War and Peace

While recovering from a nasty ankle injury, and my latest bout of bronchitis, I have come up with the bright idea of reading Tolstoy’s War and Peace.  In its entirety.  All 1,110 pages.  Someone stop me, please.  Oh, it isn’t that I can’t do it…I can do it alright.  Friends know I’m an avid reader.  One could even call my reading habits downright voracious.  But, War and Peace???  OMG, it has footnotes.  And more Russian names than you can shake a stick at.  Really. 

The blurb on the back of the book states that War and Peace is the most famous and perhaps the greatest novel of all times.  Oh good grief.  Anyone with any smarts at all knows that the greatest novels are the Stephanie Plum books from that oh-so-magnificent novelist, Janet Evanovich.  Or what about the Father Tim novels from Jan Karon?  Or Gone with the Wind?  Or another of my favorites, Peyton Place?  But, War and Peace??  Okay.  I guess any book with a character named Natasha can’t be all bad.  BTW, has anyone seen a picture of Count Leo Tolstoy?  Looks like he might have written vampire stories, not the greatest novel of all times. 

 Wish me luck.  Do svidaniya!

2 thoughts on “War and Peace

  1. Is this the latest and some say definitive English language version translated by Richard Pevear and his wife? I’ve been hearing rave reviews about it. Nothing wrong with challenging yourself with a daunting read–I say discover for yourself why a book is called a “classic”…

  2. Actually, Cliff, it’s the Barnes and Noble Classics version translated by Constance Garnett. It was my cheapest option! Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

