contains 5 syllables for a total of 17 syllables. There are rules:   must be about nature, must include a season, it has to be in the above-mentioned three lines, and there has to be a point counterpoint aspect to the poem.

I threw out those rules as I wasn’t in the mood for nature.   EmmaLou, the Golden Destroyer, was close by so I wrote several haiku with the subject of EmmaLou.   Here’s what I came up with:

  • Asleep on the couch / EmmaLou twitches with dreams / of life unfettered
  • EmmaLou in blur / runs after a lone rabbit / safe under the shed
  • Brown eyes in panic / hungry and can’t use /big can opener

I realize this isn’t award-winning haiku by any stretch of the imagination.  At least I kept to the 5/7/5 rhythm and the right amount of syllables.

So this is just me goofin’ around on an icy cold winter’s day.

  • Ice falling in sheets / this weather makes me crazy / I should get a life

It beats sudoku.

4 thoughts on “Can You Haiku?

  1. You are so clever. I could never do haiku.
    You say no can do / come on sweetie: just try once / what a silly girl /

    See? I know it’s not “genuine” haiku, but it’s fun and I could really get addicted to this. I’m not kidding, I need a life.

  2. I’ve never heard of haiku. I think this would be fun.
    who woulda thought poetry could be fun? (just kidding)

  3. Hmm I had heard of it….but yours are funny! How about you go to my job for me tomorrow? 🙂
    Sure, no prob…if you come over here and take down the Christmas decorations and put them away for me…

  4. Poetry was the worst for me in HS and I never did the Haiku very well at all. Poetry isn’t my cuppa tea. Not fond the styles. And Sudoku is just evil. I hate number games. Yours about EmmaLou were very cute and creative.
    I believe Sudoku was created by the Axis of Evil…I still count on my fingers so that gives you an idea how math-proficient I am.

Leave a Reply

