Happy Birthday to Me

Today is my birthday.  Yup, the day after Christmas.  All that hoopla with presents and stuff and then the next day I’m supposed to get all excited again.  It’s so unfair.  I should have been born in June or July, not December 26th.  At least my husband has learned not to wrap my presents in Christmas paper.  That’s a definite no-no!  And, heaven forbid I should get a combination Christmas/Happy Birthday card.  Grrrrrrr.  That just irritates the dickens outta me. 

I should probably quit griping and be glad I have a birthday.  Some would be surprised I’ve made it this far.  It surprises me, too.  Now I’m an old lady.  Okay, maybe not that old.  Old enough to know these birthdays are coming around sooner and sooner.  Why is it when we’re young we wish we were older and when we’re older we wish we were young again?

 I read my horoscope – in fact I checked out my 2008 forecast.  Apparently, 2008 is my breakout year!  Woo-Hoo!  What the heck does that mean?  Complexion problems will plague me in 2008?  I hope not.  My online astrologer states:  “Tired of feeling held back by other people’s lack of vision and shortcomings, you’re ready to take charge of your life – both at work and in your relationship – and to do things your way.”  Well, good grief, I’ve always done things my way.  And if I’m just breaking out this year, what the hell have I been doing all those other years?

 The horoscope goes on to state:     “Jupiter, the planet of good fortune, will be in Capricorn for all of 2008. This happens once every 12 years, and the riches it brings are well-deserved (not to mention long overdue). Jupiter fattens the wallet, broadens your horizons (expect lots of travel), and can also add to your waistline and thighs if you aren’t careful, so you’ll want to keep up with your exercise routine no matter how much your work schedule dominates your day.”   Now they’ve got my attention — I’m going to receive well-deserved and long-overdue riches.  Of  course that’s tempered with the thought of expanding waistline and thighs.  Riches always come at a price, don’t they?  Oh well, with all my newfound riches, I’ll just buy some bigger clothes. 

The best part of a horoscope deals with predictions on love and mine is chocked with goodies:    “Venus, planet of love, passing under the rays of Saturn in early August brings out your sensual side. If you’re already in a relationship, you’ll be looking at your sweetie differently than you have before. Maybe he’s been working out or perhaps it’s the new self-confidence he exudes. In any case, you won’t be able to keep your hands off him.”  Uh-oh.  Somebody better wake up my husband and let him know he only has 8 months to get ready. 

So, Happy Birthday to me!   And, here’s hoping it’s a good one with many more to come!

Leave a Reply

