More Thanksgiving Stuff(ing)

Okay, I’ve had comments on the mincemeat/pumpkin issue. The answer to the question is YES, mincemeat has real meat in it.   According to Dictionary.com:

Mincemeat Definition:
1. a mixture composed of minced apples, suet, and sometimes meat, together with raisins, currants, candied citron, etc., for filling a pie.
2. A mixture, as of finely chopped apples, raisins, spices, meat, and rum or brandy, used especially as a pie filling.

Blechhh. To my palate, it’s nasty.  I understand if some of you enjoy it.  Heck I like syrup on my chipped beef so there’s just no account for taste.  For anyone who so desires, here is a recipe for the filling for a mincemeat pie courtesy of Cooks.com. Enjoy (if you dare).

HOMEMADE MINCEMEAT PIE

1 lb. beef stew meat
4 lb. apples
4 oz. suet
15 oz. pkg. raisins
2 1/2 c. sugar
2 1/2 c. water
2 c. dried currants
1/2 c. chopped, mixed candied fruit and peels
1 c. orange juice
1 tsp. grated lemon peel
1/4 c. lemon juice
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp. ground mace
Pastry for 2 crust 9-inch pie
Cover beef with water. Simmer, covered, until tender about 2 hours. Drain, cool. Peel, core and cut up apples. Put beef, apples and suet through coarse blade of food grinder. In kettle, combine all ingredients EXCEPT pastry. Cover; simmer 1 hour. Stir often. Line 9 inch pie plate with pastry, and fill with 3 cups mincemeat. Put top crust on; seal edges and cut slits. Bake at 400 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes. Freeze remaining mincemeat in 3-cup portions. Makes 12 cups.

mincemeatpie3

8 thoughts on “More Thanksgiving Stuff(ing)

  1. Mincemeat and Pumpkin?
    Mincemeat .. Mincemeat … and pumpkin?

    I dunno know, maybe it is just me.

    There is a recipe for that?

    DS
    ewww mincemeat and pumpkin in one would truly be an abomination. It’s bad enough mincemeat survives…

  2. I agree with the other commenter that wanted cherry or pecan pie instead. Those are my favorites as well though being the chocoholic that I am I love chocolate pecan pie. If you love pecan pie and chocolate then you need to try it. If you are making pecan pie and want to try it, add 1/2 cup chocolate chips to your recipe and there you go.
    add choc chips to pecan pie…now why didn’t I think of that? How glorious!

  3. I know Thanksgiving is supposed to be traditional and all so I always make pumpkin & apple pie, but every year I also make a cheesecake (my favorite). Hey Delaney, this year it’s going to be Chocolate Cheesecake! I also think we should eat desert first, but nobody will side with me on that one.
    hey girlfriend, I have always been on the side of eating dessert first! I think choc cheescake sounds like a wonderful addition to Turkey Day!

  4. Angel:
    I love chocolate cheesecake…but then I haven’t found anything chocolate that I haven’t liked. I will be making a “Death by Chocolate Cake” for our dessert.
    Okay, D, I’m coming to your house…choc is my biggest downfall! A friend of mine used to make choc cream pies for Turkey Day and let me tell ya, they were the hit of the evening! Forget the turkey, gimme the choc! 😀

  5. Delaney 55, thanks for the recipe for chocolate pecan pie. I am going to try it this year. I’ll join C&BI at your house. 🙂

  6. Eeewwww. You’re right – I don’t think I’ll be trying that again. I’ll stick with the pumpkin & pecan pies!
    I’m goin’ with pecan-choc pie (thanks Delaney!) and my old standby pumpkin and that’s it!

  7. I have just realised how late I am joining in this thread, but here goes…
    Mincemeat, the meat free version, is a traditional part of British Christmas and mince pies often appear at the end of the meal after the turkey and stuffing and Steamed Christmas pudding (and regularly throughout the Christmas season)! The spices and fruit were added in ancient times to disguise the taste of meat that was ‘past its best’ but today the meat in the recipe has become beef suet which simply melts and disappears when it is cooked into mince pies or similar. If you are making your pastry with lard (which is pork fat) as well as margarine its just another type of animal fat. (For non-meat eaters, vegetarian suet is available as an alternative – if I make my own mincemeat I often leave the fat content out anyway in an attempt to make it a little healthier.)
    In some parts of the world meat and sweet are regularly eaten together: we ate some delicious little pies in the south of France, a local historical speciality, which were a mixture of minced lamb and candied lemon peel! I will bookmark your recipe and perhaps one day I will give it a go – if I am brave!
    I have blogged about Mincemeat and Mince Pies here:
    http://hopeeternalcookbook.wordpress.com/2009/12/09/last-minute-mincemeat-mince-pies/
    hopeeternal
    ‘Meanderings through my Cookbook’
    http://www.hopeeternalcookbook.wordpress.com
    It’s okay you’re abouy 2 years after I posted this! I still love comments – so thanks for stopping by and leaving such wonderful information for us!! 😉

Leave a Reply

