Veggie Schmeggie, I’ll Have Chocolate Please

Having successfully taken off 25 pounds of unwanted flab since my retirement last October qualifies me as a budding expert in food.  I have finally found a system that works for me.  Here is the secret.  Eat less and move more.  Consuming roughly 1200 calories a day and moving around is how I’m peeling off several pounds a week.  Okay, last week the only thing peeled off was the wrapper on a Cadbury chocolate egg, but you get the idea. 

The ideal eating plan of 1200 calories should be a mixture of healthy foods such as lean meats, fruits (except melons and pineapple because of the high sugar content), whole grains, and vegetables.  Throw in a bit of dairy (skim milk, fat free/sugar free yogurt, and egg whites) and that’s what I have reconciled myself to enjoying on a daily basis.  I use the word “enjoying” loosely particularly in regards to vegetables.  Cruciferous?  Odoriferous.  I’m simply not enamored of broccoli or cauliflower and don’t even attempt to put a Brussels sprout on my plate because I’ll accidentally drop it on the floor.  Even EmmaLou, my trusty canine companion, knows Brussels sprouts aren’t food; they’re what food eats.  With that said, my daily dilemma of what vegetables to consume is tiring. 

That Cadbury egg set me to thinking — if I cut out cruciferous vegetables and substituted chocolate, this diet would be much more palatable, not to mention way more fun.  I can pretty much cram 3 spears of broccoli in a 1-cup measuring cup, and a 1-cup measuring cup also holds about 6 ounces (or most of a bag) of chocolate chips.  Just substitute those chocolate chips for the broccoli once a day and you have it.  And, I’m even saving calories because I no longer eat croutons or salad dressing. 

It’s my diet and I’m sticking with it.

Leave a Reply

