I Love New Computers!

It’s a wonderful day in the neighborhood — my new Dell laptop arrived Monday morning.  Monday evening my friend and IT guru, Mike, got it all set up for me.  Thanks Mike!  You are the best! 

New computers are always fun to play with and this one is going to be no exception.  I only have two gripes — when you go to battery, the monitor picture lighting fades to a very low light — too low to see properly.  The other issue I have with this laptop is the keyboard keys — the keys are silver and the lettering is a slate blue and if you don’t have a light actually shining on the keyboard, you can’t see what keys you are using.  It’s a good thing I’m a touch typist.  Still annoying and I’ll be letting Dell know about this.  Not that they will care.  The good news is this laptop is lightning fast.

This is a Dell XPS M1330 with a 13 inch screen for anyone who cares. I ordered it with a slightly larger battery just in case.  I had such terrible battery issues with the last laptop that I thought bigger might be smarter.   This puppy cost me a small bundle but I need something reliable for school and I think I made the right choice.  It has lots of bells and whistles that I didn’t necessarily need, but then again you just never know when a webcam will come in handy. 

I also ordered a broadband card be embedded (I have a friend out of town who is ailing and I want to be able to get to her fast, and be able to continue at school without searching for a wi-fi in some coffee house) and without the help of my buddy Mike, I would never have been able to activate it with the Sprint folks.  Of course our nice Sprint helper was obviously sitting in south Pakistan or maybe somewhere in New Delhi, India.  What an accent.  We got through it, though. 

So, that’s it.  Just wanted to share my technology happiness with the world.  I’ll work on some humor for the next posting.

8 thoughts on “I Love New Computers!

  1. You can adjust the screen when in battery mode. It’ll be a set of blue keys. It might be labeled “fn” and you will have to hold it down while you hit a similar colored “sun” key with and arrow up or down. Every laptop I have ever had has had this function.

    Congratulations on the new computer!

  2. Hi MTAE – Thanks for the tip – I actually have tried the FN key w/the up and down “suns”. It still results in a very dark screen in battery mode. I thought there was something wrong. I went to the Dell support online and found that this is normal so I will have to find a way to simply “get used to it.” As my friend says, you can get used to hanging if you hang long enough…we’ll see. It is still a thousand percent better than the last laptop.
    *grins* Linda

  3. Actualy, you should be able to bring the brightness up to the same level as when it is on a/c power – just keep pressing fn-‘sun up’ repeatedly; after 5 or 6 presses, you should be up to the same level. 🙂

    I agree, the default brightness when on battery power for the m1330 is too low….

  4. Hi Charles – You are correct, I SHOULD be able to get that brightness up to the same level, but it doesn’t go high enough. It’s a design flaw and I’m not happy about it. The other thing that bugs me is in low light (like in the evening) you can’t see the keyoard – the keys are silver with slate grey letters and they don’t show up at night. I went to the Dell site and noticed that some of the models have illuminated keys – apparently mine is not one of the models. Annoying. Thanks for stopping by. Linda

  5. I am having this same problem – highest power setting is about as dark as using my old toshiba with the backlight out. Upping the brightness with fn key actually doesn’t seem to result in any change either.

  6. Hi Jessalyn -Let me know if you find the answer to this – it’s driving me nuts. Linda

Leave a Reply

