Stop With the Phone Conversations Already

I need to rant for a few moments please.  Today I was in Barnes and Noble looking for something not school related to read.  As I was perusing the best sellers, behind me was a man who was carrying on various business conversations at a higher than normal voice level.  He was obviously pumping up some sales staff and reminding his folks how many widgets they had sold and how many millions of dollars in revenue they were responsible for.  Okay, I realize Barnes and Noble isn’t a library – but for goodness sake, if you absolutely must have a phone conversation at least keep your voice down to a low level and be a little considerate of others.  I finally walked the two rows over (yes, he was that far away from me and obnoxiously loud) to this gentleman and asked him to take his conversation outside or at least lower his voice.  I won’t repeat what he said to me but I can tell you if I knew what he sold and it was something I used, it would be a cold day in Hades before I gave him my business.

When did we become such ill-mannered people who only care about ourselves?  I try and remember my Christian values when I deal with others, but sometimes I am sorely vexed and wanting so much to deliver a good smack up side someone’s head. 

Tomorrow is the rendezvous with Concrete Jeff.  This should be fun.

4 thoughts on “Stop With the Phone Conversations Already

  1. lets not forget the bluetooth.. it absolutely drives me crazy.. people staring right at you and carrying on their conversations on the bluetooth..:)
    That’s what this guy was using and it is so infuriating! He was staring at the bookshelves and screaming. Thanks for stopping by Steven.

  2. I couldn’t agree with you more; cell phone conversations in quiet places like bookstores or ANYWHERE are so unpleasant.
    You are brave to approach the idiot though; I would be a bit nervous of doing that in case he ranted or was abusive..ugh..
    😦
    YES what happened to being considerate, for one?
    Strange times..
    Hi Merri – What truly bothers me is this type of behavior seems to be escalating and that usually leads to violence. Ugh! Of course, I wanted to slug him, so that makes me no better. Hmmmm. Cheers, L

  3. I live on my phone and Bluetooth headset, but I go outside and never use it in a store…especially a bookstore. Those things bother me too…it might be why I am more conscious of my behavior. I can be seen running out of places quickly to take a call if it is something that cannot wait.

    But, in all honesty, I really just avoid stores as much as possible.
    I’ve decided I’m not going to let these yahoo bullies ruin my shopping or any other expedition. I plan on continuing to let them know when they are out of line in phone etiquette. If they choose to call me names, that’s their problem; then I will elevate it to store management. Those of us who understand how to be civil in a public place must ensure others are also civil and respect the rights of all. Period.

  4. I am always amazed at people’s reactions when they are outed for obnoxious behavior. As an adult you should be more considerate but it always seems that these fools don’t care about anyone but themselves. He probably smokes and blows it in people’s faces too!
    He was fairly young – I put it at early 30’s – and he’s headed for a heart attack big time, that’s how stressed he was. Yelling is never an option as far as I’m concerned. You can bet I’ll be watching for him in future and I’ll confront him again if he acts up.

Leave a Reply

