Annie Oakley’s Got Nothin’ on Me

Look out, I’m packin’  –  that’s right, I’m packin’.  Well, I was earlier.  No, not for my upcoming trip.  Packin’ heat, baby.  The gun type.  Today Devoted Spouse took me and my church bud, Teri Ann, for a few hours of pistol shooting at the local county fish and game association’s outdoor range.  Turns out I’m not too bad at this target shooting stuff.  A big majority of my shots went right into that ole bullseye.  Too cool.

After the last few days of retail turmoil, it was a pleasant change of pace to have a leisurely day planned; breakfast out at our fav pancake house/diner, a relaxing read and a cuppa java at Barnes & Noble, a lunch with peanut butter and Nutella spread involved, a quick nap, and then meet up with Teri Ann for several hours standing in a field under blazing sun (okay it wasn’t quite blazing but it was hotter than the hubs of hell) while target shooting.  It doesn’t get any better than that.  Now that’s what I call retirement.

Here’s what I was shooting with; a Bersa thunder .380 semi-automatic.  It’s sweet.

Teri Ann practiced hitting those bullseyes on a Colt .38 Detective special revolver, a nifty little 6-shooter that’s she had for about 20 years. 

Devoted Spouse had more pistols and revolvers than I have pictures.. a Kimber .45 pro-carry semi-automatic, a Glock .40 Model 23, semi-automatic and a Smith & Wesson .38 Model 642 revolver. 

So now I can say I’m not only an NRA member, I can shoot, too.  Oh yeah, and just in case you think this is all fun and guns, I mean games, here are the Basic Rules of Safe Gun Handling:

1.  All guns are always loaded.
2. Never point a gun at anything you are unwilling to destroy.
3. Keep your finger off the trigger until you are ready to fire.
4. Know your target.
5. Keep your gun at the minimum level of readiness.
These rules are valid whether you are hunting game, practicing target shooting, or confronting an intruder.

So, now I’m off to load a couple of ziploc baggies with ice cubes to help my poor, swollen hands, and I think I’ll grab a few Aleve to help my aching back.  I’m a little out of shape for shooting, but I’m sure I’ll get better with practice.

2 thoughts on “Annie Oakley’s Got Nothin’ on Me

  1. You are a minority in this Liberal blogging world…unless you go to the other extreme.

    That Colt is fun to fire, but i’ve never fired a .380 like yours.

    We are a Beretta family…well I am. I am still trying to get my wife to shoot the .22, but I have a .40 and a 9mm.

    The same safety practices are used in this house, plus a separation of ammo and weapons…except for one “specially” hidden magazine on each floor of the home…but I am not paranoid.

  2. From my cold dead hands, baby… I’ve not fired a Beretta but will look into them. Devoted Spouse wants me to invest in a Ruger .22 for target practice. We’ll see. I’ve got my eyes on a sweet Kimber 9mm but with tuition and a new computer, the budget just won’t allow it yet. We have no kids in the house, but lock up the arsenal anyway except for “hidden” safety. We don’t have to be paranoid to know they’re after us! *grins*

Leave a Reply

