It’s All About Friends

Today I had lunch with my friend Paula. I enjoy being around Paula; she makes me smile and she is so grounded in her life. Paula takes most things in stride. I don’t recall ever seeing her really upset – oh there’s the standard job nonsense that we’ve all gone through, but Paula seems able to weather those storms quite well. What’s nice about this friendship is that we can be apart for long periods of time with an occasional email or two, then get together and gab for hours. We never run out of things to discuss. I don’t tire of talking with her or sharing stories; heck, we’ve even knitted together and that took much strength on my part. It was all I could do not to stab her with the needles because she was patiently grasping this knitting concept and I was sitting at the table watching the video for the hundredth time wondering why-oh-why I ever wanted to knit in the first place.

That’s the thing about friends — friends are people you are comfortable with, no pretense. You don’t need tons of friends; I can count my friends on both hands with a few fingers left over and I still consider myself blessed. Friends stick around; they don’t give up just because one moves out of town or someone changes jobs.

I always find it interesting to look at the people I am drawn to. Sometimes we may not have much in common but become fast friends anyway. That’s what happened with my friend Chris — from the moment he walked into my office I knew we were going to be close friends and now several years later I consider him family and love him dearly. Sometimes it’s our differences that make us bond. One of my dearest friends is 20 years older than I and for many years people couldn’t figure out why we were so close. The only thing we had in common was we both worked in the same office. She was an early middle-aged single mother of four and I was a twenty-something firecracker. But we enjoyed each other’s company and there was a feeling we had known each other our entire lives.

Anyway, I just wanted to take a moment and thank my friends for being my friends. My life is richer because of them.

5 thoughts on “It’s All About Friends

  1. I agree. The great friends are the best to be around. They enrich your life and make it worth waking up the next morning. There are times you both can be completely silent but know that it’s not because you didn’t run out of things to say. It’s because you’re comfortable just being around each other.

  2. Right now, my friends are my lifeline. I don’t now how I would be walking through this time if I didn’t have my friends to call when things get really bad…
    I also am blessed by having you as one of my “blogger buddies”…I want to say “Thank You” for being one of those friends…

  3. Shadowlands — Right back atcha swee’pea. After I posted this I thought I should have addressed my blogosphere friends, too. I’m thankful for all the lovely people I have met here in cyberspace and for all the assistance, advice, support, and giggles they have provided over the last year or so that I’ve been doing this blog.

  4. I agree, you don’t need a lot of friends..
    I have two that I have had since HIGH SCHOOL(one) and COLLEGE first year(the other)
    The rest of my friends are email pals and my blogging buddies..
    I treasure them all!
    πŸ˜€

  5. merri – you mention your blogging buddies – and I totally overlooked all the lovely blogging friends I have – oversight on my part – often it’s my blogging buddies who pull me up out of the doldrums just by virtue of taking time to comment. So, I stand corrected in that I am doubly blessed w/friends both online and off. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

