The Lite Conspiracy

In my quest to lose more weight, I am fascinated by the food/beverage industry’s ability to market their dieting products.  Anyone who is trying to drop a few pounds knows how tempting it is to buy a dessert labeled “lite” or a snack labeled “low-fat.”  The advertising weenies have convinced us we can have our cake and eat it too with these supposedly healthier food choices.  I readily admit I’ve fallen for this advertising more than once.  I love a challenge and if I can convince myself that I can find a product which delivers good taste at half the calories, I will probably try it. 

The problem with this logic is a product with reduced calories and fat usually has reduced taste and ultimately does not satisfy that craving for fat and sugar we all get occasionally.  From what I have sampled,  less fat = less flavor.  Take diet sodas for example.  Does anyone in their right mind actually think Diet Coke tastes as refreshing as regular Coke?  If they answer “yes,” they’re lying.  Nothing is as good as a real Coke.  Here’s another of my favorite examples – light mayonaisse.  Light mayonaisse is not mayonaisse; it doesn’t hold up the same way in salads and it doesn’t taste as good on a sandwich.  Light mayonaisse doesn’t even taste like real mayonaisse. 

Plus, there is the tendency to eat more of these products because of the reduced calories.  Big mistake.  Eating more of a lower calorie product negates the purpose of lowering your calories.  How do I know this?  Give me a Snackwell’s cookie that has next to no fat and very few calories and what will I do?  I’ll eat the whole dang package in one day.  Give me Oreos and I can stop after a couple of cookies.  My point is lower calorie products don’t provide the same sense of satisfaction to our taste buds as regular products.  I made the ultimate sacrifice the other day and bought Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup in a lite version — it has 50% less calories and sugar carbs than the regular Hershey’s syrup.  Guess what it also has?  No taste.  None.  It is horrible.  It is the consistency of runny water and doesn’t mix well in milk. 

Join me in a boycott of these pseudo-foods – your tastebuds will be happier. 

4 thoughts on “The Lite Conspiracy

  1. You are absolutely correct! It does not stop there, if you look at the places most people eat at and the choices they make…

    The food industry has rarely promoted healthy food. Instead as a company they provide us, the customer with what we want.

    What we want as you wrote is various combinations and colors of white flour, grease, and sugar. The higher the level the more we want it.

    Then when you look at the ingredients you see they are sometimes packed with vitamins. So where does our body go when it wants vitamin x, y, and z…?

    Nice post, you aroused my ire!

  2. Count me in on the boycott….I hate the “lite-low fat” stuff. I would rather eat nothing that convince myself that this artificial food taste good…I love real Coke and never thought that the diet stuff tasted good. I suspose I am a “realist” when it comes to food. Like I said, I would rather do without if it all is artifical flavor. (where do you find an artificial banana??? What does one look like?) The question, if it is artifical taste, is it truly food at all? Not real food?….Shades of Solient Green comes to mind, ewwww…*smile*

  3. Ahhh one of my favorite movies!! About the only artificial product I use is Splenda and only because I worry about blood sugar getting too high. Otherwise, real food in moderation. Linda

Leave a Reply

