Knit One, Rip One Out

My friend Paula thought it would be a good idea for us to get together once a month and have a craft day.  I agreed wholeheartedly.  Little did I know the craft she had in mind was knitting.  Being the good sport I am, I dug through the craft cupboards for the previously used and re-rolled balls of yarn and the requisite needles (oh yeah, I’ve tried this before).  I ran out to the craft store and picked up some knitting books and all the little accessories the nifty knitter needs.

I arrived at her door, baskets of yarn and needles in tow.  We watched a nice lady on a How to Knit video and then we got down to work.   Having mastered a slip knot after my third or fourth try, I was ready to cast on stitches.  Try as I may, I simply could not master the casting on.  My stitches looked funny and finally Paula very patiently showed me the error of my ways.  I was casting on backwards if such a thing exists.  Casting on dyslexia – that’s what I have.  After about an hour of, “No, try it this way” my friend was looking frazzled and I still had nothing cast on.  I accidentally cast one stitch on correctly and the angels sang.  Hallelujah.  I managed to cast on about thirty or so and it was time to knit.  Now, I remember being able to knit many many years ago and the skill returned to me.  While my friend struggled to get her knit stitch off one needle and on to the other, I was off and running.  So, to make a long story short, I can knit; I just can’t cast on.  This could get interesting later on.  Last night I knitted about twenty rows and it’s going well.  Of course, I don’t know what I’m knitting.  Could be a very nice dishcloth or the world’s longest scarf — No one has shown me how to stop knitting yet.  So I’ll just keep knitting these stitches from one needle to the other until I figure it out.  Can’t be that hard…

Leave a Reply

