Getting to the Heart of It All

Another lovely day arrives.  Two hefty cups of java down.  Good Morning America on the tv in the family room; a healthy appetizing repast on the kitchen table.  And then…breakfast interruptus.  Devoted Spouse was searching for some guy-type gizmo and required my assistance in the garage.  Cue Jaws music…when I returned to the kitchen table my breakfast was missing in action.  Well, actually it was on the floor being consumed by the resident Golden Destroyer.  Yes, another day in paradise…

I’m going to give up morning tv.  Diane Sawyer and Robin Roberts get me in trouble on a regular basis.  Today would be no different.  Their resident cardiac guru, Dr. Mehmet Oz, was on this morning explaining why having a stress test will not necessarily indicate one has heart issues.  The heart of the matter (sorry) appears to be whether or not you have the bodily appearance of an “apple.”  In other words, if you are a round individual you might be in store for a heart attack someday in the future.  Dr. Oz’s solution to this is to lose the belly fat, or the “apple.”  Okay, I’m on board with that.  That’s what I’ve been working on since last October (with much success).  According to Dr. Oz, your waist measurement should be half your height.  Seems logical.

I mentioned this to Devoted Spouse as he was wandering through the kitchen area in search of his cordless drill (why was he searching in the kitchen?  Let’s not go there now.)  Anyway, I was rummaging through the kitchen junk drawer (like you don’t have one) trying to find a tape measure.  He dashed out to the garage and returned with a heavy-duty Craftsman-like metal tape measure; you know —  the kind that is on a large metal reel, and proceeded to unroll more tape than the law allows.  Amidst hysterical laughter and tears, we measured not just his but my own girth.  Then we did the calculations.

The bottom line is we’re not too fat; we’re too short.  ‘Nuff said.

Here’s a handy tool I found the other day online to help you calculate your BMI (Body Mass Index).  BMI  It’s easy to use and fun to play with.  Try it out.

2 thoughts on “Getting to the Heart of It All

  1. One question on the BMI weight, with or without clothes??? I find that shoes can make a difference whether you are overweight or on the borderline…*smile*. At least, that is what I blame it on when I have to weigh on the doctor’s scales. Can anyone answer me wht do the doctor’s scale always pack on unknown pounds???
    Enjoyed this and all of your post. I come to your site for my smile of the day…We must have similar senses of humor…Thanks

  2. Ya know, I have the same issue – my doc’s scales are always at least 2-3 pounds heavier than mine. When I was playing around w/the BMI site, I found it worked better if I just made myself a little taller. I’m sure I can pass for 6’7″… *grins* Linda

Leave a Reply

