The Case of the Missing Icon

Sometimes the simplest problem turns into a nightmare. While visiting my friend, I was working on my computer — okay, I was playing Hearts. She was annoyed by the sound of my game while she was trying to watch the news, so I hit the “mute” button on the volume icon.

The icon disappeared. Truly. Disappeared right off the screen. I searched and searched. No icon. I uninstalled and reinstalled the “gadgets” section. No icon. I found a volume gadget and added that to my windows sidebar but it wasn’t the same. I wanted the little speaker showing at the bottom of my screen.

Last night, after several days of trying to figure out how to find the little bugger, I right-clicked on the Start button, hit properties and guess what I found? My volume icon. Problem solved. But it took entirely too long for me to figure this out and the ease of the solution just made me feel even more stupid.

Now if I could just figure out why I keep getting the blue screens. I hear it’s an issue with Vista and that makes me crazy. Blue screens have happened 5 times since I got this laptop a few weeks ago. I think that’s 5 times too many. But windows always recovers quickly. I think I paid too much money for this to be happening with any frequency at all. I’m seriously considering shipping this puppy back to Dell, but I need to ask my IT guru for his advice first. School starts very soon, and I can’t be without a computer.

Life’s little problems. It’s always something. Thank goodness this is all I have to whine about.

BTW, there is a new blog in town. It’s called Minutia Maven; my alter ego and it’s where I’ll park the little nonsense thoughts that occur to me. I linked to it on my Blogroll, so please feel free to visit.

Leave a Reply

